We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Porterville
Randburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stopped in Porterville on our way from Death Valley to Sequoia National Park. We arrived early evening and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was great and the bed was luxurious. The serve a great breakfast. As we were there mid week they did not seem too busy. Vicki, the lady in the dining room was very helpful with tips for our trip to Sequoia. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms seem ok. We stayed on the side where the Walmart trucks drive by and thought this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adjasj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope you enjoyed visiting the beautiful Sequoia National Park. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to give you great travel tips regarding the parks. Our staff is very lucky to have the wonder of the Sequoia National Park in our own "back yard" and always look forward to sharing the beauty. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Take care and always travel safe! Aimee Johnson - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
14
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Very nice and spacious rooms. Nice variety at breakfast and they even have a laundry room. I will always stay here.

Room Tip: I've had rooms facing the pool and facing the parking lot - both are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adjasj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate it when our guest take the time to share their experiences with us. I noticed you also reviewed a couple of our local restaurants and that is appreciated to so we can "pass on" your recommendation to our other guest. I know it takes time to write your reviews, so a Big Thank You! for taking the time to write them. We look forward to seeing you again! Take care and always travel safe.
Aimee Johnson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

clean, comfortable, friendly - appreciated the extremely clean & deluxe bathroom and the very comfortable bed. We had the free breakfast, but would skip next time as carbo-loading is not our favorite way to start the day. We ate eggs & some very greasy bacon; could not recommend if you are picky about what you eat, but the other folks in the dining room seemed to enjoy it, as did the friendly fellow in the elevator who especially mentioned the famous cinnamon rolls & the coffee. We would definitely stay there again if we were ever in need of sleeps in Porterville, but might ask for a room not facing the parking lot because of the ambient light at night.

Room Tip: If light bothers your sleep, as it does mine, be sure to bring an eye mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel about a week ago and we were so impressed with the employees and the care they took to make our stay comfortable. It was all that you could ask for in an overnight stay. They have very good size rooms, clean, courteous and a good breakfast. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the side of the WalMart freight yard where the trucks come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adjasj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We always enjoy our guest feed back and we look forward to seeing you again. Take Care and always travel safe!
Aimee Johnson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel is right off the freeway and easy access. The hotel is fairly new. Rooms are nicely decorated with new furniture, free high speed internet (wired and wireless), refrigerators, microwaves, 32" flat screen TV's, couch, very comfortable beds, plenty of lighting, good work areas for laptops, excellent free breakfast. They have a market across the street. There is a Denny's within walking distance (don't bother - it was terrible). People are very friendly. Swimming pool, etc. This is a 3 floor hotel. Fast food nearby. I was very pleased. Very clean.

Room Tip: There is only 1 elevator in the middle of the hotel. If you get a room on the end it is easy to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adjasj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you calling us "best little hotel in Porterville, CA. " That is exactly what we strive for, to be the best. I am glad that you had time to enjoy our breakfast and we hope you come see us again next time you are down our way. Take care and always travel safe!
Aimee Johnson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I had street noise as well as some neighbor noise, but the room itself was clean, and I had no problem sleeping. Good breakfast buffet with hot dishes. I was upgraded to a suite, which had a sitting area and was about 40% larger than a normal hotel room. Not worth paying for, but it was nice to have. The bathroom was large and clean. Staff was very friendly. Free parking and internet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agoura hills, ca.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

What a great surprise! Thought I might be disappointed but when arrived at this hotel it was more than what I could have expected! Newer hotel, clean, spacious, well decorated, with the most friendly staff! Breakfast was in abundance and delicious. Coffee very good! Nice the wifi is included. Parking was easy. Beds very comfortable. Room was large, with all the amenities you could want. Price was terrific. Location is perfect for visiting Porterville, or if headed to the Sequoias. This hotel changed my mind about staying at a Holiday Inn. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: had no problem on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Address: 840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, CA. A warm and friendly staff awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, California. We are minutes away from Lake Success and Eagle Mountain Casino. Our prime location will put you with in minutes of famous attractions such as the Sequoia National Forest, Kings Canyon National Park and California Hot Springs. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar, served every morning, complete with our Signature Cinnamon Rolls. Hotel features include: an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, business center, fitness center, complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the entire hotel. All of our spacious guest rooms have 32' flat screen TVs, ultra comfy pillow top mattresses, convenient desk space, microwaves and refrigerators. Visit Porterville, CA and Stay Smart at The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Porterville
Holiday Inn Porterville
Porterville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Porterville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.