We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Porterville
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“nice for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I had street noise as well as some neighbor noise, but the room itself was clean, and I had no problem sleeping. Good breakfast buffet with hot dishes. I was upgraded to a suite, which had a sitting area and was about 40% larger than a normal hotel room. Not worth paying for, but it was nice to have. The bathroom was large and clean. Staff was very friendly. Free parking and internet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
agoura hills, ca.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

What a great surprise! Thought I might be disappointed but when arrived at this hotel it was more than what I could have expected! Newer hotel, clean, spacious, well decorated, with the most friendly staff! Breakfast was in abundance and delicious. Coffee very good! Nice the wifi is included. Parking was easy. Beds very comfortable. Room was large, with all the amenities you could want. Price was terrific. Location is perfect for visiting Porterville, or if headed to the Sequoias. This hotel changed my mind about staying at a Holiday Inn. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: had no problem on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

The hotel is great, good size rooms with everything you need (fridge, coffee/thee). There are also a gym/pool/jacuzzi which are free. The hotel is next to a road, so there is some noise from cars and trucks, but it's manageable. The staff is great and very heplfull. Breakfast is amazing with all sorts of food and drinks. Only downside is the location of the hotel: Porterville. Sleeping little town with nothing more than some fastfood restaurants and cows.

We chose Porterville because it was not so far from Sequioa, but is actually was quite a drive: 1,5 hour to the entrance. So if you want to visit the parc: stay somewhere that's closer to the parc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Great place to rest on the way to the Redwoods professionally run and immaculate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

As far as the hotel itself, I have no complaints. It was clean, staff was friendly, beds were comfortable and complimentary breakfast was good. The main reason for this post is to let people know of its location. I chose this hotel because it was within driving distance of our destination, the Sequoia Ntl Park. The only reason I would not return to this hotel is because of its surroundings and not because of the hotel itself. Other than the Burger King across the street, there is NOTHING in this area. The entire area seems to be a farming town, so the smell of cattle is all we smelled while we were there. We drove to the nearby town of Visalia to eat at a nice Olive Garden. If I go to this area again, I would just save the drive time and stay in Visalia. It seemed like a fairly updated place with nice restaurants and still within 30-45 minutes from Sequoia Natl. Park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed 2 nights as part of a 19 day fly/drive vacation from the UK. We used it as a base to visit Sequoia National Park and King's Canyon (both are a must!). It had everything we needed. It's a new hotel and everything is to a high standard. Rooms, although not massive, are ideal and the hotel has a good quality fitness center, laundry facilities, a great pool and hot tub and the breakfast was very good. Only slight drawback is that there is a Walmart distribution center access road to the rear of the hotel, which can get a bit nosiey with the trucks, but personally, even though our room was to the rear, it did not bother us.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express based on Tripadvisor recommendations. What a surprise!
Even though it's in the middle of not much, the hotel was clean and delightful. I did have an issue with pigeons in the AM and when I brought the problem to the hotel's attention it was taken care of at once. The breakfast was lovely and the pool clean and inviting.
I've never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express (I'm a 4+ star traveler) however for the price and value I am putting this chain on my list. Great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
I am so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and we are honored to be praised by a 4 star traveler. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the problem with the “early birds” (pigeons), so we could take care of that for you. I hope that next time you’re in town you come see us again. Thank you again for the kind words and giving us the opportunity to make your stay a great one. Thank you! Aimee Johnson, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Address: 840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, CA. A warm and friendly staff awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, California. We are minutes away from Lake Success and Eagle Mountain Casino. Our prime location will put you with in minutes of famous attractions such as the Sequoia National Forest, Kings Canyon National Park and California Hot Springs. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar, served every morning, complete with our Signature Cinnamon Rolls. Hotel features include: an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, business center, fitness center, complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the entire hotel. All of our spacious guest rooms have 32' flat screen TVs, ultra comfy pillow top mattresses, convenient desk space, microwaves and refrigerators. Visit Porterville, CA and Stay Smart at The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Porterville
Holiday Inn Porterville
Porterville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Porterville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.