We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took $500, wouldnt stay again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
St. George, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Took $500, wouldnt stay again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Its a shame you have to warn others about hotels making money by making reasons to charge them.
I had stayed 2 separate nights, but before telling me they charged me $250 for a smoking fee the night before (which we hadn't!) they gladly checked me in for another night AND DID IT AGAIN! Claiming they had to change curtains and clean carpets?? I said is this a joke where is the proof? Instead the manager had to call me back (because the front desk is untrained in handling situations..) Only to find out the Indian owner only knows how to tell me about taking him to the credit card company if I want my money back... Don't get me wrong, clean place and all BUT DONT GET SCAMMED! They have no obligation to give you a reason or money back...

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest, We are sorry that you do not agree with the way this situation was handled by us here at the hotel. Upon check-out we did find that smoking did occur in both rooms on both nights that you and your guest stayed with us. We do stand by our NON-SMOKING policy, hence we had to charge our $250 cleaning fees per room as we did utilize the funds to professionally clean the carpet, take curtains to dry cleaners, deep clean the room and above all we could not rent the rooms for 2 nights resulting in lost revenue for us. At the time of check in we do ask the guest to acknowledge the policy by getting the guest's initials which we did get it from you too. We do respect our customers expectations of our hotel being a NON-SMOKING hotel and we guarantee the same.
thank you,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
20
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a nice stay here, clean hotel, great customer service, comfortable bed! Decent continental breakfast. Has a pool and a Hot tub which was very hot! Stayed in King Suite, roomy, kids slept on Sofa bed. Free daily paper and HBO is included

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Guest Benjamin L,
Thank you for such a wonderful review and for taking the time out of your day to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a handful of the amenities that we offer. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Didn't have much contact with staff, except when he never called when the room was ready....but he did get a bit busy, since he was the only clerk. Breakfast was so so, the usual. The pool was VERY clean, but a little small. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: 1st floor was easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Guest DeluxeBike,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry for the few items that didn't quit live up to your expectations. We will be discussing the phone call issue will all of our front desk staff. We look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here with a group of ladies while in the area at a conference. Everything was clean and all our needs were met. THe beds are a bit hard, a fact we all agreed upon. Breakfast was the usual fair and kept well stocked. Was surprised at the need to show our room key cover in the breakfast room there must be a better way for them to filter out the free loaders.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Guest Minomaz,
Thank you for you review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also thank you for your opinion in regards to the presenting the key holder at breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A nice hotel with helpful staff . It has a complementary (although) basic breakfast. Nice pool that was great to have a swim in after a day of sightseeing. Well priced. It is a hike to Sequoia (an hour to the gate then another hour up the hill) but we couldn't find anywhere closer. All in all very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Guest Siena,
Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our top priority to make our guest feel welcomed and be as helpful as we can. We look forward to future visits. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed only one night between visiting Giant Sequoia National Monument and Sequoia National Park. We enjoyed a clean, spacious room with a sitting area on the third floor. The mattress was comfortable, and the room was quiet except for some pigeons nesting outside our window above the lobby entrance canopy. The Wi-Fi signal coverage was good. The complimentary breakfast area was large, well-staffed and provided an adequate selection of items. When asked, the front desk staff was helpful in providing a map showing the location of groceries and nearby restaurants. We enjoyed the Black Bear Diner. If again in the area, we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor rooms above lobby entrance canopy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Guest Wcsail,
Thank you for such a detailed review and for taking the time out of your day to let us know what you. We are in the process of taking care of the pigeons that you mentioned, but we are otherwise please that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad you were able to enjoy some of the things that we offer such as the breakfast and the pool. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you and have a safe trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a short, one night, stay for my husband's 50th high school reunion. The room was ready and clean when we arrived. It was very convenient for the places we needed to go. The front desk manager even gave us a choice of floors from which to choose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Guest Caroldunbar,
Thank you so such a kind review, and for taking the time to write that. It is always our goal to leave the best impression possible and make your stay as memorable as possible. We look forward to having you guys stay with us again on your next trip. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Address: 840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, CA. A warm and friendly staff awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, California. We are minutes away from Lake Success and Eagle Mountain Casino. Our prime location will put you with in minutes of famous attractions such as the Sequoia National Forest, Kings Canyon National Park and California Hot Springs. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar, served every morning, complete with our Signature Cinnamon Rolls. Hotel features include: an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, business center, fitness center, complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the entire hotel. All of our spacious guest rooms have 32' flat screen TVs, ultra comfy pillow top mattresses, convenient desk space, microwaves and refrigerators. Visit Porterville, CA and Stay Smart at The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Porterville
Holiday Inn Porterville
Porterville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Porterville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.