We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Resort" may be a little misleading....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Vicente Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Vicente Golf Resort to your Saves list
San Vicente Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   24157 San Vicente Road, Ramona, CA 92065   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“"Resort" may be a little misleading....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I purchased a stay and play golf package. 2 days of golf and one night stay. Don't think of JW level resort... think more like Courtyard in the backcountry.

The location is a bit out of the way, but its a nice drive. Careful if you drive at night or in the fog as the road is narrow and windy. And locals will whip through there with their big trucks and cross the line at times thinking they have the road to themselves to live out their formula-one fantasy.

The golf course was in great condition and very fun to play. Driving range available, pro-shop is quite small, but has enough if you forget something. The starter was very nice and helpful with course questions.

Now, the "resort" is not quite what I personally call a resort. I would say the room quality was more like the older Couryards... hard bed with dated linens and small tv. There was a fridge and coffee maker.

Had dinner at the bar after golf. The locals all come out to hang, dance and party with the band. If you're in jeans, a tshirt and acrylic nails, you'll fit right in. A little rowdy at times, but overall the patrons and the staff were nice. The food was your average pub fare.

Aside from the on-site bar and restaurant, you would have to go to the casino down the road for other choices and entertainment. Other than that, not much else that is easily accessible.

Overall a good stay if you want a budget-friendly on-site hotel for golfers who just want a bed to sleep in and golf as much as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and experience at our San Vicente Resort. Yes, we are located in the "back country" which lends to the charm and serenity of our property. We take each of your comments seriously and will use them to see how we can improve. The resort is almost 40 years old. Many of our employees have 20 plus years serving our guests. The lodge is in a constant rotation of improvements. What about those views? Every room has that same panoramic view. Every Friday and Saturday night we provide complimentary live entertainment in the Par Lounge. The crowd varies by the type of music the musicians play.

We hope you choose to stay with us again for more great golf in a relaxing environment, Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, janice.baldridge@sdcea.net 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
34
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are looking for a getaway that will not break the bank - this is your place! If you want fancy or upscale, this will not be for you. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, especially in the lounge and restaurant. Each of the ladies who served us went above and beyond to make sure our experience was exceptional. Our group was amazed at the value we got on the rooms, golf and food. Eggs Benedict for under $10? That's a bargain! Golf course is perfect for beginner and intermediate golfers. Nothing too challenging - failry easy lies from hole 1- 18. Resort was clean and quiet. From a value standpoint this resort deserves a five. It's not trying to be anything that it is not. It is a simple, basic, clean, quiet getaway. Definitely out ouf the way in terms of location. We felt like we had stepped back in time and gone back to summer camp days - but in a good way because there was golf and drinking involved!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Director of Sales at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your helpful review. We pride ourselves on customer service. San Vicente Resort is such a great place to get away and relax with delicious affordable food and drink. Your input is most appreciated. We hope you choose to stay with us again. Wishing you and your family a wonderful holiday season, Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, 760-310-5107 janice.baldridge@sdcea.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent a wonderful Friday night at the resort. Although it was too cold to be outside, the live band and the Friday evening crowd in the bar made for a fun evening. The casual dining was very good. The golf pro was knowledgeable and helpful. Staff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience. All of us at San Vicente Resort truly want our guests to have the best stay possible. If our entertainment is a draw for you please "come on back". Every Friday and Saturday night we offer complimentary live music and change up the performers often.

We look forward to having you with us again.,

Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, 760-310-5107 janice.baldridge@sdcea.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We got a great "Groupon" offer and spent 2 nights at the hotel and 2 days of golfing for a very reasonable price. The hotel is small - 28 rooms overlooking a beautiful golf course located in a small mountain community just outside San Diego. Our rooms were a fair size - clean and comforable. The only complaint we had was that the fan on the heater was quite noisy and I imagine the air conditioner would be the same. The staff at check in was very pleasant as were the servers in the bar and restaurant. Restaurant prices were very reasonable and the prime rib was excellent! There were six of us in our group and we all agree that this is definitely a place we will go back to and our husbands have voted San Vicente one of their favorite San Diego golf courses.

Room Tip: The rooms are on 3 levels with 2 rooms per level. The lower floor rooms have sliding doors opening o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your stay with us on TripAdvisor. All of us at San Vicente Resort take great pride in providing the best service and amenities possible. A most sincere thank you for your input that we can make improvements on. Our lodge rooms have many benefits because they were built before "quantity was better". Each room is spacious with expansive patios and/or balconies. We have a vigorous schedule to keep all aspects of the lodge rooms modernized. The heater fans are on the list. The golf course maintenance staff is dedicated to keeping it in such great playing condition. Please join us often as we do experience slight changes of seasons which does change the look and play of the course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Four of us played the golf course today and again tomorrow (unfortunately). The greens were 'punched' three weeks ago. You would think they would have recovered by now, right? NO, NOT, not even close. They will still be injured come this Thanksgiving. Some rookie performed the operation and destroyed the greens. Too bad. I am told by some locals that the course was 'pretty good' in the past. Well - not now.

They have also overseeded the fairways and tee boxes (cart paths only by the way). The fairways are so shaggy that you will think you are hitting out of the rough on every shot. You best bring some extra long tees with you so that your ball will be visible on the tee box. Not exagerating.

The facility and the sport bar was hopping on Monday night to watch the Chargers give on away to Denver. The food at the Par grill was a bargain and served by a lively waitress.

The rooms are ok but the plumbing needs a serious plunging. The sinks backup and you must be very patient while brushing your teeth.

The views from the rooms ae very good. You can watch players teeing off on hole number 10.

Definately, stay away at least untill January 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Guest Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at San Vicente Resort. In our ongoing efforts to keep San Vicente Golf Course the best it can be we aerate the course twice a year. Unfortunately Mother Nature did not cooperate with us this time. Last week we received over a half an inch of rain and this week we broke heat records. We certainly hope that you will try us again. Our course is 100% irrigated with recycled water so cost is never an issue when it comes to keeping it green. All of us here at San Vicente appreciate you choosing us before and look forward to having you back. Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator for San Vicente Resort, 760-310-5107, janice.baldridge@sdcea.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

+ Visited the San Vincente Golf Resort last weekend for a few days. Charming golf resort with EXCELLENT food, kudos to the Chef !!! Bar and dining staff were VERY good, friendly breakfast staff always refilling coffee even before having to ask.
- Now to the not so good... front desk mgr extremely unprofessional, borderline rude to walk in customers, as well as customers calling on the phone. Wandering into the back office, while check in customers are speaking to her and just walking off leaving them in mid-sentence. Admitting to the walk in customers that she is "not well liked" and even time for retirement.
Just be advised of this before you check in, so your not surprised/disappointed- as we were after the long LA commute to get there.
The remainder of our stay golf, dining and staff are wonderful!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Guest Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi Candice, Thank you so much for taking your time to share both the positive and negative experience you had at our resort. We are dedicated to providing the best service and product possible and your input assists us to keep that standard. Would you please contact me at 760-310-5107 or janice.baldridge@sdcea.net as we need additional information to direct our service training in the right area.

We hope you choose to stay with us in the future and when you do your feedback is welcomed,
Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I can only comment on the hotel room (vs the golf course or other amenities) because we stayed just one short night when the Barona Casino hotel was all booked up and this was the next closest place. The room was dated and the beds and pillows were especially uncomfortable. And the AC unit was really noisy, but it was hot so we really needed it. All I can recall about the service was the phone call to hustle us out of the room in the morning, because checkout was 11:30 when we thought it was noon. And there apparently was no where to get ice on the property after 10pm.

On the plus side, we had a patio right on the golf course, which was nice. Maybe if we were there to golf, or had gotten there earlier our experience might have been different. But as it was, it was just a somewhat convenient place to spend the night when there was no room at Barona. And by somewhat, I mean about 8 or so miles of twisty-turny mountain roads away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Guest Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your input about your stay with us at San Vicente Resort. Your comments are helpful for us to improve our product. We hope you return for a longer stay to enjoy the many amenities we have to offer. Yes, the road between Barona and San Vicente is twisty but provides views like no where else in San Diego. Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, janice.baldridge@sdcea.net 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Vicente Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Vicente Golf Resort

Address: 24157 San Vicente Road, Ramona, CA 92065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Vicente Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
45 Minutes from downtown San Diego. San Vicente Golf Resort offers AAA 3 Diamond lodge guestrooms, FREE parking, FREE WiFi and NO Resort Fee, golf course, year-round heated swimming pool, spa tub, lighted tennis courts, 2 equestrian centers, events and classes year-round connected to the seasons, Junior Golf Program, tennis lessons, swimming lessons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Vicente Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Vicente Golf Hotel Ramona
San Vicente Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Vicente Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.