We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place for a Good Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asia Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asia Garden
895 W. Henderson Avenue, Porterville, CA
5597811669
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 96 Restaurants in Porterville
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Restaurant details
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Good Place for a Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It's not fancy or upscale. Menu is large and varied. Lunch menu and dinner specials. We eat here alone or with friends and family occasionally and also do takeout. Food is always served fresh and hot. Tea comes with meal. Combination dinners are excellent and filling. The fish, shrimp and chicken dishes are all good as are the beef and pork. Prices are reasonable and portions are good size.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnrobertsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great for Both Dine In and Carry Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Always ordered here Carry Out. We love the Lemon Fish, Lemon Chicken, Vegetable Chicken Chowfun, Beef broccoli and etc.

Place is kind of tight but acceptable for a small town restaurant. Ample parking and staff is very friendly. Food is usually ready after 15 minutes when you order for carry out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestDaddyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I dine here regularly. We love the place! The service is usually excellent and the menu is quite broad. Good stuff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorite Restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I go there monthly. There combination plates are delicious and have large portions. We also love many of there other items (the fish in black bean sauce is great). The prices are great, very reasonable, and the staff is friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

the food here is a reminder of how far we have come with chinese cuisines
this is an old school chop suey type place
think of a gloppy over use of cornstarch in sauces
and that horrid red sweet and sour sauce
if you go during the lunch hours there can be a wait and the waitrons appear to get overwelmed
if they have to handle more than two or three tables

but in a town with few choices of asian style food this is what passes for good chinese

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia Garden also viewed

 

Been to Asia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing