We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chips, salsa and guacamole !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
134 East Orange Avenue, Porterville, CA
(559) 781-2115
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Porterville
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Friant, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great chips, salsa and guacamole !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful service, definitely a family atmosphere. Great chips, salsa and guacamole. Had the carne asada, just ok. Refried beans were good. Overall, worth the stop!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun for Birthday Celebrations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have attended several birthday parties there the past year. There is plenty of room for a large group. The food is great and the tacos are delicious! You are not rushed when you are having a birthday celebration and the staff sings an old mexican folk ballad to the person having the birthday, which is alway quite a pretty song. The birthday person then gets a special drink or dessert from the restaurant. The staff are always very friendly and accomadating.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

great little series of mexican restaraunts in the local area (two in town one out by ducor)
can get a bit noisy inside
they have good food, love the huge chips (lol) and great pico
their enchalada sauce is either a love it or hate it thing some think it is too sweet some like it - personally I like it

oh and their chili relenos - love them

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

An abundance of food but the sauce was a little to sweet for my liking but everything else was good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get the guac, salsa & chips!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband, daughter and I went here while we were visiting our niece and I crave it now that I am back in Ohio! This is the BEST guac & salsa I have ever had. I also managed to finish my chicken burrito because the food was delicious. Also, the staff were all very friendly and accomidating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio also viewed

 
Porterville, CA
 

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tapatio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.