We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Unexpected Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Porter Street BBQ, Steak & Pasta - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Porter Street BBQ, Steak & Pasta
1549 West Olive, Porterville, CA
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Food Unexpected Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Barbecue is a hit and miss. Sometimes I get a really tender, fall from the bone but sometimes I get the tough ones as well. But the ones I like really tastes good. They also have a few choices of different sandwiches which I have not tried. Staff is friendly and the place offers a shade since the shack is under a tree.

Don't get lost when you try to find this place. It is only a shack in the middle of a parking lot and not an actual restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestDaddyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I had ate at the location where it's just a shack located in the parking lot, not the actual other location where it's dine-in , however when I visited the location the lady working was very nice and helped me choose which would be best for me! I forgot what I had but all my family loved their sandwiches which ranged from chicken sandwiches , tri-tip etc. It was all amazing , and in a timely manner got it very quickly ! I would definitely recommend and go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenjoshua1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best Steak sandwiches around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I make it to Porterville about once every year. The Midwest doesn't have a place like this. Delicious!!! Gotta have one of these.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great place to eat! Great food and service. It's no longer in business but the original store on Porter Street is still hopping. That's a great place too!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“mixed up and confused menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

while the bbq'd dishes were good (From porter street bbq on henderson) the itallian-ish dishes were rather bland and uninspired - this would be a good canidate for restaurant impossible

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porter Street BBQ, Steak & Pasta also viewed

 
Porterville, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing