We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but unexciting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Casuelas Nuevas

Las Casuelas Nuevas
70050 Highway 111, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
+1 760-328-8844
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Casuelas Nuevas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 93 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Via Florencio
Transit: Bus stop two blocks away.
North Dakota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice but unexciting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant. The food was pretty typical Mexican fare, a cut above the ordinary but not really pushing any boundaries on what most Mexican restaurants offer. Chili rellenos were nicely done but tamales were subpar. Tacos were pretty good but enchiladas only average. Some rice grains were crispy...dried out. I cannot give an enthusiastic recommendation.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaquin d, Owner at Las Casuelas Nuevas, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are delighted that you decided to visit the beautiful Palm Springs Valley and are so pleased we had the opportunity to have you dining with us. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant, we're pleased you enjoyed your overall dining experience. I am sorry the food quality wasn’t exactly to your liking. We pride ourselves on our authentic dining experience. We hope during your next trip to the Palm Springs Valley you’ll give our restaurant another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    105
    48
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“On your "to visit List"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had gone to the Follies and this place is very close. A pleasant experience along with an authentic décor. Once again the staff was exceptional as was the food. We like all Mexican foods and this place was a good value with spicy foods at a reasonable price. They have an outdoor patio, although it was a bit cool for outside plus I love the Mexican décor and general atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great meal & ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We sat outside on the patio for lunch & really enjoyed it. At first, we thought the road noise might be too much & make it hard to hear, but it ended up not being an issue. The chips & salsa were really good -- crisp chips with just enough salt & the salsa was very chunky & flavorful. The service was great too -- very attentive. We both had combination plates. Although we usually don't order refried beans, we both thought they were really good. My husband is not a big rice fan, but he liked the rice a lot. We both loved our chile rellenos. I could not put down my taco with shredded beef & ate it non-stop. I ordered the three item combination & had enough for lunch the next day. Sorry that we won't be here on Sunday to try their brunch.

I met a couple who had been to a Tequila tasting earlier in the week & they thought it was great fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“High Priced Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

There is nothing special about this restaurant. It does have a nice patio.

Our food was mediocre and the prices were double what most Mexican restaurants charge. The service was bad (slow, unresponsive, and made several mistakes).

Out of the many many restaurants in the Palm Springs area, this is NOT one we will be returning to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaquin d, Owner at Las Casuelas Nuevas, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. As a Top Contributor with Trip Advisor we know you appreciate great food & great service. At Las Casuelas Nuevas we strive to provide an exceptional and authentic dining experience for our guests – any and all feedback helps us to continue improving our customer service and hope you will consider coming back to enjoy our hacienda-style patio again. If you wish to speak with me personally about the service you received, please contact me at lcnuevas@aol.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, service and decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a great experience at this restaurant. Not only was the decor charming the food was great. They also have a beautiful outdoor patio garden which I would imagine would be great for lunch. Definitely worth a try.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Casuelas Nuevas also viewed

Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Las Casuelas Nuevas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Casuelas Nuevas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.