We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensei Sushi Japanese Restaurant

Sensei Sushi Japanese Restaurant
2878 Zinfandel Dr, Suite B, Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-5668
916-638-8030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 132 Restaurants in Rancho Cordova
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
282 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

To be honest, I did not expect great sushi in Rancho Cordova but Sensei was excellent. The portions are a bit small but otherwise impeccable. The udon noodles were great too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place doesn't look like much for the outside of even the inside but the service was top notch and the food even better. The menu was very diverse with plenty of options and creations. The sushi was very fresh and the rolls were selected were outstanding.

We where there on a Thursday night around 5:30 and it was pretty quiet. I wouldn't be surprised if half their business is carryout. Small operation - one server and one chef. I still would not hesitate to give it a try

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CRT70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
192 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Creative rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I almost didn't walk in,as there was a really scruffy homeless guy camped outside the door. But I am glad I did, as their sushi is quite good. Service was great, and they use black rice in their rolls, which makes them more flavorful. My only complaint was the Christian rock and easy listening on the sound system.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We opted to do a drive-by of a few sushi joints in Rancho Cordova and "use the force" since we were not too familiar with the area. The first place was closed (5 pm), the second did not look too inviting from the outside, then we happened upon Sensei Sushi. We were greeted and seated promptly. We opted to simply order a variety of sushi -- a few off of their "50% off" sushi menu. Everything was well presented, flavorful, and fresh. The slices of raw tuna and salmon on the nigiri were generous. The sunomono salad was also a hit. Service was very attentive. We will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharks90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sashimi was Fresh and Delicious- Service Slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited last Friday night, We had a pleasant server who was new at this restaurant. He needed to ask the experienced server about what was included in some of the dinners as it wasn't descriptive on the menu. The restaurant was busy, but not crowded. It took an hour to get our soup, then about 15 minutes later we received our salad. At that point it was determined that the server had not put in our order correctly- apparently a language and procedure difficulty. Edaname was brought to us. About 1 1/2 hours after arrival, we received our Small combination sashimi dinner along with interesting different delicious rice.
The sashimi was fresh and very good and an adequate amount.
We noticed most people ordering fancy rolls- and there was a large menu of rolls- with some at 1/2 price. We like the pure fish and don't go for rolls, so can't comment on them, nor nigiri.
They also comped us dessert.
To add excitement to our evening, the police were outside the restaurant and arrested a guy. It is located in a strip mall. There was a group that had several children running around the restaurant and screaming.
It wasn't a very relaxing fast dinner, but we weren't in a hurry and the good sashimi was worth the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sensei Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sensei Sushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing