We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the maids clean the room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Porterville
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't let the maids clean the room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. It is your basic hotel with a basic room nothing fancy. It was suitable for our family. We didn't have maid service the whole time that we were there until one morning we went down to breakfast and the maid came while we were gone. I had my wallet sitting out and it disappeared. Thank goodness that my son went to the room to use the bathroom or else we might have been cleaned out. She ran out of there and left her rag behind. We spoke to the front desk later in the day when we realized that it was gone and the man didn't even look to see if it was gone he automatically said no. Several other attempts were made to inquire about the wallet and we got no help. We said it could have been an accident and it got picked up in a towel or thrown away still the only answer that we got was that she had been there since they opened and that there is no way that she could have done anything. I had a lot of valuables in there and pictures of my kids. It just sucks that this happened and that they don't take it seriously. Come to find out the front desk attendant that night was the Hotel manager. I would not recommend this hotel at all because of the simple fact that the hotel manager does not value his customers and that his maids can come in and steal anything that they want. If you stay here just take your belongings with you every time that you leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I do apologize for the incident that occurred at our hotel at the time of your stay. Though nothing like this has ever happened at our hotel since we have opened, we take any accusations like this from any guest very seriously. We have thoroughly investigated this incident with all concerned, however nothing has turned up. Please note, we left no corners while looking for the missing wallet once the issue was reported while you were here (whether be it checking the laundry, thoroughly checking the room once you checked out and talking to each and individual housekeepers regarding the missing wallet). We assure you and all our guests that we will do everything in our power to ensure safety and security for our guests and their belongings. I assure you personally that i have done everything in my ability to resolve this matter but unfortunately nothing has turned up, i hope you and all other guests would not hold this incident against us as we try to ensure our guests safety and to provide over the top customer service that our guests deserve.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
14
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Holiday Inn Express has the right formula for the hotel/motel traveler. The Porterville, CA franchise was another in a series of good experiences with Holiday Inn Express.

The room was clean and nicely appointed. The layout is roomier than most competitors. The beds and pillows are first rate for comfort - especially the pillows. The third floor was quiet. (I saw another review that complained bitterly about noise. I think that complaint is unfounded.)

There is a Sharp Aquos HD TV (good picture quality), large mini-refrigerator and microwave. The Wi-fi is fast.

The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is the breakfast wasn't as good as other Holiday Inn Express locations. Coffee was weak and tepid. The eggs were rubbery. This is easily fixable by routine managerial inspection to ensure quality standards.

Overall a very positive experience with an emphasis on the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Third floor south facing rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Guest Bill S,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our HD TV and HD channels that we do offer in each room, as well as a mini fridge and microwave. We looked forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Staff and management are awesome. They understand our work requirements and go above and beyond to accommodate our crew members. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. The only exception is if you get a room on the back side of property there can be some noisy truck traffic. Extended stays in Porterville are bearable due to the staff at the Holiday Inn Express. Internet is fairly quick for a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Guest BE20Jockey7,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and choose the Holiday Inn Express for your stay in town. We look forward to having your crew stay with us once again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is a nice, apparently relatively new facility. Our room was nicely furnished. And the room rate was very reasonable, particularly considering the location near Sequoia and Kings Canyon national parks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear CFH_NOLA,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here for a friends' wedding... loved that food places were all in walking distance. Beds were great and love the firm and soft pillow options. Front desk were very helpful, no matter what time of the evening or level of intoxication (we stayed there after the reception). Breakfast was a little disappointing, the pancake machine kept failing, and was waiting on eggs for a while, but really can't complain because I got a breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear EM2009,
We are sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the pancakes. We will be sure to look into that and take care of that issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love this property. Great value, VERY clean room and public areas and friendly, attentive staff. It is 100% smoke free in all rooms and public areas. The breakfast area is replenished constantly during open hours and tables are cleaned as soon as someone leaves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear GBAL,
We are glad to hear that enjoyed your stay at the HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS PORTERVILLE. We look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

"I" ....

WARNING!!!!!
"IF" you happen to be a light sleeper you may want to keep looking!!!
Trip reviews did NOT mention a train LITERALLY next to the hotel building :/ The NOISE & VIBRATION in the room feels like you can stick your arm out of the window & touch it! Very annoying not to mention enormously distracting!

I have tried everything!!!
Sleeping under the covers, placing the bed pillows on top of my ears, attempting to drain out the train rattling & vibration by increasing the t.v. volume. You name it I have tried it ....to NO AVAIL :(

If you have NO choice due to the limited accommodations in this area bring EFFECTIVE earplugs IF NOT you too will feel the NEED to pull your hair OUT!!!! Not fun!

The service here is BEYOND excellent!
NOW-I comprehend why!

Verdict:
If you can sleep through a tornado this place is GREAT if you wake up with a fly buzzing the room think twice!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear billionsandnocure,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I sincerely apologize apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Porterville
Holiday Inn Porterville
Porterville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Porterville
Address: 840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, CA. A warm and friendly staff awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, California. We are minutes away from Lake Success and Eagle Mountain Casino. Our prime location will put you with in minutes of famous attractions such as the Sequoia National Forest, Kings Canyon National Park and California Hot Springs. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar, served every morning, complete with our Signature Cinnamon Rolls. Hotel features include: an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, business center, fitness center, complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the entire hotel. All of our spacious guest rooms have 32' flat screen TVs, ultra comfy pillow top mattresses, convenient desk space, microwaves and refrigerators. Visit Porterville, CA and Stay Smart at The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.