We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Country Estates

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Diego Country Estates to your Saves list
San Diego Country Estates
25385 Pappas Road, Ramona, CA 92065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
denver colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I, and another couple rented a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo. #5523 The staff at the reception desk was very nice and knowledgeable (specially Lisa) and the resort itself is lovely, very nice landscaping and well maintained.
Our condo was a downstairs end unit. Clean, lovely large windows, very large rooms, updated furnishings and very well equipped kitchen etc. Nice televisions in each of the 2 bedrooms and living/dining area. Everything in the unit worked very well ie, ac, appliances etc. The beds were new but a little too firm for our taste but there was a king in each of the 2 bedrooms which made it nice since we were traveling with another adult couple.
There seemed to be a lot to do at the resort, tennis, pools but we had already made plans in town for most of the days.
2 issues:
1. very remote, prepare to drive an hour to anywhere tourists go, San Diego, Sea World, Animal Park, Del Mar racetrack, Seaport Village etc. If you are looking for a peaceful area (except for the following this is it!)
2. very noisy upstairs, (I believe our upstairs people were part of a gymnastics team that held practices each evening)
ps, with our rental they told us we MUST have daily housekeeping, we assumed that meant they made up the beds, they didn't. the bed linens were literally thrown up

Room Tip: Maybe an upstairs room would be better noise wise, my husband recently had knee replacement and he c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just spent a wonderful week at San Diego Country Estates. The condo was very spacious and comfortable. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful in every way. The place was clean. The location is definitely in the country. It is about an hour drive to/from San Diego. I enjoyed the quietness. It is very dark at night so it helps to know your way around during the daylight hours. There is no restaurant on site. We grocery shopped our first day there. We also drove up to restaurants on Main Street (15 minutes away). We had pizza and salad delivery also.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor which made it easy to bring in luggage and groceries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in room 5603, a 2 bedroom. There was plenty of room for the 5 of us. The furniture, carpet, etc. were nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed. I liked the pantry for groceries. The property had plenty for the teens to do; swim, basketball, pool, ping-pong, tennis, shuffle board and more. The staff was accomodating. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back again. We would not promise the kids 3 days at the beach because it's too far. One day at the beach would be great and the remainder of the time at the resort as there is plenty for them to do while the adults relax. Having a washer/dryer in the unit is a plus!! Internet service worked well. We felt at home and secure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here as part of our timeshare system. The property itself is a a bit dated, but nothing that can't easily be overlooked. The grounds are nice lush and green, something we don't often see in the desert. The room was a nice one bedroom apartment, fully stocked with most common appliances and utensils. The furniture could use a refresh or a steam clean. As the weather did not cooperate, rained most of the time, we were unable to take advantage of the tennis courts. The courts looked to be in good shape, too bad.

As a few reviewers have said, the location is a bit remote for some. However, we came here for the outdoor events and scenery. It takes about 10-15 minutes to get into town. You can find most things there in the way of groceries, etc. There is a lack of dining options from what we saw. Mostly Mexican, Italian, and standard choice of fast food establishments. We did notice one sushi place. For the most part we like to cook for ourselves so this was not an issue. One place I would recommend is Amici's Pizza. Located in the Alberstons parking lot.

If you're coming here for the wineries, be warned, most (90%) are only open on the weekends. Also worth noting there are only a a couple of ways in and out of this community. while we were here there was a traffic accident that block the primary route in/out. We were told of an alternate route into town. The signs were mostly obvious. After a couple of missed turns we were able to find out way back into town. It's all about the adventure. :)

Overall, the property is nice, the staff helpful and cheery. We would come back again and hope the weather will be more cooperative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for a short weekend getaway with family. Our family made all the arrangements. If it was up to me I'd have picked something closer to civilization. But it's great if your looking for a country setting. My only complaint is that the ceilings and floors are thin. We heard every movement from the folks upstairs. At times it sounded like a herd of elephants wrestling up there!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for the Easter long weekend. For two professionals with hectic lives/jobs it was nice to take some serious downtime and just relax. We arrived quite late and they were very accommodating we picked up the keys at the San Vicente Resort and they provided someone to escort us to our suite. Our suite was a one bedroom and was quite large. The bed was so soft it was great. We had a patio overlooking the tennis courts, there are apparently 18 of them. You do require a car to get anywhere for food. We picked up some breakfast food from Albertsons in Ramona which is 4 miles away. There are a couple of hiking trails within walking distance. We did do a day trip to Coronado which is about an hour away. All in all I would stay here again it was good downtime. Had some really good food at Par Lounge down at the golf course. Sit on the patio!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5621 bottom floor. Sun in morning but nothing in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We drove up to the Ramona Racquet Club with lit tennis courts, jacuzzi and spa where we checked in for our week at San Diego Country Estates. What a pleasant surprise!! We had full use of the Racquet Club during our stay. When we arrived at our room after driving through a neighborhood of homes and condos, we walked into a spacious living room with fireplace and cathedral ceilings, two large bedrooms with sliding glass doors opening to a patio of both bedrooms. We loved the peace and tranquility surrounding us with the gorgeous hills and trees of North County San Diego. This is a hidden spot minutes away from Ramona known for its antique shops. Close to San Diego Estates is an 18-Hole Golf Course and Country Club with a restaurant offering live music on Friday and Saturday with dancing. Our first impression of the location and beauty of the area makes us want to come back for another visit with more family members to share in the experience. Only a short drive to the mountain town of Julian known for Julian Apple Pie, restaurants, shops, and more! When we went, there was a festival with music playing in the streets, wine tasting, BBQ, and lots of people. If you want to experience something different in Southern California, I recommend San Diego Country Estates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Country Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Country Estates

Address: 25385 Pappas Road, Ramona, CA 92065
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your San Diego Country Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Country Estates Hotel Ramona
San Diego Country Estates Ramona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Country Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.