We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Inn

Save Saved
You added The Bull Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Barton Mills
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Marvellous destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We meet friends at the olde bull every few months for Sunday Lunch. This place is a consistent delight. A lovely informal atmosphere combined with real attention to detail compliments the simply fantastic food.

The chef evidently has picked excellent local suppliers and he, quite rightly, feels no need to use trickery in his menu. Beautiful ingredients which are just perfectly prepared and presented.

The service is faultless and they have the measure of their guests just right.

This is no "fun pub" so, as earlier reviewers have written, its really not the place to bring grumpy babies or very young restless children - which makes it even more of a delight for those of us who have moved on from having to find places that serve "nuggets for nippers".

This place is thoroughly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    54
    21
    8
    14
See reviews for
40
130
8
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We just stayed the one night midweek, and had a lovely themed room with a fantastic dinner. Everything about this Inn exudes quality. Not only were the dinners and breakfasts of the highest quality, but also our bedrooms was lavishly decorated with a large double bed (big enough for three), a double bath with rain shower and top quality toileteries. The only thing missing was the Ménage à trois ;-)

Initially we felt the list prices were a little expensive, but our Dinner B&B package seemed more reasonable. There was a little noise from the nearby A11 at night, but this didn’t really affect us.

Room Tip: Breakfast is an extra, and dinners are expensive, so call direct and negotiate a Dinner, B&B rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We found the Olde Bull Inn by accident three years ago and whenever we are in the area we will pop in for an evening meal or lunch.

The bar is 'olde pub' style and the staff are friendly and attentive. The restaurant is superb - great wines and the most superb food. The staff are always professional and attentive.

We have not experienced any problems and from our limited experience of Cheryl and Sonia we are sure any problems would be sorted. We are both vegetarian and the Staff go out of their way to ensure that we have a meal that we are happy with and will enjoy and indeed, in the past, the Chef has even come out to discuss with us what we would like.

The words that come tomind when I think of the Olde Bull Inn are RELAXING, COMFORTABLE, CLEAN and PROFESSIONAL.

We have not stayed yet but would love to. Re the earlier review re the crying baby - I would be pretty cheesed off listeninig to a baby crying whilst I was trying to relax and would much prefer parents did exactly as was suggested and occupy baby rather than leaving it crying and annoying other customers.

We visited at the weekend after a three week holiday at a hotel in North Wales and the level of training and the service to customers at the Olde Bull Inn was so good to see after some pretty awful service in Wales.

Cheryl and Sonia, you have a fantastic place - keep up the good work

Room Tip: Sorry, we have not stayed but if the rooms are as good as the rest of the hotel I am sure they are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our first visit to the Bull and we certainly weren't disappointed! The food was fabulous and the evenings entertainment was excellent - the murder mystersy characters were really funny.

Most importantly I need to mention the staff; they were attentive, happy, caring and nothing was too much trouble. Every single member of staff looked after us from the first time I emailed the hotel for further information (they emailed straight back), to the time we left when they had been kind enough to order our taxi for us. The bar staff were fab (bringing everything to the table for us) and the meal was delivered with a smile.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: (We didn't sleep over, sadly. Maybe next time).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights on business with long days working nearby. Nice place to come back to in the evening as bar has a "local pub" atmosphere rather than the sterile type of many hotels. Alongside this is a great range of real ales and good choice of well prepared and tasty food, served promptly. The room was very clean and nicely, even stylishly, appointed. Large comfortable bed; good power shower. Only small downsides are late start for breakfast (7.30) and bedrooms could be more sound-proofed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

After a long day Repping, It was comforting to hear Cheryl's voice confirming there was a "bed" for the night.

A pint of Adnam's finest with Sea bass off the specials and it was time to take in the banter. Sat listening to the Americans chat to the locals always brings a smile to my face.

Room 15 this time and Wow what a bed. Warm, inviting and well furnished, it was hard to go drag myself back downstairs.

Wayne's usually about for a quick catch up on the latest project he's working on.

Local produce for Breakfast completes my stay as I flick through my diary to see when's the earliest I can return.

I enjoy working this part of the country and stay here whenever possible. If you want a Boutique Hotel with a sprinkle of Magic then this is the one.
There's nothing old about the service from this Excellant team.

I look forward to room 3,5,7.........

Best Wishes

Rob

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Myself and my Partner visited Sat 22 september with a couple of Friends,had a few drinks and a fantastic meal,the steaks a highly recommended by the 4 of us ,oh and i liked the photo of Elvis Presley they had in the bar,gave it a vintage feel...nice

Room Tip: didnt stay ,just there for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.