We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jenny Lynn's Cafe

Jenny Lynn's Cafe
670 S Plano St, Porterville, CA 93257-5418
+1 559-788-2233
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 89 Restaurants in Porterville
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Breakfast served all day. Daily Specials. Beer & Wine available. Homemade soup and large selection of salads and sandwiches.
Springville, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We discovered this place a few months ago although we have lived here for 10 years (why we missed it? I don't know :) The food is good and homecooked. We eat here on Sundays often after church and have not been disappointed. Bought our Thanksgiving pies here too! A good downhome place to eat in Porterville, of which there are few in this town!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not the same anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The original Jenny Lynn's was owned by a husband/wife team, and named after their daughter. After the wife passed away, the place was sold, but retained the name. The food is just so so, now...not like it used to be when "the mrs" was there and had her hand in making everything. I haven't gone back to try their dinner now that they are open in the evening, but might give it one more try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“average breakfast and lunch place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have only been here for breakfast and lunch though they have started doing dinners as well
the only things I find above average here are the pies and cakes though they tend to sell out fast

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st time eating here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Met good friends for breakfast. Eggs were cook though not runny hash browns perfect mix with onions. Coffee was outstanding! My coffee was never empty. Great staff. Water was very good too. Clean restroom. Price was affordable good portions. I give it great value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
594 reviews
478 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Decent Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Omlet was pretty good. Toast was not toasted. Everything else wasaverage. Price is reasonable. I would not go out of my way to get here. It is a pretty standard diner. The seating is more like a bar. Service was good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jenny Lynn's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jenny Lynn's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenny Lynn's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.