We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place, but a long way from San Diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Vicente Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Vicente Golf Resort to your Saves list
San Vicente Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   24157 San Vicente Road, Ramona, CA 92065   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Brandon, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cool place, but a long way from San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

Well, my wife and I had a week in Cali, but one night with no where to stay. After checking for months in and around San Diego, everything reasonable and close was booked because that stupid comic-con convention. I kept seeing this place for under $100 and with good reviews. So, there we went on our journey to Ramona. It may be 30 - 45 minutes by helicopter but the mountains we went through took well over an hour (the desk clerk said there was a quicker way) using our GPS thing. We get to this cozy, country looking golf resort. Nice desk clerk, room older but spacious with a huge balcony. The roof was very noisy from the people above so request upper level. Did not play golf but it looked fairly nice. The pool was freakin olympic sized but I think it was the community pool as well. The $2.99 breakfast special was the bomb! Dinner the previous night was good as well. All in all, a nice little get away from the city but not too upscale for uptight people.

  • Liked — Quietness, pool, country cooking
  • Disliked — location compared to san diego or beaches
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
34
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

This is a different sort of place to me, being a mix between a Fraternal Lodge and a Resort. Not to make it sound bad - we really enjoyed it. On the up side, the room was fine (though it needed some upkeep) and it had a balcony overlooking the golf course; we really enjoyed that and even did some stargazing. The golf course view is wonderful, which includes rocky hills just beyond. The complementary breakfast in their restaurant was really great too. We very much enjoyed walking around the natural park nearby (the trail started right across from the hotel). The hotel has a shockingly huge pool. I guess this was built as a service pool for the planned community, and there are community classes taught there. The one downside of this hotel related to the pool, however. The pool is at one end of the property and the rooms at the other, with the restaurant, bar, and lobby inbetween. This might sound fine, but the door to the lobby says "NO SWIM WEAR." So, you are forced to walk outside, in the parking lot, from one end of the property to the other. Very odd design! We cannot comment on the golf course aspect since we did not play golf. All in all, we loved the area - which includes Julian - and thought this hotel was a good value.

  • Liked — The scenery and generally remote area
  • Disliked — The exposure to the world on the way to the pool
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

My husband I and stayed here over the MLK holiday. The rooms are very clean and spacious, with a great balcony area overlooking the golf course. Golf fees are reduced if you stay at the Inn. The food in the restaurant was good and excellent value, although service was spotty at times. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We would definitely return again. It's about an hour's drive to La Jolla or San Diego but the area around here is very peaceful.

  • Liked — Large rooms and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Poor service in restaurant
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

My wife and I and our 2 kids stayed at this resort for 2 days. What a great place. The rooms were recently remodeled and are quite large. Room also came with a refrigerator. Room had a nice view of the course and mountain side in the background. They also have a large swimming pool, tennis courts, and of course a golf course. This is a nice place to stay if you plan on visiting the the Wild Animal Park since its relatively close by. The town of Ramona is close by for shopping and meals or you can eat at the resort as it has a restaurant. Hotel staff was friendly and the hotel sent us a friendly note both before and after our stay. The room rate was less than $90 a night, a bargain. Highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a quite place to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — going down the steps to get to my room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Vicente Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Vicente Golf Resort

Address: 24157 San Vicente Road, Ramona, CA 92065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Vicente Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
45 Minutes from downtown San Diego. San Vicente Golf Resort offers AAA 3 Diamond lodge guestrooms, FREE parking, FREE WiFi and NO Resort Fee, golf course, year-round heated swimming pool, spa tub, lighted tennis courts, 2 equestrian centers, events and classes year-round connected to the seasons, Junior Golf Program, tennis lessons, swimming lessons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Vicente Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Vicente Golf Hotel Ramona
San Vicente Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Vicente Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.