We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bull Inn to your Saves list
The Bull Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a must for anyone looking for accommodation in this area!! We had a wonderful stay. From the minute we walked through the door we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception, so friendly and very welcoming. The room had character and spotlessly clean.
We popped into the bar for a drink before dinner and the man behind the bar was as lovely as the lady on reception!
The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious!! Staff were helpful and polite and the plates were hot which is very important to us. We will definitely be back. Love,loved loved it. Thank you so much. P.s breakfast was also superb

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    59
    30
    9
    14
See reviews for
42
147
8
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We attended a Murder Mystery Dinner and stayed overnight with breakfast in July 2014. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They volunteered to extend out checkout time when they realised we were having a precious night away from 2 small children (the bliss of a lie in!) and didn't bat an eyelid when we turned up for a cooked breakfast at 10:29 (breakfast finished at 10:30).

The food was good and they catered very well for my husband's very individual dietary requirements.

The decor is a little interesting (think black chandeliers and pink plastic - hence 4 stars rather than 5!) but overall that didn't detract from a lovely visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

From check in to check out, friendly helpful staff. My room was clean and of a good size, as it was quite hot it was great to have windows that open fully and they provided a fan (although a little noisy) the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in in ages. Food looked good but I are else where in the evening as arranged previously, however if breakfast was anything to go buy then it would have been excellent, great quality ingredients, hot and nicely cooked. All in all a pleasurable stay and I would recommend stopping here in fact I am looking forward to booking here again myself very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Glad to only have had lunch in the pub, poor service and even poorer management reaction when we complained. We were very happy during past visits, but will not return after our last experience. Not very pleasant to eat from sticky tables wilth last night's beer spills - even worse to eat rocker salad with infused with sand!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here for our 3 year anniversary and the extra effort the staff went to was amazing. We felt so welcome. The room was fantastic, it looked amazing send we were so impressed with all the little extras, the anniversary card, the heart confetti and the big pink bow was brilliant, The Gold room was amazing, I would recommend. All the little features around the hotel made it stand out and made us smile. The service was exceptional, they couldn't do enough for us. The food was just as good as the service. The fold looked great, was cooked perfectly. We will be visiting again and I suggest you do to.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the feature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is in a tradtional pub and quaint is the best way to describe it. On the upside the rooms are decorated in unique ways, the bed and furniture was comfortable, and the breakfast was good. The negatives are mainly to do with the cost. First of all I was assesed a stiff fee for an early check in (arrived by taxi from heathrow and didn't have any other option). Secondly, while paying a substantial rate (nearly twice that of some other, much more comfortable UK hotels I stayed at later in my trip), I still had to pay extra for breakfast. The internet service was also unreliable and the heat in the room was either on full blast or not at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Delightful. Rooms are comfortable (great showers by the way). Contemporary styling means highlights the history and heritage of the original inn - rather than destroys it.
Really enjoyed the selection of local ales and beers.
We had a truly enjoyable meal out side in the glorious evening sun.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.