We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Casuelas Nuevas

Las Casuelas Nuevas
70050 Highway 111, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-2924
760-328-8844
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Casuelas Nuevas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 91 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Via Florencio
Transit: Bus stop two blocks away.
Branscomb, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Delightful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife & I ate dinner here tonight. We had previously been here just for drinks. I can't say enough good about this place! The staff was friendly. The drinks were awesome. The food was outstanding! We asked for mas caliente salsa & were brought some flaming jalapeno based salsa.
I had the shrimp fajitas & my wife had chile rellenos. Both entrees were perfect. We will be sure to eat here again next time we visit the Palm Desert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    88
    31
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SLC, UT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Although the food is certainly delicious on its own, it's the atmosphere that makes this place special. Make sure to sit outside when possible. Portions are large and everything we have had over the years has been very good. Try making your own combination to sample several different items.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Never, EVER going back...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Made a res for 7:15 seated by 7:30. At 8:15 not everyone had their beverages and no food order taken yet. When we complained to the manager, he accused us of lying about the time we had arrived at the restaurant, saying he had walked by our table 20 mins earlier and it was empty. Very strange way for a complaint to be handled. Other issue, our 27 year old daughter visiting from Europe was denied bar service because she did not know she had to have ID with her to prove her age. We all knew the legal age limit to be 21, but were not aware that anyone that looks under 35 must be carded. As a tourist how would one know that? Not arguing the law - just suggesting that the 2 seconds it would take on the phone when someone calls in for a reservation, to say just that would prevent a lot of aggravation for everyone. We left annoyed, went to a much nicer restaurant, had no issues and a great evening.
Have been to this restaurant many times since the late 70's and other than some service issues occasionally had never experienced anything quite like it. When someone at our table said she had been a loyal customer for over 35 years, she was told that 'things had changed since the 80's"! Clearly. Because the manager was so extremely rude we would never consider going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I like mexican restaurants that are loud, crowded, serve strong margaritas and good spicy food. Las Casuelas Nuevas gets 1 of the 3 right. Four stars for the atmosphere, sit outside under the trees, it's a big party! Dishes (combos) are nothing special, edible, tasty but pretty average americanized mexican food. I thought the Patron Fiesta size margarita was a safe choice for a good strong hand-crafted margarita. Wrong! It was underpowered and tasted mostly like sweet and sour mix. Should have called exactly what I wanted in it. I'll know next time. Tableside guac not worth the price. Very busy during spring break, been here in mid summer and the place was kind of dead, too hot to sit outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiterock
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We've never had a bad experience yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful evening, celebrating a birthday. It is always a busy place, but whether you choose dining inside or out, you will enjoy the ambiance. It was a Saturday evening and they had live mexican music that serenaded the tables, it was enjoyable to listen to. Every table is started with home made salsa and fresh warm taco chips, you can add guacamole for a fee, it is really tasty. The menu has a great selection of authentic dishes and always delicious. We prefer the combination plates and they are always a good value. My favorite dishes include chicken enchiladas and ground beef burrito's, the fajitas are also good, the combo dinners include rice and choice of beans. For a nominal price you can add a generous size portioned salad, both the green and house salad were fresh and delicious and large enough to share. Their Margarita's are amazing, I prefer them on the rocks, the double size is big but if your going to be there for a couple of hours, more economical than ordering A second small size. We opted out of dessert as we were so full! They cater well to large groups as well. They are celebrating their 40th anniversary this year, they certainly are doing something right, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Casuelas Nuevas also viewed

Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Las Casuelas Nuevas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Casuelas Nuevas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.