We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, a 3.5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
910 W Olive Ave, Porterville, CA 93257-3112
559-784-3648
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 83 restaurants in Porterville
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Really, a 3.5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had the Western Burger and it was delicious. My parents had the meatloaf and chicken fried steak. Both were decent but WAY too much gravy on both which took a lot away from the meal. (Ate at a different Black Bear Diner today, had gravy on the side and the meal was much better so ask for Gravy on the side!!).

Got pies to go-- Lava cake was very very dry and I threw half of it out. The strawberry short cake was delicious. The Chocolate pudding/cream pie was decent.

The wait staff was very very good. As described, the portions are very generous (my father left "full" and that NEVER happens). The price was pretty good for the portion size. I thought the decor was cute.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    6
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This restaurant serves very good comfort food at reasonable, if not low, prices given very large serving sizes. The meatloaf was very good with two large pieces, each of which would have been enough by itself. The corn bread and mixed vegetables were good and more reasonable single serving sizes. It's no surprise people were leaving with doggie bags.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Above average food and service. Went for breakfast. Large portions and coffee cup never empty. Family atmosphere. Definitely a good choice when taking kids and grandkids out to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is good for the value. My husband's steak was cooked perfectly - medium rare. Mine was supposed to be the same, but it was overcooked. Veggies were also overcooked. The service was great. I would return, but don't order the steaks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“They Have Great Pies Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Always had great service and great food at this Black Bear. But they have the only pie crust I have ever liked. The pies in Tulare are good but the crust is not as good as in Porterville. I wish the baker would share there secret with all the Black Bears & Ryan's Place. There all great for breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 
Porterville, CA
Porterville, CA
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.