We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensei Sushi Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sensei Sushi Japanese Restaurant
2878 Zinfandel Dr, Suite B, Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-5668
916-638-8030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 122 Restaurants in Rancho Cordova
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place doesn't look like much for the outside of even the inside but the service was top notch and the food even better. The menu was very diverse with plenty of options and creations. The sushi was very fresh and the rolls were selected were outstanding.

We where there on a Thursday night around 5:30 and it was pretty quiet. I wouldn't be surprised if half their business is carryout. Small operation - one server and one chef. I still would not hesitate to give it a try

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Creative rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I almost didn't walk in,as there was a really scruffy homeless guy camped outside the door. But I am glad I did, as their sushi is quite good. Service was great, and they use black rice in their rolls, which makes them more flavorful. My only complaint was the Christian rock and easy listening on the sound system.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We opted to do a drive-by of a few sushi joints in Rancho Cordova and "use the force" since we were not too familiar with the area. The first place was closed (5 pm), the second did not look too inviting from the outside, then we happened upon Sensei Sushi. We were greeted and seated promptly. We opted to simply order a variety of sushi -- a few off of their "50% off" sushi menu. Everything was well presented, flavorful, and fresh. The slices of raw tuna and salmon on the nigiri were generous. The sunomono salad was also a hit. Service was very attentive. We will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Sashimi was Fresh and Delicious- Service Slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited last Friday night, We had a pleasant server who was new at this restaurant. He needed to ask the experienced server about what was included in some of the dinners as it wasn't descriptive on the menu. The restaurant was busy, but not crowded. It took an hour to get our soup, then about 15 minutes later we received our salad. At that point it was determined that the server had not put in our order correctly- apparently a language and procedure difficulty. Edaname was brought to us. About 1 1/2 hours after arrival, we received our Small combination sashimi dinner along with interesting different delicious rice.
The sashimi was fresh and very good and an adequate amount.
We noticed most people ordering fancy rolls- and there was a large menu of rolls- with some at 1/2 price. We like the pure fish and don't go for rolls, so can't comment on them, nor nigiri.
They also comped us dessert.
To add excitement to our evening, the police were outside the restaurant and arrested a guy. It is located in a strip mall. There was a group that had several children running around the restaurant and screaming.
It wasn't a very relaxing fast dinner, but we weren't in a hurry and the good sashimi was worth the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I can't get this great sushi at home in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Mike owns this cute little sushi place. He not only rolls great sushi but is good at waiting tables. When his chef Jimmy is around I think it is even better.
Presentation is always good, fish fresh, and beer cold.
If I can't eat here once/week I feel deprived.
Mike offers GREAT/INCREDIBLE happy hour 1/2 price rolls. I recommend the Crispy Creme, Viagra 2 and the Dragon roll. YUM

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sensei Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sensei Sushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensei Sushi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.