We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxed setting with well-appointed units” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Country Estates

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Country Estates to your Saves list
San Diego Country Estates
25385 Pappas Road, Ramona, CA 92065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxed setting with well-appointed units”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were a family of 4 (4- and 6-year old girls) and recently stayed in a first-floor 2-bedroom/2-bath unit at SDCE, which was huge and gave us plenty of space to spread out. There were three TV's (one in each bedroom, plus one in the main living area), one with a DVD player (living room). The units were really well equipped with all the basic cooking supplies (pots, pans, etc.). A small electric BBQ on one of the outdoor patios (there was a small patio area off each of the bedrooms) was handy, although it was a little slow to heat up and often shorted out. It was nice to have laundry right in the unit and the housekeeping staff replenished towels (for bath and pool), dish soap, garbage bags, etc. daily. It was quite quiet and we rarely saw or heard our neighbours, although the parking lots filled up quickly in the afternoon/evening, so there must have been many others there. There were quite a few activities for teens and adults (shuffleboard, numerous tennis courts, basketball, fitness room) on the grounds, but it would have been nice to have a few more organized activities for our younger kids. We did enjoy the pool as the February temperatures were above seasonal, and there was a playground right across the street that we visited a couple of times. We travelled to San Diego destinations (Legoland, San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld) on three different days...all took about an hour to get to, so we were glad we didn't travel into the city every day. My daughter experienced motion-sickness from driving the windy, mountainous terrain, so we stayed off the Wildcat Canyon Rd after the first trip. It was a crazy ride and we much preferred sticking to the highways (and didn't really find that doing that added much more time to the trips). Ramona had had all the basics we needed (groceries, etc....even a Starbucks!), but there wasn't much in the way of shopping for clothes, etc. Poway or Santee were not far away, however, with some of the basic big-box stores. My husband and I also went to Viejas Outlet Mall (about 45 mins from SDCE) for an afternoon as well, while the kids stayed with their grandparents. All in all, we had a restful stay at SDCE, which was exactly what we were looking for, but if you are looking for a fast-paced, busy holiday, a more urban setting would probably be a better fit.

Room Tip: We were in a 1st floor unit - we could hear footsteps above us, but it didn't interrupt our slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Can
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If your looking for San Diego. This might not be it. But if your like us and want to see all the area. This is ideal. Anza-Borrego desert, the town of Julian California, Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino. Ramona is out of the way, but with no traffic. Central to see more of the San Diego/Desert area. From desert to ocean to La jolla to Borrego Springs is all with in an 1 hr drive from Ramona. The rooms are well kept and full kitchen was helpful. I would recommend Country estates to friends. The view from the pool/hot tube area is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

These 2 story condos are set on a hill with beautiful park like setting surrounding them. Lots of hiking trails. If you love playing tennis, you will love this place. It is out in the middle of nowhere..so very peaceful and quite. Lots of things to do: swimming, games, crafts. Only minus was you could hear the people upstairs. They also have a day spa, the prices were okay, we did not use it. If you want a place to relax & unwind, this is the place.

Room Tip: Bldg's 5,6,7,8 are away from Club House, swimming pool but newly remodeled. If you don't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a timeshare resort which is self catering with a full kitchen.
The one bedroom apartment we had was very well equipped with everything you could want and more. The quality of the furnishings was excellent.
Its located in a quiet valley well away from any main roads and has lovely gardens plus walks up the dry river creek and surrounding hills.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the San Diego Country Estates from Oct 7th to Oct 13th and were very happy with our one bedroom unit (#5533). The first floor unit was very well equipped with everything we needed including a wood burning fireplace. A couple of minor issues were the toiltet handle needed adjusting (no one from maintenance ever came to fix!) and the outside electric grill didn't work. On occasion we could hear noise from the 2nd floor (footsteps or cleaners) but it did not happen very often.

We did not take advantage of many of the properties amenities, including the tennis courts, pools, or recreation areas as a great deal of our time was spent visiting with relatives in the area. However, all areas seemed to be very well kept including the meticulously maintained grounds.

We woud definitely consider staying at the "Estates" again the next time we are in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: Definitely request a 2nd floor unit to avoid hearing noise from footsteps from above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I, and another couple rented a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo. #5523 The staff at the reception desk was very nice and knowledgeable (specially Lisa) and the resort itself is lovely, very nice landscaping and well maintained.
Our condo was a downstairs end unit. Clean, lovely large windows, very large rooms, updated furnishings and very well equipped kitchen etc. Nice televisions in each of the 2 bedrooms and living/dining area. Everything in the unit worked very well ie, ac, appliances etc. The beds were new but a little too firm for our taste but there was a king in each of the 2 bedrooms which made it nice since we were traveling with another adult couple.
There seemed to be a lot to do at the resort, tennis, pools but we had already made plans in town for most of the days.
2 issues:
1. very remote, prepare to drive an hour to anywhere tourists go, San Diego, Sea World, Animal Park, Del Mar racetrack, Seaport Village etc. If you are looking for a peaceful area (except for the following this is it!)
2. very noisy upstairs, (I believe our upstairs people were part of a gymnastics team that held practices each evening)
ps, with our rental they told us we MUST have daily housekeeping, we assumed that meant they made up the beds, they didn't. the bed linens were literally thrown up

Room Tip: Maybe an upstairs room would be better noise wise, my husband recently had knee replacement and he c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just spent a wonderful week at San Diego Country Estates. The condo was very spacious and comfortable. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful in every way. The place was clean. The location is definitely in the country. It is about an hour drive to/from San Diego. I enjoyed the quietness. It is very dark at night so it helps to know your way around during the daylight hours. There is no restaurant on site. We grocery shopped our first day there. We also drove up to restaurants on Main Street (15 minutes away). We had pizza and salad delivery also.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor which made it easy to bring in luggage and groceries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Country Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Country Estates

Address: 25385 Pappas Road, Ramona, CA 92065
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your San Diego Country Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Country Estates Hotel Ramona
San Diego Country Estates Ramona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Country Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.