We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service, smoke from casino - really bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Steakhouse at Agua Caliente

The Steakhouse at Agua Caliente
32-250 BOB HOPE DRIVE, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
888.999.1995
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 93 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ramon Road
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, smoke from casino - really bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent food and service, casino smoke goes through entire main floor of building, so ruined my dining experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very good but on the pricey side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We ate at the steakhouse while on vacation in Plam Springs. The reviews looked pretty good and it was convenient since it was in the casino. We were there on a week night so the restaurant was not crowded and we were seated promptly even though we had no reservation. The restaurant was dark, but they gave us lighted menus which was a nice touch. I always play it safe with a filet and mine was done perfectly. My husband had prime rib on the bone, as shown exactly on the picture above. It was more medium rare than medium, but he seemed not to mind and said it was quite good and flavorful anyway. No sides are included, so we shared two which were plently. Our server was attentive and we were served very quickly. I think the restaurant is on the pricely side, so would be good for business or for some special occasion. We did enjoy our dinner and it added to the enjoyment of our vacation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went here on Nov 2nd after The Moody Blues show. We were staying at the hotel so we went back up to the room to change and got to the restaurant after 10pm. They closed at 11pm, and there was no wait at all. We were seated in the back room. It was very nice, but I guess because the staff was winding their day down, they were a little roudy and loud behind the partition that separates the eating area from the grill/stoves/kitchen. Not what we expected from such a nice place. We had the salmon and the petit filet with creamed white corn and lobster mashed potatoes as sides. There were no real side dishes which came with the entree. The steak did come with a little dab/swirl of mashed potato which were absolutely tastless and bland. The lobster mashed came more seasoned but there were large chunks of lobster meat plopped down in the center of the little sizzling frying pan they were served in, not chopped or mixed through, just plopped in the middle. We knew this, since the potato spilled over the sides of this little pan. For $20, this was a pricey disappointment. The creamed corn was divine. We had creme brulee for dessert and this was very good, but it did not seem as though the sugar was scorched right before it was served. Also, we were each served 1 small scoop of a homemade ice cream that was vanilla, but had a sour taste to it, like there was cream cheese mixed in or maybe it was yogurt. It came with a pretzel that was half dipped in chocolate. The presentation was very nice but the ice cream wasn't so good. With no alcohol or appetizers, the bill was about $115 before the tip. It was a nice meal but the folks in the back kind of ruined our experience with their antics. I would go back again, but would ask to sit in the front room if we were there so late. They have seating outside the main restaurant, but you are right at the end of the Casino floor on the way to the elevators and across from the Java Cafe. There is a lot of foot traffic which passes by, so be aware, if you'd prefer a little privacy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After playing in a golf tournament at Mission Hills Country Club a large group of us were looking for a good meal. The Steakhouse at the Agua Caliente was recommended by several people. I have to admit that our group wasn't very enthusiastic at first due to the casino location but that all changed once the food arrived.

I have to agree with some of the other reviews that this place is pricey. However, I think the quality of the food and covenant location make this a great option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everything is a la carte, so a meal adds up. My steak was tender, but could have had more flavor. The au gratin potatoes were WONDERFUL and the salad was great, too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steakhouse at Agua Caliente also viewed

Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to The Steakhouse at Agua Caliente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steakhouse at Agua Caliente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.