We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place but has some issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 West Montgomery Avenue, Porterville, CA 93257   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
Tollhouse
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent place but has some issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

The room was clean and in good repair. However one annoying thing was that the room A/C seems to have a minimum temp limit pre set because the room never got "cool". Kind of annoying when it's the hottest day of the year. The OnDemand TV was a pain. For some reason it wouldn't let us order from the TV. We called the desk and he said he'd check and get back to us but never did. We had dinner and then tried again. TV said the movie was unavailable until 8:35pm (I guess only one room can watch it at a time) We tried to order it then and had the same problem as earlier. We called the desk again and they finally fixed the problem. The picture quality was horrible but we paid $13 anyway. The hallways were unbearable hot. I took the kids down to the pool about 6pm and the pool area was a mess. I realize it had been recently used, but there was no excuse for the mess there ie, crackers all over the deck, over flowing trash cans complete with dirty diapers, newspapers flying about. Aside from that the grounds were nicely manicured and clean. The free breakfast was standard and typical, but I have no complaints. There was an attendant that kept things neat and tidy. There is a Denny's right next door and several fast food places very close by.
Bottom line is a nice clean room with some minor issues.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    34
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
27
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

I stayed here to be near friends for a wedding toward the end of April. It was a toss up between the Best Western and the Holiday Inn Express, which is practically next door, and I'm sure they're very similar. I was pleasantly surprised that the room wasn't outdated, and was quite clean. The bathroom definitely exceeded my expectations, but the free little amenities did not - no lotion and the weather was horrendously dry. Nice showerhead, good temperature and good pressure. The prison-grade toilet paper wasn't great. I did walk down the hall in the morning to sample the free breakfast, and it was a starch-fest; cereal, toast, muffins, danish, and the waffle-maker. There were some apples in a basket, but i could see a few were rotting, so I avoided them. When I arrived, the batter for the waffle-maker was out, and it took about 15 minutes for someone to come back with more. Check in and check-out were a breeze, but I really hate that the website gives you a rate and them mentions something vague about specific taxes being charged at the hotel, so the online rate doesn't match the real rate by nearly $10. I booked the no cancellation, pre-paid rate, and the grand total was right at $100. Really, probably too much for this area, but it was clean and I felt safe. If I ever ended up in Porterville again, I would be happy to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBWPI, manager at BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2009
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. This information will be reviewed carefully to see where changes will be made, if necessary. We do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We have spent 3 nights on 2 occasions during the month of April and did not have any problem with the staff or the room quality. We did experience problems with other guests and the excessive noise that they made in the middle of the night between 11PM and 5AM (loud talking and door slamming). The hotel was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The grounds were well maintained with lots of roses and bougainnvillea. The included breakfast consists of fresh fruit, rolls, waffles, oatmeal or cold cereal and was very good. The lobby had fresh apples and cookies in the evening. There is a peculiarity about security the begins in the evening. The only way guest can speak (face to face) with the staff is though a security window in the front of the building. The pool is slightly heated and the spa is warm and moderately jetted. Personal services are available for hair, nails or massage by appointment. Wi-fi access was free and I did not experience any access problems.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBWPI, manager at BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2009
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated. The disturbance caused by other guests is always a matter of concern. When notified, we take steps to end the disturbance as soon as possible. We take care of our landscape, we get many compliments on the beauty of our flowers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

This is a clean, pleasant place to stay. the front desk folks are warm and helpful.

It is so good to have a computer available. The breakfast is fine with waffle and a person who keeps the place clean as a whistle.

For me, the bed was too soft, but that is just my personal preference.

I stay here whenever I come to Porterville.

  • Liked — front desk , cleanliness
  • Disliked — soft bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

Stayed one night here for business in July 2006. Accomodations are relatively limited in Porterville. The Best Western is the best of the bunch. This hotel is frequented by staff of the US Forest Service and California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection as it is the closest hotel to the nearby national and state forests.

Nothing spectacular about this place. It is a typical chain hotel with average amenities and services. The room A/C worked well as it was in the 110's outside. Though the complementary breakfast buffet was not that great, the hotel provides good value.

  • Liked — The room A/C worked like a charm!
  • Disliked — The complimentary breakfast was not that great.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmbwport, Manager at BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2008
We appreciate your response. We have just recently been made aware about the TripAdvisor and the reviews from travelers. So, the reviews, however old, are new to us. On the breakfast side, we have added boiled eggs, and of course, we offer the hot waffles plus various other items such as danish roll, muffins, frest fruits, cereals, oatmeal, milk (2% and Not Fat) coffee, and various flavored tea. We invited to check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

We made a reservation for two rooms for a Saturday night. Our friends tried to check into one of the rooms, and the hotel staff said my reservation was only for one room. They would be happy to give them that room, but could not guarantee my room if they took it. They told us, I called the hotel. Then they said it WAS for two rooms! I asked them why they turned my friends away, they denied it all, got argumentative with me and rude. I told them I was not paying for the second room since my friends found another place down the road. We checked in and then the rate was higher and they refused to accept my confirmed reservation quote! She even pulled out a chart to show me how wrong I was. (I have the hard copy with the correct rate). When we arrived at our destination event, we were told by the locals that the staff has always been rude and uncooperative and we should have stayed somewhere else. They refused to send people there for this reason.
The next morning, the water shut off during my husband's shower. I called the desk and they agreed the water was off, with expected turn on time of 1 1/2 hours! I told them it was unacceptable. They turned it back on. When I checked out, I overheard housekeeping confirming she had called everyone to report the water would be off at noon (it was off at 11:00 a.m.) and they never called us! Staff was unresponsive, offered no discount for the trouble, and the night staff was rude.
I worked for a Best Western for four years and never treated guests like this. I will not go back. I will settle for a less nice room to be treated better.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porterville hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

I live in porterville and compared to the other motels, this one is Paradise.

Stayed February 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn

Address: 350 West Montgomery Avenue, Porterville, CA 93257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and inviting staff welcomes you at the BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn. Experience small town hospitality and charm where the local scenery and beauty will captivate you and invite your senses to awake with pine trees and fresh country air. The possibilities of adventure and relaxation will draw you in with a short drive to Sequoia National Park and Yosemite National Park. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn is located in the heart of Porterville with easy access to everything. We are less than a half mile from Porterville College and Downtown Porterville. The McDermont Field House and Porterville Municipal Airport is just a few minutes away. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn provides both business and leisure travelers a comfortable and pleasant experience. By providing an unsurpassed degree of service, we are dedicated to ensuring our guests the utmost level of comfort. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn is a quaint hotel with all the comforts of your home away from home.For an intimate setting, guests can enjoy breakfast each morning in the casual ambiance of our breakfast room. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn offers an extended continental breakfast with an abundant variety of fresh items along with "make your own Belgian waffles." Guest can also enjoy the 24-Hour Denny's Restaurant on site. Guests can relax in our outdoor pool, whirlpool, and sun deck. All of our guest rooms feature full granite showers and vanities, television with pay-per-view movies, Nintendo, extended cable channels, and complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, private voicemail, hair dryer, coffee and tea service, and iron and ironing boards. Our new signature bedding includes triple sheet bedding, pillow tops, feather pillows, and soft duvets. Ample parking is always complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Porterville Hotel Porterville
Porterville Best Western
Best Western Porterville Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.