We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's sooooo much better than the Ramada in Poway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13845 Poway Road, Poway, CA 92064   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's sooooo much better than the Ramada in Poway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

There was a blackout one night while we were staying at the Ramada. We checked out and the Best Western charged us the same as we paid in the Ramada. I thought that that was great customer service and we booked another stay after that night.
Clean rooms, comfy beds and no mildew smell. Nice place to stay!
The breakfast is no great shakes, but it is adequate.

We booked again for our next trip in August

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpowaygm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2009
Thank you for your response. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you agian. If you need anything, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
gm.bwpoway@excelhotelgroup.com
858-748-6320
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    23
    15
    7
See reviews for
34
28
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

We booked thru hotwire for 4 people. Hotel gave 1 king bed and wanted to charge more for double bed. Also warned they could give smoking if booked thru third party website. They cannot honor special requests if booked thru other website. Charged $1 for a safe we did not ask or use. Breakfast limited and some of it stale. Room interior was new, nice, clean and quiet. Exterior 2 star.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpowaygm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Thanking you for taking a few moments of your time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-748-6320.

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
Best Western Country Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

There are only 2 reviews of this hotel now on this site. I myself posted a review some years ago and there are at least half a dozen more. This hotel has not had good reviews and, although it now appears to be under new management, I think it is only fair that people considering this hotel should have all the facts. It is now listed as number one in Poway! How this can be with the new and much nicer Hampton Inn opening recently in the Poway area is beyond me. Just because this hotel has changed its name from Country Inn to Best Western Country Inn does not mean the previous reviews are redundant.

Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpowaygm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review regarding our property.

Since your stay, we have made renovations to the hotel and have changed management as well as ownership.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you as we feel these changes have made our property a much more enjoyable place to stay.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-748-6320.

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
Best Western Country Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton, ma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

They must be renovating rooms or something, because my experience was nothing like the two previous reviews.

I checked in with a polite deskperson, Kathleen. I was traveling as a single, but was afforded a room with a king size bed, good size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker.

The bathroom has new brushed metal fixtures with faux marble and large shower head. The water pressure was fine and hot water was steady in temperature and abundant. The whole room looks quite new.

I didn't use the pool or hot tub, so I can't vouch for that.

The only complaint would be that the traffic nearby is quite loud -- not alot of sound insulation from the door.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Great price on Priceline, Fridge & microwave in room.
  • Disliked — Traffic noise.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpowaygm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we have been recently renovated and do whatever we can to make each guest's stay as great as possible. If you have any questions, please contact me at 858-748-6320. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel

Address: 13845 Poway Road, Poway, CA 92064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Poway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel
Poway Best Western
Poway Country Inn
Best Western Poway
Country Inn Poway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.