We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Unexpected Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Porter Street BBQ, Steak & Pasta - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Porter Street BBQ, Steak & Pasta
1549 West Olive, Porterville, CA
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Food Unexpected Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Barbecue is a hit and miss. Sometimes I get a really tender, fall from the bone but sometimes I get the tough ones as well. But the ones I like really tastes good. They also have a few choices of different sandwiches which I have not tried. Staff is friendly and the place offers a shade since the shack is under a tree.

Don't get lost when you try to find this place. It is only a shack in the middle of a parking lot and not an actual restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I had ate at the location where it's just a shack located in the parking lot, not the actual other location where it's dine-in , however when I visited the location the lady working was very nice and helped me choose which would be best for me! I forgot what I had but all my family loved their sandwiches which ranged from chicken sandwiches , tri-tip etc. It was all amazing , and in a timely manner got it very quickly ! I would definitely recommend and go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best Steak sandwiches around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I make it to Porterville about once every year. The Midwest doesn't have a place like this. Delicious!!! Gotta have one of these.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great place to eat! Great food and service. It's no longer in business but the original store on Porter Street is still hopping. That's a great place too!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“mixed up and confused menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

while the bbq'd dishes were good (From porter street bbq on henderson) the itallian-ish dishes were rather bland and uninspired - this would be a good canidate for restaurant impossible

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porter Street BBQ, Steak & Pasta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porter Street BBQ, Steak & Pasta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.