We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stick with the seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fuente

La Fuente
29 N Main St, Porterville, CA 93257
(559) 781-2588
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Porterville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“stick with the seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Okay I know it is odd that the seafood would be good here in the ville of Porter, but trust me on this
The seafood soup is great, though I really like the mixed seafood enchiladas with fish, shrimp and octopus (yes octopus - again trust me on this - was very tender and non fishy)

the freebee starter of beans is a bit odd but good

one of the better if not the best of Porterville's restaurant

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springville, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Favorite !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is my favorite Mexican Restraunt in Porterville. Have been a regular since it's inception. They have a variety of dishes including seafood. Really really good! Great friendly service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service but food is not good---”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our waitress was very attentive and polite, our food arrived promptly (there were only 2 other tables with people) but the food was just not good. My Mom ordered the house specialty and she said it tasted like it was cooked in old oil. My sister ordered some enchiladas and didn't take more than one bite. I ordered some chile rellenos and I was not expecting the white sauce they put on top of it (white sauce was not good). The interior of the restaurant is colorful and looks clean and ample. Our disappointment on this visit was the food! P.S This review from me comes from someone who knows what good Mexican food is supposed to taste like.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very friendly service, but the food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

While the staff and restaurant were both very welcoming, we were a little disappointed by our meal. We started the meal with a free taster of bean soup which was good, but the mains failed to meet our expectations. The mole sauce on the enchiladas tasted no better than the stuff you can buy in the grocery store and the usual beans and rice on the side were fine, but nothing memorable. Perhaps we chose the wrong dishes?

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fuente also viewed

Porterville, CA
Porterville, CA
 
Porterville, CA
 

Been to La Fuente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fuente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.