We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying Hard to Please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Porterville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Porterville to your Saves list
Motel 6 Porterville
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   935 West Morton Avenue, SR 65/Poplar North at West Olive Avenue, Porterville, CA 93257   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Trying Hard to Please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This location shows its age to some extent. Carpet stains and could use a little paint. HOWEVER, the price is right, staff excel at customer service and the place is quiet after 10:00 in the evening. I did not ever feel unsafe. Their is diversity in the occupants. So what? This is 2013. If you don't like it you need to take a time machine back to the 50s. It is apparent management is fixing past issues. I would stay here next time in town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
6
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at better Motel 6s. The shower needs to be updated badly. There was no soap to wash your hands. Only one set of towels in the bathroom. You do get what you pay for. The people are friendly, easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The motel perfectly reflects the brand image: for a good rate you get a room of sufficient size furnished with the classic Motel 6 furniture, if you need a fridge and microwave or the wi fi connection you can get it for an acceptable additional fee. The young lady on duty both at my check in and check out time was kind and professional. The location is definitely convenient, a couple of minutes by car from the main street in downtown and just a few hundred yards from a Hwy 65 exit. As soon as I entered my room I feared this proximity could be bothersome but at night time there wasn't any particolar problem dealing with the noise. Why this Motel 6 achieves in my overall rating a "poor" grade only instead of a deserved "average" one? Because, despite the room was clean, I found in the shower tray a long dark hair. It may happen, it doesn't necessarily means that the it hadn't been cleaned, it might simply belong to the person who did the room but I reckon that a double check would be mandatory. Would I stay at the Motel 6 Porterville again? Probably yes. Could I recommend it? Yes, just have a good look at the whole room first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
497 reviews 497 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a very basic Motel 6, an older one it seems. There are lots of rooms. Queen bed was a little lumpy. Bathroom with shower. AC was blasting cold air on arrival. Loud unit. There is lots of parking for trucks in the back. It was pretty inexpensive, even for a M6, but I would not reccomend it here. Its a cheap room if you are in the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

After a long trip from Oakland we were searching for a relatively cheap and clean Motel in Porterville.First we went to the two better motels in town but because of the high price we went to the cheaper motels.From the cheaper motels Motel6 was the best anyway,the room was clean and the staff friendly.Recommendable for an economic stay.If you really think this motel is dirty take a look at the other cheap motels in town,believe me you`d be glad to stay at motel6.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allinge, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Arriving late, we were happy to find a cheap ($50 for four people) place to stay for one night.

Service was friendly and quick.

The room seemed small and the beds not very good. One kids complained that the blanket was "icky".

In the morning (daylight) we saw a bugger on the wall and under the beds lay snacks from several earlier stays (peanuts and pretzels to name a few).

Spend another 10 or 20 dollars and get a clean room somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Well ,my spouse has family there so why anybody would want to live live there is beyond me! stayed at other motels in Portervile and sad to say it was one of the better motels ..OMG cant believe I said that!! We Frequently visited there (not by my choice) yes it is infested with Tweekers but thats Porterville for you believe me !!! spent eight years visiting that sad city and they do flock to the motels . We even got a room with the broken Tv and they still charged us a regular rate! But no where else to go!!! Never took my kids there. .Left them in LA ...(much safer.).lol..lol. Once we stayed at the Hotel across that street was worse! This is more a truckers stop motel not for families!!! Advice: Keep driving a few more miles....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Lacks maintenance!!!! in every aspect
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Porterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Porterville

Address: 935 West Morton Avenue, SR 65/Poplar North at West Olive Avenue, Porterville, CA 93257
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Porterville 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Porterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porterville Motel Six
Porterville Motel 6
Motel Six Porterville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Porterville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.