We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet and we will return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Vicente Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added San Vicente Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Vicente Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   24157 San Vicente Road, Ramona, CA 92065   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Ramona
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very quiet and we will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed from Sunday to Thursday. It was very clean, updated and well maintained. Our room had a king-sized bed, coffee maker, hair dryer, refrigerator and iron with ironing board. There was a table and two chairs for dining, etc in the room as well. They had a wonderful citrus organic soap for the shower and each of the two sinks.

The hotel only has 28 rooms, on three floors. Each room looks over the golf course and has a patio or balcony. We were on the second floor. There was a comfortable set of two chairs and a table out on the balcony. They have tennis courts, a large pool and large hot tub as well as the golf course. The pool area has a snack bar. There is a bar/restaurant area and a dining room restaurant area. We ate at the bar/restaurant the first night and found the prices to be very reasonable and the food plentiful and tasty. I don't know if they do it all of the time but they gave us coupons for each day to use in the restaurants or snack shop for $4 per person each day we were there.

It is a bit of a drive out of San Diego but it was so quiet and peaceful. So if you like to run back to your hotel several times a day, plan for the drive time. The golf course looked very nice and was not crowded at all during our stay.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Wow and thank you! Your detailed review is very much appreciated. We are very proud of our beautiful resort and would like to share it with everyone. The peaceful setting is a rare find and so appreciated these days. We welcome you back throughout the year. Unlike San Diego's weather of 70's and sunny we mildly experience the change of seasons. February we actually had snow - started after 10pm and melted by noon the next day. It was absolutely beautiful. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance,

Janice Baldridge
760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
29
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Great quiet area of Southern California. Enjoyed the golf course, not to hard, not to easy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I booked a 3 day golf school with Southern California Golf Schools at the San Vicente Golf resort. What a nice adventure. The rooms weve very nice and kinda of big. The golf course was awesome with great greens. The food and beverage was affordable with a staff great. I would highly recommend both the golf school and the resort.
thank you.

Room Tip: Book Spring and fall. You cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Director of Sales at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Hi Stan,

All of us at San Vicente Golf Resort thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

All the seasons are exceptionally beautiful here at San Vicente Golf Resort. We hope to see you with us again to experience all the amenities we have to offer. Of course, the golf course will be ready for your arrival.

If I can be of assistance please let me know. Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator
760-310-107 janice.baldridge@sdcea.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We booked a "stay and play" package $150 over Mother's Day weekend. Here's what you can realistically expect: Friendly staff- I almost felt like we were in the deep South as all of the staff members were so polite and helpful. Beautiful golf course- not the most difficult, nor the easiest, but definitely a view from every hole and in good shape for the amount of play it gets. Great bar- they had a band on Saturday night in the Par Lounge, which pours stiff drinks and serves up a nice variety of bar food and appetizers. Delicous food- we had dinner at the Oaks Grille, brought our own wine ($10 corkage) because we didn't know what to expect on their wine list...turns out they had a nice selection of reds, and we both ordered the sea bass special $20....was much more like a $40 meal, finished it all off with a piece of chocolate cake that was big enough for 4 people. Clean rooms- don't expect the Ritz, these are not high-tech, lavishly decorated, modern hotel rooms. They are extra large, with mini-fridge, microwave, plenty of closet space, and HUGE decks. Each room overlooks the golf course and in our case, we didn't not encounter noise from surrounding guests. They have a nice pool and hot tub.....the only issue I had with it was the distance from the rooms to the pool. Overall, it's a great value with all the amenities you'd need to spend a weekend golfing and relaxing.

Room Tip: Top floor room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
All of us at San Vicente Golf Resort appreciate your kind words and spending time with us! We are all very proud or our property and love to share it! With so many amenities to choose from or the best places to relax we hope you choose us again.

Please let me know if I can be of assistance with any of your future planning, Janice Baldridge janice.baldridge@sdcea.net 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We were pleased with our stay from checkin to checkout. Staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and informed us of all amenities. They even provided discount coupons for the restaurant each day of our stay. Golf course view is incredible. The only drawback - if you are a late sleeper people teeing off on the golf course may disturb you. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Stayed here 13 nights on a golf package with several friends. Rooms have coffeemaker & small refrigerator. They are large and comfortable with balconies overlooking the golf course and rocky hillsides. Furnishings and beds were updated a few years ago. Golf course is in great shape, always a challenge. A new set of tee boxes has made it more playable for women and seniors. There are a few other courses within drivable distance for variety. Non-golfers can play tennis, swim, go to the Wild Animal Park, gamble at Barona casino.
The new lounge opened our last night there and is a welcome upgrade. Restaurant food and service is okay with occasional glitches. Our advice is to go with the flow. Note: restaurant is closed on Mondays (all day) with only the snack bar available so plan ahead. Pro shop and front desk staff are first-rate and very helpful.
This is a resort for regular middle-class people. You will not find a better bargain anywhere, especially in Southern CA. If you are used to luxury-class, this is not the place for you and you will be disappointed. Otherwise, drive up, park your car and enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: rooms on top level have less noise, high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We found this resort to be a wonderful experience. Staff outstanding. The golf course was first class. Food was very good and reasonably priced. The new lounge was scheduled to open two days after our departure but we were given a tour and were very impressed.
We will be returning as it is the best value for money we have found.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Vicente Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Vicente Golf Resort

Address: 24157 San Vicente Road, Ramona, CA 92065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Vicente Golf Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
45 Minutes from downtown San Diego. San Vicente Golf Resort offers AAA 3 Diamond lodge guestrooms, FREE parking, FREE WiFi and NO Resort Fee, golf course, year-round heated swimming pool, spa tub, lighted tennis courts, 2 equestrian centers, events and classes year-round connected to the seasons, Junior Golf Program, tennis lessons, swimming lessons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Vicente Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Vicente Golf Hotel Ramona
San Vicente Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Vicente Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.