We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Oaks Resorts

Save Saved
You added Riviera Oaks Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riviera Oaks Resorts
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   25382 Pappas Rd, Ramona, CA 92065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Ukiah
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much! The suite was great, bed was comfy, pool was wonderful. We went to the Ramona Drag Races - right down the street (almost). Very convenient. Hope to come back next year! Loved our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Riviera Oaks Resort is located in the San Diego mountains about half an hour drive from Escondido (Northern San Diego). The drive there was not bad and the place was easy to find.

The place looks like an apartment complex from outside and nothing looks special. There's a pool and Jacuzzi right outside of our unit. The inside, however, is pretty spacious. There's a nice patio in the back, where we spent a lot of time during the five days that we stayed there. Nice kitchen, good size living room with a fire place and an adjacent dinning room. Comfortable Queen bed in the bedroom. Although the couch in the living room can use some cushions and the bedroom can use some more lights.

The Diamond Resorts has taken over the management of this place and therefore, we could see the Diamond Resorts service standards taking place. We had called the front desk twice on two occasions and the maintenance guys were there right away and a phone call followed to make sure that everything was taken care of. One of the problems was that the icemaker wasn't working. The maintenance guy spent a long time but could not fix it. We felt bad and told him that we could live without it, but he persisted to fix it and somehow found a spare icemaker to replace it. All the house keepers and workers there were extremely friendly and helpful. We have no complaint at all.

The quests of the resort (ages 16 & up) are able to use the racquet club down the road that is about three minutes walk from the resort, free of charge. There are many tennis courts, a great lap pool, a small gym, pool table, and pin pong table. The pool looks over the canyon and is a great place to spend the afternoons there.

There are two grocery stores (Stater Brothers and Albertson) and a couple restaurants in downtown Ramona (about 15 minutes drive), which is very convenient. However, there's not much to do there if you need a lot of excitement, unless you want to drive down the mountains to San Diego. But if you are into antiques, Julian is a great place to go with a short drive, not to mention the famous Apple Pie! :)

This is a great place to unwind and do nothing. We enjoyed the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere very much. We will definitely go back when we have a chance.

Room Tip: The rooms by the street get the morning sun, so if you like to have a patio that is out of sun, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were staying at the resort for a week. It's an older timeshare, a little run down - room and furniture. Asked for a room facing a pool; got one facing the road instead :-(.
The service was excellent - staff reacted to all our requests very quickly.
The resort is about 45 min drive from San Diego. We also went to winery tour, Indian reservation museum and Los Angeles (3 hr drive). San Diego has tons of things to do! Plan to spend more than one day there.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Our mission at Riviera Oaks Resort & Racquet Club is to deliver on our commitment to excellence to each of our guests who stay with us, and we regret hearing about the disappointment you had with your room assignment. Room requests such as a specific view type can be submitted prior to arrival; however, regrettably, they cannot always be secured due to our allocation policy and operational procedures. We are truly sorry we could not fully meet your needs in that area and hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

a 2 night stay. arrived at 1am and the security gave us our room key. Room was very nice. Loved the pillows and blanket!! TVs r out dated. No free wifi. But overall great time. Will be back! Roads up to resort are very curvy. Not too far from casino. Going to bring family nxt time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay at our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed our friendly staff and cozy rooms. Our resort is actually in the middle of phasing out the standard televisions and replacing them with flat screens. Also, we are currently on track to be offering free Wi-fi in May of 2014. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort, to see our new enhancements and for a fun and memory-filled getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The resort and the accommodations proved to be an oasis in the desert after climbing the boulder filled mountains of Ramona to get there. The units were well decorated, stocked and maintained. Huge amount of room, storage and closets. The grounds and facilities were wonderful (pool, tennis, gym, horseback riding, etc.). The staff, from the front desk to housekeeping (Francisco & Linda) to the concierge (Rita) were the friendliest we have ever come across. Everyone wanted to please. The resort also has a stable on the property and Wrangler Ray gave me (my wife stayed back and took photos) 1/2 hour of instruction before taking me out on the trail. He was great and so was the ride. We highly recommend the resort and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a huge 2 bedroom suite. The location is a little remote bit it's really peaceful and serene. Our room faced Ramona Oaks Rd so there was some road noise, but I loved that the room faced the creek bed and trees. A little noise from the room above us but not too bad. Loved the pool/jacuzzi and the overall look and feel of the room and resort.
One weird thing was the heating and air. We couldn't get it to work. The front desk insisted that we needed to put our room key in a slot to operate the lights and air but no such slot existed. After several phone calls the from desk conceded that a few rooms didn't have the slot so maintenance would need to come. Took a day to get out a handyman to fix the unit. It had really awful confusing programming so it kicked off in the middle of the night and we woke up freezing. Also, you have to pay for wifi.
All that said, it's still the best place to stay in Ramona.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is also great for us to read that our staff provided you with the assistance you needed, however, we are sorry this problem occurred in the first place. We trust this has not ruined your stay and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remington, Indiana
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom villa and were absolutely astounded by the quality of the accommodations. We booked this through Expedia and will never do that again! Trying to get something through to that organization is difficult or next to impossible.

However the resort itself is absolutely beautiful we have a villa that is next to a park is very quiet it is peaceful we have virtually everything we need. We have stayed in a number of places in the San Diego area but this one beats anything we've ever been. February is the off-season and the price was very reasonable.

We actually booked the stay in two separate bookings and that is what caused the trouble with Expedia. It took me at least an hour and a half to get things straightened out and finally we just Accepted what they had and said thanks, And went to the desk and got everything all straightened out. We nearly always book direct and this is one of the reasons why we do so. It is always better to talk with a person and do it right the first time!

Room Tip: When you come in the wintertime remember it is the off-season be very kind to the people and deal di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are delighted to read that the comfort of our accommodations, convenient location and great customer service met, If not exceeded your expectations and contributed to you having a wonderful and relaxing stay here. It was very wise of you to look for money-saving opportunities during the less-traveled off-season. We thank you for sharing that tip with our future guest and your fellow travelers. We hope to see you coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Oaks Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Oaks Resorts

Address: 25382 Pappas Rd, Ramona, CA 92065
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Oaks Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riviera Oaks Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Oaks Hotel Ramona
Riviera Oaks Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Oaks Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.