We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Hour in the desert...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
71959 Highway 111, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
(760) 340-9044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 44th Avenue
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Aloha Hour in the desert...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After a demanding day poolside in the desert, we had worked up both an appetite & a raging thirst!
Good time to try Roy's in Rancho, and are we glad we did.
Easy to find, loads of parking, & seats at the bar for Aloha Hour.
Very attentive service from Carlos - followed quickly by smoked mahi tacos, spicy ahi rolls - all washed down with a cold kona pale ale.
mahalo

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    66
    30
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Whenever we are in a city with a Roy's we make a point to go to dinner there! We've been to many and the service and food quality are always consistently excellent. Every meal at Roy's ends with the hot molten chocolate lava cake!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great FOOD...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you like great food this is the place to go to, happy hour is also one of the best around...Service is wonderful, place is very clean and it is nice to be here..
I have been here a few times on my own and feel very comfortable and always enjoy my self and satisfied with everything.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We ate here on Sunday evening and told them that it was our anniversary.We were shown immediately to a quiet table were handed the menus.Inside was a full page greeting to us. Our server,Chris, was both professional and friendly. The food was delicious.We shared a crunchy lobster roll a an appetizer. My husband had the salmon and I, the fantastic butterfish.For dessert, we shared a version of pineapple upside down cake-YUMMY! The server then took our photograph and presented us with the framed print at the end of the meal. What a nice touch. This restaurant is excellent-higly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“The Butterfish~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I went to Roy's for The Butter fish The only place we know we can always find it at Roy's at least in Rancho Mirage. We have had it in Hawaii, Napa and it's always the most delightful flavor at Roy's.
Our service was excellent, Joe is one of the long timers at this location. We like to sit in the bar area. Less frills and all the same menu items with great service.
I had my 50th Bday dinner at Roy's in Rancho Mirage nearing 5 yrs ago. We keep it on our list of places to go whether it be for Happy Hour munchies or Dinner. It's always consistant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.