We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the middle of nowhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71730 Highway 111, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An oasis in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is amazing! It's comfortable, quiet, has very friendly and attentive staff and is in a fabulous location after the hustle and bustle of Las Vegas. There is a fantastic bar-be-cue bar opposite and a small shopping plaza (which wasn't finished when we visited). I will certainly be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are certainly glad Leahnarf that our hotel was able to meet your expectations upon staying at our property. Our hotel staff works diligently to provide a welcoming and pleasant stay at our hotel. We do appreciate the kind words provided from your feedback and will be glad to pass it down to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
31
45
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at this property for 7 nights. Having stayed at lots of holiday inn express properties over the years, this has been the best so far. Felt like coming home each night to a wonderful room with the most comfortable bed.

The service from the front desk staff was exceptional, Paloma was so lovely and friendly to us and to my daughter holly, first class!!

Also Derrick at front desk was really helpful and professional, also first class! You both are a credit to holiday inn. Won't stay anywhere else now in Palm Springs, and can't wait to go back to my home from home. Thank you so much for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you CY for recognizing our hotel in a positive way. We are very happy to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and pleasant. Our team works diligently to provide you excellent customer service; from making check in quick and easy to providing concierge information about local attractions. We appreciate your time and patience in providing us a positive review from your most recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice hotel, Friendly helpful staff, nice size clean rooms with a very good Flat TV, free WiFi, Free Breakfast, free Parking, Free coffee and cold drinks all day, close to many restaurants, next door to a mall and reasonable prices. I could not find anything wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you Dudreg, for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your most recent stay. Our hotel staff works hard to provide our guest a comfortable stay regardless if they are here for one night, or several. We maintain our hotel at high standards to ensure a pleasant stay for our traveling guest. Again, we appreciate the time and dedication taken to provide us with your insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived early but no problem checking in. 2 very friendly clerks, nice people. Given bottled water and snacks as we are Priority Club members - nice touch. A glass urn filled with chilled water and cucumber and lemon slices is available at reception as well, very, very refreshing! First room allocated smelt strange, rather smoky as if someone had been smoking. Something a previous poster has also commented on. The front desk rung while we were looking around to enquire if everything was ok but on hearing our comments asked if we'd like another room which we said yes to. The next room smelt better but no A/C on making it very hot. Run A/C on full and went out to dinner. Room cool once we got back. Lovely view from the room of the sun going down behind the mountains. Slept really well. Breakfast OK, some hot items plus pancake machine instead of the usual waffle maker. Housekeeping staff bustling around in reception with all aspects of cleaning. Very nice location next to the River Complex which was a huge disappointment due to the fact it was completely dry - no water! Maintenance work?

Would love to stay again if in area. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We pride ourselves, Wonderar, in providing a one of a kind experiences for our IHG Reward Members. From not just our chilled bottled water, snack tray, and extended 2 pm checkout without charge. We provide a welcoming environment that is both pleasant and comfortable irregardless if your here for one night or multiple. We are sincerely apologetic about the inconvenience upon arriving into your room. We have since implemented new action plans to prevent such discomforts from occurring. We are hopeful that you may return to stay at our hotel in the near future once our revisions have taken full effect, Our hotel staff prides themselves in providing an exceptional place to stay while you are here in the Rancho Mirage area. Again, we would like to thank you for your time and patience in providing us your feedback from your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My Husband and I spent 5 nights here . We could not fault it in any way. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful . The selection at breakfast was of the best continental style we have found to date. It was in an excellent location within minutes walking from a good selection of restaurants and shops. We will definitely be returning. Paul & Denise Elliott Doncaster

Room Tip: A lift was available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We do thank you wobblypaul, for choosing to stay at our location and providing us with your feedback. We are glad that you found our hotel accommodating and welcoming. Our staff works very hard to maintain and provide you an exceptional experience. We have high standards in providing a comfortable stay to our guest whether it be for one night or one week. Thank you again for your insight on your most recent stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Canyonville, OR, and were extremely impressed, so we joined the IHG Rewards and were excited to renew our delightful experience in Rancho Mirage. Reviews on TripAdvisor indicated we would not be disappointed. We checked in in the early afternoon, after having made reservations a few days earlier. We were given a double Queen room, and noticed that it had the odor of smoking when we opened the door. The staff member (Kelly) came up and agreed that the room definitely smelled of cigarette smoke. She said she only had handicapped rooms available and gave us one with one queen bed, which she insisted was a "king", until she checked the computer. The next room was on the first floor (we prefer second floor to avoid noise above) and also was a handicapped room, but had a king bed. We noticed that many people checked in after us, so other rooms were available at the time we checked in; even though they were reserved, ours was too, and we feel we should have had some consideration for a room like the one we had reserved. The hand -held shower in our room was broken and did not attach to the wall, and had to be held instead. The toilet had a black ring at the waterline. Carpets in the halls and common areas are stained and dirty. The staff was friendly and helpful, but I feel they should have made other arrangements for us to have a room like we had reserved. This Holiday Inn appears to be older than the one we stayed at in Canyonville, and definitely needs to be spiffed up with new carpeting. We had only 2 HBO channels, and a smallish flat screen TV, unlike the many channels and large TV of other Holiday Inns. WiFi was slow, and only worked ok after repeated tries. This is the second review I wrote, since the first was dropped when the signal malfunctioned. Bed & Bedding were new and comfortable, exactly like other Holiday Inns. Like the other Holiday Inn the toiletries were from Bath & Body Works and a delightful treat. The location of this hotel is excellent, and the best feature. The River Mall is within walking distance, with a great selection of outstanding restaurants and shops and a mulitplex theatre. We will definitely stay in this area again, but probably not in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are unfortunate to hear about your recent stay with us, Octillo. We do apologize sincerely for any discomfort or inconvenience which may have happen during your stay. We will take affirmative action and implement new actions plans to prevent such inconveniences from happening. We do hope that after the revisions have taken place that you will return to stay with us. Again, we would like to thank you for your time and patience in providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The evening manager gave us a great walk in rate, and also up graded our room. What a super deal. Thanks so much.
The hotel is in a perfect location. Close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment.
Everything was excellent. We enjoyed the pool, as it was a very hot day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We appreciate your time and consideration Sandra S in leaving such positive feedback. Our hotel prides themselves in providing a one in a kind experience. Our team works hard to provide you a welcoming environment and a clean and spacious accommodation. Again. the hotel would like to thank you for your time and patience in writing your review. We hope that you will return to stay at our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area

Address: 71730 Highway 111, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.