We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with a few minor hiccups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Oaks Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riviera Oaks Resorts to your Saves list
Riviera Oaks Resorts
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   25382 Pappas Rd, Ramona, CA 92065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great stay with a few minor hiccups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a huge 2 bedroom suite. The location is a little remote bit it's really peaceful and serene. Our room faced Ramona Oaks Rd so there was some road noise, but I loved that the room faced the creek bed and trees. A little noise from the room above us but not too bad. Loved the pool/jacuzzi and the overall look and feel of the room and resort.
One weird thing was the heating and air. We couldn't get it to work. The front desk insisted that we needed to put our room key in a slot to operate the lights and air but no such slot existed. After several phone calls the from desk conceded that a few rooms didn't have the slot so maintenance would need to come. Took a day to get out a handyman to fix the unit. It had really awful confusing programming so it kicked off in the middle of the night and we woke up freezing. Also, you have to pay for wifi.
All that said, it's still the best place to stay in Ramona.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is also great for us to read that our staff provided you with the assistance you needed, however, we are sorry this problem occurred in the first place. We trust this has not ruined your stay and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Remington, Indiana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom villa and were absolutely astounded by the quality of the accommodations. We booked this through Expedia and will never do that again! Trying to get something through to that organization is difficult or next to impossible.

However the resort itself is absolutely beautiful we have a villa that is next to a park is very quiet it is peaceful we have virtually everything we need. We have stayed in a number of places in the San Diego area but this one beats anything we've ever been. February is the off-season and the price was very reasonable.

We actually booked the stay in two separate bookings and that is what caused the trouble with Expedia. It took me at least an hour and a half to get things straightened out and finally we just Accepted what they had and said thanks, And went to the desk and got everything all straightened out. We nearly always book direct and this is one of the reasons why we do so. It is always better to talk with a person and do it right the first time!

Room Tip: When you come in the wintertime remember it is the off-season be very kind to the people and deal di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are delighted to read that the comfort of our accommodations, convenient location and great customer service met, If not exceeded your expectations and contributed to you having a wonderful and relaxing stay here. It was very wise of you to look for money-saving opportunities during the less-traveled off-season. We thank you for sharing that tip with our future guest and your fellow travelers. We hope to see you coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England, UK
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had 2 nights in October - room 521 Block E - 1 bed Unit.

We knew when we booked the stay that the rooms were not up to usual Diamond Resort standards, however, it had everything we needed ... large living/dining area (TV old fashioned large box shape - not flat screen), well equipped kitchen with large fridge/freezer, oven/hob, microwave, dishwasher, etc. The bathroom was OK - however we had ants on the floor and around the sink area. The bedroom was a good size too with huge mirrored wardrobe and another large TV.

We did not try any further facilities as we were out and about the days we were there.

All in all it was OK for a quick stop off in the area - however, we would not return unless it was freshened up by Diamond.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom villa. We checked in after midnight. The staff was prepared for our late arrival. They left a log for the fireplace. It was very spacious. Fireplace gives it a cozy feeling. Great for families, we will return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a timeshare which I needed to use. Was amazed at how serene this place was. Super large one bedroom. Very quiet and clean. 7 miles outside of Ramona. Wonderful amenities and wonderful staff. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: 78 goes almost there. Don't get lost using google map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us, enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed in your guestroom. We were very pleased and delighted to read your comments and that our location contributed to you having a great stay here. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrosse, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Got a timeshare exchange for our son and family. They only stayed one night instead of
a week. The room smelled, their breakfast rolls for the morning were full of ants by morning,
his 3 year old cut her foot on an exposed carpet tack and the family was bitten by ants. They
were offered another room but by then they had had enough!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batavia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Riviera Oaks Resort the week of labor day. We really enjoyed our trip and used this place as our home base to explore the San Diego Region. We had the two bedroom two bath and it was perfect. My son and his girlfriend had one side of the condo and we had the other. There was a good size kitchen with everything we needed and a very large outdoor patio. We were on the first floor and the patios were larger than the balconies. It was over 100 degrees so the pool was a welcome relief each evening when we returned from our exploring. Definitely would recommend new TVs but we were not there enough to worry about that!! The office staff was very helpful!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Oaks Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Oaks Resorts

Address: 25382 Pappas Rd, Ramona, CA 92065
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Oaks Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Oaks Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Oaks Hotel Ramona
Riviera Oaks Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Oaks Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.