We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chips, salsa and guacamole !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
134 East Orange Avenue, Porterville, CA
(559) 781-2115
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 83 restaurants in Porterville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Friant, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great chips, salsa and guacamole !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wonderful service, definitely a family atmosphere. Great chips, salsa and guacamole. Had the carne asada, just ok. Refried beans were good. Overall, worth the stop!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    7
    9
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun for Birthday Celebrations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have attended several birthday parties there the past year. There is plenty of room for a large group. The food is great and the tacos are delicious! You are not rushed when you are having a birthday celebration and the staff sings an old mexican folk ballad to the person having the birthday, which is alway quite a pretty song. The birthday person then gets a special drink or dessert from the restaurant. The staff are always very friendly and accomadating.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

great little series of mexican restaraunts in the local area (two in town one out by ducor)
can get a bit noisy inside
they have good food, love the huge chips (lol) and great pico
their enchalada sauce is either a love it or hate it thing some think it is too sweet some like it - personally I like it

oh and their chili relenos - love them

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

An abundance of food but the sauce was a little to sweet for my liking but everything else was good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get the guac, salsa & chips!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband, daughter and I went here while we were visiting our niece and I crave it now that I am back in Ohio! This is the BEST guac & salsa I have ever had. I also managed to finish my chicken burrito because the food was delicious. Also, the staff were all very friendly and accomidating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio also viewed

Porterville, CA
Porterville, CA
 

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tapatio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.