We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaguitos

Chaguitos
1393 West Olive Avenue, Porterville, CA
(559) 782-1230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Porterville
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food. Friendly staff and delicious bakery section. Fresh baked rolls daily. Have been visiting and enjoying the food since the 80s.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
porterville ca.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“favorite places to go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Chaguitos is one of the best place"s anywhere around porterville for good mexican food I have never had a bad meal there. relaxed atmophere great food, you can"t go wrong..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best "street tacos" in Porterville ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

One of the best places in Porterville for "street" tacos. Try the carnitas. They are the bomb!! This place has been a staple in P-Town for 30years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy Mexican Sweets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I saw this place as driving around Porterville and just had to stop as I don't normally eat mexican sweets. I didn't know anything about the selection so asked for help and one of the employees curteously explained what I was looking at. I grabbed a set of tongs and a plastic cafeteria tray and selected two pastries. - an empanada filled with pineapple and a crescent roll looking one filled with strawberry. i took them back to my room, planning to eat only half of each but had no will power and ate both of them! They were delicious! Other reviewers say the food isn't as good as it used to be but I can't comment as I only ate pastries. I say that's worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Used to be worthwhile.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The spelling should be Chaguito's. This place made its reputation on good food and great bread. Now it is the complete opposite and I would NEVER recommend it to anyone I know. Too bad, I used to look forward to going there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaguitos also viewed

 
Porterville, CA
 

Been to Chaguitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaguitos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.