We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Rancho Cordova” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova to your Saves list
Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11211 Point East Drive, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Rancho Cordova
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Davis, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marriott Rancho Cordova”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I recently spent several nights at this property and left with mixed feelings. We travel all over the world and nearly always stay at Marriott properties. Thus, we compared our experience at this hotel with our experience at dozens of other Marriott properties.

The room was nice, clean and comfortable. It was relatively large. The bedding was comfortable, but the towels were very,very thin (like you might find at a budget hotel).

We arrived from San Francisco at nearly midnight with our young children. When we went for breakfast in the morning, we were told that the concierge level breakfast was discontinued at exactly 9:00 am, which is quite early for a vacationing family. In addition, it was not open over the weekend. Thus, we were not able to enjoy any of the benefits associated with this service for our entire stay.We ended up having breakfast in the restaurant, expecting the usual buffet, but were told to order off the menu since it was not available. The bill was about $3.00 less than the price of the room for the night! Because it was our understanding that if we could not get breakfast in the concierge lounge, we could get it in the restaurant as Gold Elite members, we asked our server to adjust our bill. She promptly came back with a new bill that was $30 less and we were satisfied. However, before we left the table, she came back with a new bill to sign at the original rate, and brought someone from the front desk to explain that we were not entitled to any complementary breakfast after 9:00 am even though breakfast was still being served in the restaurant. It was quite unpleasant to have the offer made and then rescinded. In the end, the hotel manager adjusted our bill to half of the original amount which we truly appreciated.

Unfortunately, it was a fairly negative experience as the front desk staff was argumentative and gave us conflicting information. Indeed, one staff person said we only had access to the concierge lounge because we were upgraded (she was wrong, we automatically get access as Gold Elite members, no matter which floor we stay on). They kept referring to "coupons" we were supposed to have received at check-in (we did not and didn't think we should have received them). They also treated us suspiciously as if we were trying to get additional coupons (which they record and track in a log - something I have never seen at a Marriott).We were also given the excuse that they can't provide breakfast in the restaurant "for every Marriott reward member as there would be too many."

In the end, we were provided breakfast coupons for 2 adults for the weekend and were specifically told they were going above and beyond what they were required to provide to us. They also commented that it was far better to eat with children in the concierge lounge as they would be included (even though that was not an option on the weekend). In comparison with our many other Marriott stays, if the lounge was not open on the weekend, we were provided with breakfast for every member of our family in the restaurant.

We were interested in enjoying the lovely pool and hot tub on a mild Autumn afternoon, but noticed a sign on the hot tub that children under the age of 16 were not allowed in the hot tub AT ALL. Because the day was not terribly warm, we knew that we'd all appreciate the ability to warm up in the hot tub when we got too cold. This alone was not family friendly.

The television selections were also fairly limited. Although there were at least 5 sports channels (mostly versions of ESPN), there was no access to HGTV or the cooking channel which we typically find at Marriott properties in the US. We were also disappointed that we only received a newspaper on Friday, but not on the weekend.

Overall, it seems as though this hotel caters to business travelers with all of the amenities geared toward business travelers during the week only. Although we are Gold Elite members, we were not able to enjoy any services in the Concierge lounge because it was closed and we were told that we weren't entitled to anything else. As we travel to the Sacramento area often, we will likely pick another Marriott for our future visits.

Room Tip: The hotel is right next to the freeway. If you want any kind of view or to avoid freeway noises, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentmarriottrc, General Manager at Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Kidsontheroad147,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am personally aware of your challenges with breakfast on 10/12 as I gave you the credit to your restaurant bill. First, I would like to apologize for any mis-communication that may have occurred to make you feel you did not receive the benefits you are entitled to as a valued Gold Elite Reward member. Your comments and suggestions are certainly valuable to me as a General Manager and will be used to train associates and correct quality (towels) shortfalls. As I mentioned to you while you were here, breakfast in the Concierge Lounge is a weekday benefit (as are the newspapers) clearly stated in the membership benefits materials you receive annually and do not carry over to the restaurant and/or weekend mornings. Granted some resorts, destination hotels and select service brands like Residence Inn and Fairfield Inn do offer breakfast 7 days a week, but this is not a Marriott Hotels and Resorts brand standard. A complete listing of benefits, by brand, is detailed at MarriottRewards.com.
Our intentions for limiting usage of the hot tub to those over 16 years of age is primarily for safety reasons, which is why we heat our main pool to between 82-84 degrees year around. We do everything we can to provide amenities for children and adults, but I do realize the disappointment when safety concerns and hours of operation conflict with the enjoyment for all segments (business/pleasure) of our guests. Again, please accept my apologies for the less than smooth communication in the restaurant and at the desk. It was our pleasure to serve you and your family, and if you have any additional questions, please contact me direct.
Sincerely,
Kent Peterson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    82
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
54
41
19
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a rave about the shampoo and soap provide by this property. My family loved the Orange Ginger Aromatherapy shampoo and conditioner made by Bath & Body Works. We loved the Citrus Aloe bath soap too. They smell so good. We will definitely look for this stuff at the store. Thank you Marriott for introducing this to us.

I also used the small Jerden iron and liked that it heated up fast and it worked better than my Sunbeam iron at home.

The room included a fridge, comfortable clean beds and pillows. Extra set of towels were waiting for us that were requested during online booking. The pool and spa were wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentmarriottrc, General Manager at Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear zhen5,
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the amenities and extra touches in your guest room and the outdoor pool as well. Full disclosure, the fridge in your room is not a standard room amenity, but we do have a limited number of rooms that come equipped with them. They can be requested in advance on a first come, first served basis.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Safe travels!
Sincerely,
Kent Peterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Since I wrote a bad review of a Marriott recently (Boston Marriott Copley Place) I feel compelled to review this one because it was outstanding. We stayed here recently for our son's baseball tournament. The interior of the hotel (lobby, restaurant, etc) are beautiful, as was our room. There is a wonderful, landscaped pool area complete with waterfalls, with patio seating for the restaurant. On a hot Sacramento summer night I almost felt like I was in Hawaii. The breakfast (included in our special rate) was excellent as well - plenty of options for everyone. Last but not least, the staff was very friendly. The rate we got for our baseball team was low - couldn't believe we got such a nice room and breakfast for up to 4 people for the price we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentmarriottrc, General Manager at Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Cindy F,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We're glad you chose to stay with us for your son's baseball tourney. We are a popular destination for sport teams with not only attractive packages, but the amenities of our full service hotel. The pool and full breakfast buffet are big "hits" with the players and their families. Thank you agian, and safe travels!
Sincerely,
Kent Peterson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodfish, California, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here to go to a wedding nearby. The room was clean and spacious, beds were pillow-top and very comfy. Had a great sleep with terrific pillows. Pool area is fantastic for even non-swimmers. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: 4th floor was just right. 421 was away from noise of elevator, overlooked parking area so we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentmarriottrc, General Manager at Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Nancy P.,
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor post. We're pleased to see that while you were here in the area for a wedding, you enjoyed our hotel and amenities, the bed, pillows and pool in particular. Please come back soon as we all were delighted to serve you and your family. Safe travels!
Sincerely,
Kent Peterson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As with almost all hotels of this type, this Marriott is predictably good. Nice sized rooms, pleasant bathroom, tons of amenities, free parking, $10 internet, etc.

However, despite this hotel's predictable nature, there are a few stand-out items that do help set it apart. For one, they have a wonderful pool/spa area that is well kept and landscaped. Secondly, they also offer free laundry facilities, a rarity for this type of property.

My only complaint with my stay would be the beds. For whatever reason, the mattresses in my room felt old and worn, and not as comfortable as they should've been. Nothing too significant, but worth pointing out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentmarriottrc, General Manager at Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear rrakoczy,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We're pleased that you enjoyed the room and amenities, especially the pool and complimentary guest laundry that stood out for you. I'm sorry that the bed did not quite suit you though. Please come back soon as we look forward to once again serving you. Safe travels!
Sincerely,
Kent Peterson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stay of town frequently on business and I have never before written a review. However, I was SO IMPRESSED by the excellent customer service from every single employee I came into contact with, that I felt compelled to share my experience. I think that I have become so use to mediocre customer service during my business trips, as I was pleasantly surprised time and again during my stay here, how genuinely nice each & every employee at the hotel was. The staff is obviously very happy in their employment and enjoy providing excellent customer service. Thank you, my stay was a pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentmarriottrc, General Manager at Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear brenlee J,
Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. As a road warrior I'm sure you have seen it all. We're pleased that you saw and experienced excellent service at every turn while you were here. We hopefully will have many more opportunities to serve you again. Safe travels!
Sincerely,
Kent Peterson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puyallup
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. There is a starbucks in the hotel and a beautiful pool and fitness facility. There is everything you would expect of a marriott property here. Would of liked to have free internet here though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentmarriottrc, General Manager at Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear boat07,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that we met your expections of a Marriott property and that you especially enjoyed the Starbucks located in the hotel and the outdoor pool area as well. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to the Sacramento region. Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Kent Peterson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova

Address: 11211 Point East Drive, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742
Location: United States > California > Rancho Cordova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Cordova
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Cordova
#7 Family Hotel in Rancho Cordova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova Hotel, whether you are visiting on business or traveling for pleasure, our Rancho Cordova hotel is sure to exceed your expectations. Ideally located this Rancho Cordova hotel, is an elegant 4 Diamond property that offers a distraction-free suburban location. The State-of-the-art meeting space, elegant guest rooms, Starbucks and award winning restaurant - Formaggio- make the Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova hotel ideal for work or play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova Hotel Rancho Cordova
Marriott Rancho Cordova
Rancho Cordova Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.