We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Vicente Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Vicente Golf Resort to your Saves list
San Vicente Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   24157 San Vicente Road, Ramona, CA 92065   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Very nice for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have family that live in the complex so we got a rate of $79/night. Room was clean and pleasant with a nice balcony with golf course views. We got coupons for each of us for $4 off each day in the restaurant. We used them for breakfast, making our meal very inexpensive. Pool area was nice with plenty of shade. Staff was friendly. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
All of us here at San Vicente Resort take great pride in our property and service. Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us. We hope you visit often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
34
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina Sask
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was a great stay and play golf , There was a discount on rooms and rates on the course for staying there. Very affordable, they just updated their Bell TV system and had nice flat screen TV's.
Staff were great at hotel rest and pro shop; the restaurant on site gave you a daily discount to use their.
The course was in excellent shape and played fast during the week. Pro shop guys very helpful lending us a bag without charge each round.
Only issue was you could hear everything above, below, and beside your room.

Room Tip: Take a room on the top floors so you don't have all the noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel rooms are clean and in reasonable condition with a nice view of the golf course. The restaurant is quite good and reasonably priced. Beds were comfortable. TV didn't work. I thought the golf course was great - especially for the price - although I've never encountered so many miserable jerks in one round of golf - both the guys we got paired with and the other golfers. I don't know what the deal is with that. It ruined the round for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Guest Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your San Vicente experience with us. We can only improve when we are aware that changes need to be made. We hope you choose to stay and golf with us again, Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

San Vicente Inn was a great place to stay. We were attending a 4-day riding clinic nearby. The food is excellent the staff is fantastic the rooms are great. I was so glad we got in there. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a beautiful view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your San Vicente experience. We have so much to offer and are very proud to be of service. We hope you join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Probably the most enlightening thing I can say about the San Vecente Inn, is that their primary focus is golf (naturally), their secondary focus is being a country club, and their third focus is the hotel accommodations; in that order. With that said, however, the hotel accommodations are exceedingly nice. The room is oversized. And the furnishings include a sitting table; a large oversized balcony that overlooks the golf course; a mini refrigerator; and a flat-screen TV. The overall appearance of the room was very clean, and with a few minor exceptions, very up-to-date. While this is not a Marriot, it is certainly on-par with a Best Western Plus, and it is way above the quality of a typical chain-motel.

The on-site restaurant, The Oaks Grill, is very good. They exhibit creativity in the preparation of their dishes, which makes eating there an enjoyable and somewhat surprising experience. The typical meal is entre is $8-$12. Also, the hotel provides discount vouchers for one meal per day ($4 per person), which makes this a very good value. It should be noted, however, that Friday and Saturday nights are live-music nights at the bar next to the restaurant. The music is loud and the crowd is young. However, the hotel accommodations, at least where we were placed, were far enough away that we did not notice that aspect of the resort.

The overall facility is relaxing and enjoyable. All of the balconies face the green fairways of the golf course. We enjoyed wine and reading while sitting out at our patio table in the afternoons. We did not visit the bar, the Par Lounge, or the pool, but they looked equally as inviting as the rest of the property (except on Friday and Saturday nights). The resort is within easy driving distance to several wineries and the town of Ramona, with its old-building antique shops and convenient supermarkets.

The issues we had with the accommodations were not numerous. First, the air conditioning unit is old and noisy. The unit runs through continuous on and off cycles. During the day, it was hardly noticeable but at night, this cycle resulted in continuous sleep-and-wake episodes during our first night (we stayed four nights). Fortunately, it was cool at night and cracking the sliding-glass door to the outside air was more than sufficient to keep the room cool at night. [Request to the management: make changing out these AC units a priority.]

And the second issue deals with their primarily focus: golf. The lawn is mowed at 5:00 AM. The mowing is not very loud and can be dismissed after being initially woken up. Then beginning at 7:00 AM, players to the first tee are announced continuously through the morning hours. This is not so easy to ignore.

Overall, I would return again and have just as nice and relaxing time as this first visit, in spite of the issues. After all, outstanding value requires some sacrifice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the main resort building, near the tennis courts, for a quieter exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Guest Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share your San Vicente experience with TripAdvisor. All of us take great pride in our property and all it has to offer. You have pointed out items we can take action on immediately and some that are long term goals. We look forward to having you stay with us again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nice surroundings and accommodations are good enough for not picky traveler. We are actively traveling family and been here before but unfortunately things getting from bad to worst. Due to previous not easy, but doable issues, we made reservation 2 month in advice and PAID IN FULL with ONE simple request: to grant room AWAY from club house terrace. Upon arrival as a mockery of that request we were given room located CLOSEST to terrace on second floor within 50 feet from it. Even though reservation was paid in full 2 months in advance, when complained we heard only lame excuses and standard “sorry bout dat” expression. Yes, it could be easily done but, apparently someone who took reservation somehow forgets to write something or somewhere and here you have it “now we are sold out and nothing can be done.” Sure enough, within length of stay when we were in beds had to witness drinking late night parties on that terrace where local drunk cowboys and cowgirls were screaming their lungs out way past midnight. Calls for help to front desk did noting and made things even worst as no one could tell loud parties to keep quiet. Obviously, this terrace is big money maker and nothing will be or could be changed, but at least stuff must have enough decency and courtesy to guests not to put family with small children right next to drinking spot – infamous club house terrace.

Room Tip: This place has its own unique issues, some doable and some are NOT whatever you do Stay AWAY from r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We have reached out to determine the date of your stay with no response. Your input is important to us so that we can correct and improve where ever possible. Since our property is small; only 28 rooms, we can easily monitor unacceptable performance. We have researched your statements and have not found any confirmation. Please contact me if you have more specifics to share. It is always our goal to provide the best service and environment possible. I hope to hear from you, Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, janice.baldridge@sdcea.net, 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As an avid golfer, my wife and I love to travel and take golf "get-a-way" weekends. We were attending a wedding in Romona, so I thought I would try the San Vicente Golf Resort, with very little expectations. Romona was dry, hot, and the place was barren. Then we arrived in this oasis valley of oaks, palm trees and lakes at San Vicente.
The Staff was super friendly and the bar / lounge was great. Best place in town to watch a Charger game! The food was great. You could eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, and never leave. (because there is nothing to do in Romona) The rooms we clean and roomy, with an outdoor balcony overlooking the golf course. (Not Five-Star, but quant and private)
The golf course was beautiful. A great find. A Ted Robinson Design in the middle of "NO - Where"...Every hole was a unique / pleasant challenge and from the black tees was over 6,700 yards. (great mature - designer course)
(the Ladies tees were very forgiving - FYI) Beautiful lush valley, surrounded by rocky mountains and shade trees.
There were a few brown patches, and the trap sand was thin, but overall, the course was awesome. It gets really hot in Romona, so pick the right time of year. Also, the drive in and out is through the mountains and intense. However, it only took just over 1 hour from Orange County.
Feels like your hundreds of miles away from home.
We will go back again....Just not in the summer....
Steve,
San Clemente, Ca.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Wow, what a comprehensive review of your San Vicente Golf Resort experience. We sincerely thank you for the time you took to write this review. All of us at San Vicente take great pride in providing the best service and product we can. We hope to have you with us again soon and often. Fall has arrived and the temperature is wonderful, Janice Baldridge, 760-310-5107, janice.baldridge@sdcea.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Vicente Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Vicente Golf Resort

Address: 24157 San Vicente Road, Ramona, CA 92065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Vicente Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
45 Minutes from downtown San Diego. San Vicente Golf Resort offers AAA 3 Diamond lodge guestrooms, FREE parking, FREE WiFi and NO Resort Fee, golf course, year-round heated swimming pool, spa tub, lighted tennis courts, 2 equestrian centers, events and classes year-round connected to the seasons, Junior Golf Program, tennis lessons, swimming lessons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Vicente Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Vicente Golf Hotel Ramona
San Vicente Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Vicente Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.