We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A keeper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Casuelas Nuevas

Las Casuelas Nuevas
70050 Highway 111, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-2924
760-328-8844
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Casuelas Nuevas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 91 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Via Florencio
Transit: Bus stop two blocks away.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A keeper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have been here several times now and the food is always consistent. Probably not the most exciting food you've ever had but it is always good. Typical Mexican fare. The margaritas (many to choose from) are excellent. The restaurant is very pretty, we like the patio seating, and the staff couldn't be nicer. They will definitely try their best to make you happy. Always a solid restaurant therefore I call it a keeper. If you can make a reservation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaquin d, Owner at Las Casuelas Nuevas, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent dining experience. We love to hear what makes Las Casuelas Nuevas a “keeper” to our repeat guest! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    87
    31
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We went there a couple of nights ago with another couple. Having recently moved to Palm Springs I am anxious to visit all the restaurants and decide which are my favorites. Las Casuelas Nuevas is definately my "Top Ten" so far. We arrived early with a reservation for the patio so we decided to go to the bar for a drink. The hacienda style restaurant is stunning. The manager gave us the history on the family that owns the restaurant and explained that every piece of construction was imported from Mexico. I have traveled to Mexico many times and have never seen such a magnificent restaurant.

Now on to the food and service. Hands down, top drawer. Our server was delightful with a great sense of humor. The portions are copious so needless to say I finished my meal the next day for dinner. I look forward to other great evenings at the Hacienda.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaquin d, Owner at Las Casuelas Nuevas, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our restaurant and are very pleased that we’ve made your list of top 10 Palm Springs Valley restaurants. Now that you’re a local we look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your friends again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Went for an early dinner at 445p as we just arrived from the eastern time zone...requested an outdoor table and was told none were available since we did not have reservations. The couple in front of us had reservations, and they asked them if they would prefer indoors or out....so it seems that if you'd like outdoors, you'd better make a reservation even tho you don't need to designate which you prefer upon making your reservation....anyway, the food was great, as usual...pricing is a little high for Mexican food, and the margaritas are very pricey, but very good...would recommend, however make a reservation and then you'll have a choice between in or out...if not, you'll be sitting inside...outdoors is much better.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaquin d, Owner at Las Casuelas Nuevas, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are so delighted that you decided to dine at our restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments about our food. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall experience. However, I apologize that we couldn’t accommodate your request for outdoor dining and appreciate you telling others to make reservations so we can help accommodate guest desired seating preference. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy our outdoor dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice but unexciting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant. The food was pretty typical Mexican fare, a cut above the ordinary but not really pushing any boundaries on what most Mexican restaurants offer. Chili rellenos were nicely done but tamales were subpar. Tacos were pretty good but enchiladas only average. Some rice grains were crispy...dried out. I cannot give an enthusiastic recommendation.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaquin d, Owner at Las Casuelas Nuevas, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are delighted that you decided to visit the beautiful Palm Springs Valley and are so pleased we had the opportunity to have you dining with us. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant, we're pleased you enjoyed your overall dining experience. I am sorry the food quality wasn’t exactly to your liking. We pride ourselves on our authentic dining experience. We hope during your next trip to the Palm Springs Valley you’ll give our restaurant another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“On your "to visit List"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had gone to the Follies and this place is very close. A pleasant experience along with an authentic décor. Once again the staff was exceptional as was the food. We like all Mexican foods and this place was a good value with spicy foods at a reasonable price. They have an outdoor patio, although it was a bit cool for outside plus I love the Mexican décor and general atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Casuelas Nuevas also viewed

Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Las Casuelas Nuevas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Casuelas Nuevas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.