We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in the Desert!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D'Carlos Italian Cafe

D'Carlos Italian Cafe
42-419 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 91 restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Adirondacks
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Little Gem in the Desert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a place you would take your oldest friends or family. The food is excellent, full glasses of wine and low prices. This together with warm friendly service what more could you ask for. We were introduced to this restaurant by our neighbors who just raved about it. After eating here we have gone back twice by ourselves. This will be our go to place when we want a home cooked meal with no put ons. Just good eating!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    5
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“salty food, full glasses of wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We tried D'Carlos this week, after reading all of the positive reviews. I had the spaghetti and ravioli combo, while my partner chose the med seafood. Mine was the large portion, hers the regular size, and both came c/w garlic toast and generous size portions. Both dishes had way too much salt, and the large glasses of wine "filled to the brim" did nothing to overcome this flaw. I know the food was way too salty since I was up all night drinking water! D'Carlos offers reasonable-priced food, but until they get their sodium under control, I would eat elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had read about D'Carlos on Trip Advisor before going to Palm Springs. It wasn't the easiest place to find, but I can tell you that its across Bob Hope Drive from the River Shopping Center. It had great pizza. That was all we tried, but we went back again during our time in PS. It was always crowded, which is a good sign that a restaurant is good. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ate here with friends after golf. Was very surprised at the restaurant because it was in a shopping center and not advertised. The food was very good and the selection was large. The wine came in a large glass filled to the brim. Prices were very reasonable and service was great. Will go again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A very affordable & nothing fancy kind of place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was the first time that a TripAdvisor review steered me to the wrong place. While the food was certainly not bad, it did not live up the reviews. They do, however, know how to poor a big glass of wine! It is a very affordable, nothing fancy kind of place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Carlos Italian Cafe also viewed

Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to D'Carlos Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Carlos Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.