We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only meal out here that was pretty bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Pot Restaurant and Bar

The Crab Pot Restaurant and Bar
70-030 Highway 111, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
(760)321-7635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 93 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only meal out here that was pretty bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

What a disappointment! We're in California and decided to have seafood. We made a big mistake going to this restaurant. Being very tired I didn't think of checking reviews on Trip Advisor. First, we had a bit of an irritation with the seating but accepted where they put us. I wasn't terribly impressed with the wine list. Then the server was totally disinterested in serving us. I ordered Ahi tuna, rice pilaf & veggies. Tuna was cold and pretty blah, rice pilaf was good as were veggies. Husband had grilled sea bass which was good, corn on the cob (good) and red potatoes which were undercooked. The server couldn't have cared less. Didn't come by for a long time and seemed annoyed that we had issues. I don't recommend this place at all. Too many good restaurants. Don't waste your time & money at this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    33
    23
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mojito”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We took our good friend for a birthday dinner at Crab Pot in Rancho Mirage. The place is nice.The food is good. I enjoyed my Pasta Putanesca,however, the salmon was little dry. My husband and I love Crab Pot MOJITO. It was perfect!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just can't get shrimp cooked right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been to this restaurant several times for lunch and have ordered the shrimp tacos every time. The first time, they were delicious. The last 3 occasions they were dry and overcooked. Once, when I had time, I sent them back to redo them and they came out OK, but not great. The management was gracious and gave me lunch on them, a nice and smart gesture, but that didn't make up for the poorly cooked shrimp. If you want a really good shrimp taco, go to Rubio's. They never overcook the shrimp!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant last minute choiced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had planned on dinner at a different restaurant but decided the line of 30 to 40 waiting diners wasn't what we would go through this evening. As we drove back towards our hotel in Palm Springs we saw the Crab Pot and made a hasty turn into the parking lot and are we glad we stopped.

We opted for the special which was 9 shrimp prepared 3 different ways. These were huge shrimp. Each shrimp easily made for 3 or 4 bites. The fries, bread and cole slaw were equally enjoyed.

The service was good, food was good, drinks were good. I guess it was just a good last minute choice for dinner. We will go back when we return for our next trip to the Palm Springs area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Go for the crab leg experience...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My 8 year old daughter enjoyed smashing the crab legs with the mallet and getting the meat out. Decent outdoor patio with waterfall and mountain views. Service was good but not great. Expensive for the total experience though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Pot Restaurant and Bar also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to The Crab Pot Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Pot Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.