We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal in Porterville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good deal in Porterville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is a nice, apparently relatively new facility. Our room was nicely furnished. And the room rate was very reasonable, particularly considering the location near Sequoia and Kings Canyon national parks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear CFH_NOLA,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
22
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here for a friends' wedding... loved that food places were all in walking distance. Beds were great and love the firm and soft pillow options. Front desk were very helpful, no matter what time of the evening or level of intoxication (we stayed there after the reception). Breakfast was a little disappointing, the pancake machine kept failing, and was waiting on eggs for a while, but really can't complain because I got a breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear EM2009,
We are sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the pancakes. We will be sure to look into that and take care of that issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love this property. Great value, VERY clean room and public areas and friendly, attentive staff. It is 100% smoke free in all rooms and public areas. The breakfast area is replenished constantly during open hours and tables are cleaned as soon as someone leaves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear GBAL,
We are glad to hear that enjoyed your stay at the HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS PORTERVILLE. We look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

"I" ....

WARNING!!!!!
"IF" you happen to be a light sleeper you may want to keep looking!!!
Trip reviews did NOT mention a train LITERALLY next to the hotel building :/ The NOISE & VIBRATION in the room feels like you can stick your arm out of the window & touch it! Very annoying not to mention enormously distracting!

I have tried everything!!!
Sleeping under the covers, placing the bed pillows on top of my ears, attempting to drain out the train rattling & vibration by increasing the t.v. volume. You name it I have tried it ....to NO AVAIL :(

If you have NO choice due to the limited accommodations in this area bring EFFECTIVE earplugs IF NOT you too will feel the NEED to pull your hair OUT!!!! Not fun!

The service here is BEYOND excellent!
NOW-I comprehend why!

Verdict:
If you can sleep through a tornado this place is GREAT if you wake up with a fly buzzing the room think twice!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear billionsandnocure,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I sincerely apologize apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Second time to this area, the previous year I had stayed at the Best Western next door and this was a night and day difference. Holiday Inn had locking security doors that actually had the latches installed, breakfast was more than just cold cereal and fruit, room was clean and well kept, the whole place had the feel that the staff actually cared about the business

Room Tip: stayed on top floor far from elevator and it was extremely quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear BILL S,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the complimentary breakfast. We look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Between the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general, and the complimentary breakfast, this hotel will be my go-to choice on the rare occasions I have business in the Porterville area. My stay here was also a first at a Holiday Inn Express, anywhere. So thanks to them and the impression they made with me, I now look to HIEs first when having to travel for business purposes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adjasj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to leave the best impression and make your stay memorable. We have Holiday Inn Express hotels all over the world so you shouldn't have a problem finding us. Thank you again for your comments and your stay. Travel Safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was a very nice and clean hotel. We came to Porterville for a family member's wedding and it was the closest to the event. Right off of 190 so you can't miss it. We liked the Burger King in the parking lot for a late night snack and the market across the street for some drinks. The beds weren't the softest, but we were just there one night so it didn't really matter to us. Fresh baked cookies in the front lobby, and although we ate breakfast at the Black Bear Diner down the street, the breakfast there looked a lot better than most hotel chain breakfasts. Overall, good stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adjasj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad you were able to stay with us while celebrating with your family. We appreciate your honest review and hope you stay with us again next time you are in the area. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Address: 840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, CA. A warm and friendly staff awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, California. We are minutes away from Lake Success and Eagle Mountain Casino. Our prime location will put you with in minutes of famous attractions such as the Sequoia National Forest, Kings Canyon National Park and California Hot Springs. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar, served every morning, complete with our Signature Cinnamon Rolls. Hotel features include: an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, business center, fitness center, complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the entire hotel. All of our spacious guest rooms have 32' flat screen TVs, ultra comfy pillow top mattresses, convenient desk space, microwaves and refrigerators. Visit Porterville, CA and Stay Smart at The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Porterville
Holiday Inn Porterville
Porterville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Porterville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.