We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfortable Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Porterville
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean Comfortable Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A nice hotel with helpful staff . It has a complementary (although) basic breakfast. Nice pool that was great to have a swim in after a day of sightseeing. Well priced. It is a hike to Sequoia (an hour to the gate then another hour up the hill) but we couldn't find anywhere closer. All in all very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Guest Siena,
Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our top priority to make our guest feel welcomed and be as helpful as we can. We look forward to future visits. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
14
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed only one night between visiting Giant Sequoia National Monument and Sequoia National Park. We enjoyed a clean, spacious room with a sitting area on the third floor. The mattress was comfortable, and the room was quiet except for some pigeons nesting outside our window above the lobby entrance canopy. The Wi-Fi signal coverage was good. The complimentary breakfast area was large, well-staffed and provided an adequate selection of items. When asked, the front desk staff was helpful in providing a map showing the location of groceries and nearby restaurants. We enjoyed the Black Bear Diner. If again in the area, we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor rooms above lobby entrance canopy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Guest Wcsail,
Thank you for such a detailed review and for taking the time out of your day to let us know what you. We are in the process of taking care of the pigeons that you mentioned, but we are otherwise please that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad you were able to enjoy some of the things that we offer such as the breakfast and the pool. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you and have a safe trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a short, one night, stay for my husband's 50th high school reunion. The room was ready and clean when we arrived. It was very convenient for the places we needed to go. The front desk manager even gave us a choice of floors from which to choose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Guest Caroldunbar,
Thank you so such a kind review, and for taking the time to write that. It is always our goal to leave the best impression possible and make your stay as memorable as possible. We look forward to having you guys stay with us again on your next trip. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On a recent trip to Sequoia, we stayed at this HIE. It's about an hour from the park, and seems very new.

The lobby is small, but check-in/out was efficient. The room seems clean, and new. Bed wasn't best, but ok.

I had early breakfast, and food was good by HIE standards. The service lady was friendly.

Overall, nothing to complain about for a quick one-night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Guest Palladia,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review for your stay. We are glad that you were pleased with your room as well as your breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. It is your basic hotel with a basic room nothing fancy. It was suitable for our family. We didn't have maid service the whole time that we were there until one morning we went down to breakfast and the maid came while we were gone. I had my wallet sitting out and it disappeared. Thank goodness that my son went to the room to use the bathroom or else we might have been cleaned out. She ran out of there and left her rag behind. We spoke to the front desk later in the day when we realized that it was gone and the man didn't even look to see if it was gone he automatically said no. Several other attempts were made to inquire about the wallet and we got no help. We said it could have been an accident and it got picked up in a towel or thrown away still the only answer that we got was that she had been there since they opened and that there is no way that she could have done anything. I had a lot of valuables in there and pictures of my kids. It just sucks that this happened and that they don't take it seriously. Come to find out the front desk attendant that night was the Hotel manager. I would not recommend this hotel at all because of the simple fact that the hotel manager does not value his customers and that his maids can come in and steal anything that they want. If you stay here just take your belongings with you every time that you leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I do apologize for the incident that occurred at our hotel at the time of your stay. Though nothing like this has ever happened at our hotel since we have opened, we take any accusations like this from any guest very seriously. We have thoroughly investigated this incident with all concerned, however nothing has turned up. Please note, we left no corners while looking for the missing wallet once the issue was reported while you were here (whether be it checking the laundry, thoroughly checking the room once you checked out and talking to each and individual housekeepers regarding the missing wallet). We assure you and all our guests that we will do everything in our power to ensure safety and security for our guests and their belongings. I assure you personally that i have done everything in my ability to resolve this matter but unfortunately nothing has turned up, i hope you and all other guests would not hold this incident against us as we try to ensure our guests safety and to provide over the top customer service that our guests deserve.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Holiday Inn Express has the right formula for the hotel/motel traveler. The Porterville, CA franchise was another in a series of good experiences with Holiday Inn Express.

The room was clean and nicely appointed. The layout is roomier than most competitors. The beds and pillows are first rate for comfort - especially the pillows. The third floor was quiet. (I saw another review that complained bitterly about noise. I think that complaint is unfounded.)

There is a Sharp Aquos HD TV (good picture quality), large mini-refrigerator and microwave. The Wi-fi is fast.

The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is the breakfast wasn't as good as other Holiday Inn Express locations. Coffee was weak and tepid. The eggs were rubbery. This is easily fixable by routine managerial inspection to ensure quality standards.

Overall a very positive experience with an emphasis on the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Third floor south facing rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Guest Bill S,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our HD TV and HD channels that we do offer in each room, as well as a mini fridge and microwave. We looked forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Staff and management are awesome. They understand our work requirements and go above and beyond to accommodate our crew members. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. The only exception is if you get a room on the back side of property there can be some noisy truck traffic. Extended stays in Porterville are bearable due to the staff at the Holiday Inn Express. Internet is fairly quick for a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Guest BE20Jockey7,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and choose the Holiday Inn Express for your stay in town. We look forward to having your crew stay with us once again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Address: 840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, CA. A warm and friendly staff awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, California. We are minutes away from Lake Success and Eagle Mountain Casino. Our prime location will put you with in minutes of famous attractions such as the Sequoia National Forest, Kings Canyon National Park and California Hot Springs. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar, served every morning, complete with our Signature Cinnamon Rolls. Hotel features include: an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, business center, fitness center, complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the entire hotel. All of our spacious guest rooms have 32' flat screen TVs, ultra comfy pillow top mattresses, convenient desk space, microwaves and refrigerators. Visit Porterville, CA and Stay Smart at The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Porterville
Holiday Inn Porterville
Porterville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Porterville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.