We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite SD campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Picos County Park Campground

Dos Picos County Park Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dos Picos County Park Campground
Save
You added Dos Picos County Park Campground to your Saves list
17953 Dos Picos Park Rd., Ramona, CA 92065   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our Favorite SD campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We love this campground! Close to home but mentally far away. Space 3&4 are our favorites as we have a 'teardrop' trailer and it's easy to set up our screenroom on those sites. There can be a TON of kids on the weekends, and twice we've been overtaken by Boy Scout troups, with mixed results. (Do parents teach kids that it's not okay to walk through someone's campsite anymore?)

It's just me, my husband and 3 small dogs, so the kid thing can really bug us at times....but not here. Yes it's loud, but it's kid-loud, which is a happy sound. It's not rap-music radio loud, which can be a pain.

Super shady, cool even on hot summer days. Rangers are nice, even when we don't have our dogs on leashes, they just ask us nicely to leash them up (yes, I break the rules at times....these are my children....). There's a pond nearby for fishing, Ramona is just down the road, and there are some nice, short hiking trails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Overall camp is well maintained with one exception. Trees/brush need to be trimmed back just beyond space #46 (a one-way road) and just prior to the RV dump station. We now have many scratches in the top/sides of our new class A RV ( we are not a wide-body; we are 101" wide for the coach body). This is the only reason for the lower than average rating. All else at the campground is very nice.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

Dos Picos is a very clean, quiet campground. Rangers do heavily enforce the helmet rules for children. This is for any wheeled bike, scooter, tricycle and even big wheels! They have loaner helmets available if you forget them. They are friendly about it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

For my daughter's 11th birthday, she wanted to go camping. I thought, ok, we'll get there, she'll see a spider and we'll leave. So I wanted to go somewhere fairly close. We really had a great time! The facilities were nice. The pond was the highlight for the kids. They got to fish a little and be outdoors. I can't believe we had such a good time. On Saturday night, they provided a movie in the park--"Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs." The kids learned how to cook on a camp fire and do all the fun, camping things! We spent one day at the beach since it was close. We stayed the entire 2 nights, spiders and all! She didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

Dos Picos is a county campground north and east of downtown San Diego by about 30 miles. This campground equals or exceeds numerous state campgrounds that we have visited. It has tent camp sites as well as RV sites with full hook ups. The tent campsites were large and well spaced apart. The bathroom & shower facilities were very clean and water sources numerous. We saw some wildlife: hawks, woodpeckers, lizards, squirrels, coyotes, rabbits, crows ... but snakes are also in this terrain. The temperatures in June were in the 80's F but in the summer it gets up to 100F. The day hiking is limited from the campground but longer hiking trails and fishing is a short car ride away All in all, the price per night is extremely attractive and makes this campground an excellent value for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dos Picos County Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Picos County Park Campground

Address: 17953 Dos Picos Park Rd., Ramona, CA 92065
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ramona
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Dos Picos County Park Campground Hotel Ramona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Picos County Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.