We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am not sure what the Plus stands for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bookmark
You added BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 West Montgomery Avenue, Porterville, CA 93257   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
Fort Gibson, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I am not sure what the Plus stands for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

It was average. The rooms are updated with a more cosmopolitan look that seems to be the trend. The bed was real low for some reason, but comfortable with lots of pillows and I slept well.
Bathroom clean, no funky odors, and all the electronics worked. Check in was painless and fast when we were exhausted and ready to crash, that was a plus I guess.
Breakfast in the morning: there needs to be a sign, "Get your ammenaties and take to a table". People hovering around the coffee station or toast area is so annoying, get the cream and sugar and move on. So that would be my only suggestion, otherwise, clean. The TV was playing Law and Order early on a Sunday Morning. Kind of a downer trying to eat while listening to a dog just got killed in a dog fighting ring and there was an attendant there. Perhaps policy should be to have some kind of pleasant morning show on for all to enjoy.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: Stay in an inside room. The east room has the hot sun pouring in early and there is road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    34
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
27
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We came here after a day in Sequoia. We were able ring up and reserve a room for that night, which was really good. The hotel itself had a lovely lobby area. Our room was ok - fairly standard for the brand. The staff were really helpful, especially in telling us where to eat. We also enjoyed the hot tub, though it could have done with a clean out as there were a number of leaves in it. Breakfast was fairly good too.

All in all, a perfect stop-over hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado & Mongolia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband & I stayed here several nights in Feb. The staff here are great--very friendly and helpful. The room & bathroom were very clean, though the hotel itself is a bit tired; but hey, it's Porterville :). The outdoor hot tub was up and running and the pool area was well kept. Breakfast was OK; again, as expected. We appreciated the fridge, micro and free internet. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I make frequent business trips to the San Joaquin Valley, and have always stayed in the towns along Hwy 99. On this trip I decided to check out Porterville lodging, about 15 miles west of 99. I was pleased to find this Best Western at a reasonable price. I was greeted by a gas fireplace in the lobby. The place has the ambience of a slightly dated but clean and comfortable resort. The outdoor pool and spa occupy a large courtyard. Room was fairly clean, just a little dust in the corners, with large abstract paintings on the walls, and fully furnished with fridge and microwave. Hot breakfast included sausage and eggs. Porterville is nestled at the base of the Sierra foothills. Don't miss the drive west on Rt 190, with orange groves and spectacular views of the High Sierras just 15 minutes away. Watch your directions carefully, as the motel access from 190 is a little tricky. The inn is located in a business park with some truck traffic from a Walmart distribution center, but noise wasn't a problem with a courtyard facing room. My only gripe was a mistaken wake-up call (too early), but this gave me a little time to explore the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room and AAA rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

A simple & quiet area , with a few eating places just blocks away . An average continental breakfast . Decent room & large bathroom . I travel alone so I cannot comment on other types of rooms . Grounds is ok , hotel located at end of street off state hwy . A little that that late night check-in is through a teller type window with thick glass . Used to face to face check-in . Makes you wonder about the area . Would stay there again , I had no problems .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Being based in Australia it is difficult for me to find a suitable time to phone hotels in the US and in this particular case I needed to forward booking details. So it's 2012 and as email is fairly well established (!!) it was the obvious first choice method to communicate with Best Western Plus Porterville.

I've now sent FOUR emails, the first on 5 January (minutes after making an error with my booking) and have still not received a reply (it's now 20 Jan). This will be my first visit to California; it's not looking good.

If the GM of Best Western Plus Porterville is reading this ... check your EMAILS!!!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porterville hotels

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My elderly parents live in Porterville, so we visit there regularly. There are 2 decent places to stay: the Best Western and the Holiday Inn Express. Both are relatively new and include a do-it-yourself continental-plus breakfast. Clean, big room. Shower head non-adjustable; awful for short folks.

Room Tip: We had the room right by the breakfast bar. WAY noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn

Address: 350 West Montgomery Avenue, Porterville, CA 93257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and inviting staff welcomes you at the BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn. Experience small town hospitality and charm where the local scenery and beauty will captivate you and invite your senses to awake with pine trees and fresh country air. The possibilities of adventure and relaxation will draw you in with a short drive to Sequoia National Park and Yosemite National Park. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn is located in the heart of Porterville with easy access to everything. We are less than a half mile from Porterville College and Downtown Porterville. The McDermont Field House and Porterville Municipal Airport is just a few minutes away. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn provides both business and leisure travelers a comfortable and pleasant experience. By providing an unsurpassed degree of service, we are dedicated to ensuring our guests the utmost level of comfort. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn is a quaint hotel with all the comforts of your home away from home.For an intimate setting, guests can enjoy breakfast each morning in the casual ambiance of our breakfast room. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn offers an extended continental breakfast with an abundant variety of fresh items along with "make your own Belgian waffles." Guest can also enjoy the 24-Hour Denny's Restaurant on site. Guests can relax in our outdoor pool, whirlpool, and sun deck. All of our guest rooms feature full granite showers and vanities, television with pay-per-view movies, Nintendo, extended cable channels, and complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, private voicemail, hair dryer, coffee and tea service, and iron and ironing boards. Our new signature bedding includes triple sheet bedding, pillow tops, feather pillows, and soft duvets. Ample parking is always complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Porterville Hotel Porterville
Porterville Best Western
Best Western Porterville Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.