We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jenny Lynn's Cafe

Jenny Lynn's Cafe
670 S Plano St, Porterville, CA 93257-5418
559-788-2233
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Porterville
Restaurant details
Springville, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We discovered this place a few months ago although we have lived here for 10 years (why we missed it? I don't know :) The food is good and homecooked. We eat here on Sundays often after church and have not been disappointed. Bought our Thanksgiving pies here too! A good downhome place to eat in Porterville, of which there are few in this town!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not the same anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The original Jenny Lynn's was owned by a husband/wife team, and named after their daughter. After the wife passed away, the place was sold, but retained the name. The food is just so so, now...not like it used to be when "the mrs" was there and had her hand in making everything. I haven't gone back to try their dinner now that they are open in the evening, but might give it one more try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“average breakfast and lunch place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have only been here for breakfast and lunch though they have started doing dinners as well
the only things I find above average here are the pies and cakes though they tend to sell out fast

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1st time eating here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Met good friends for breakfast. Eggs were cook though not runny hash browns perfect mix with onions. Coffee was outstanding! My coffee was never empty. Great staff. Water was very good too. Clean restroom. Price was affordable good portions. I give it great value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
468 reviews 468 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Decent Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Omlet was pretty good. Toast was not toasted. Everything else wasaverage. Price is reasonable. I would not go out of my way to get here. It is a pretty standard diner. The seating is more like a bar. Service was good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jenny Lynn's Cafe also viewed

 
Porterville, CA
Porterville, CA
 

Been to Jenny Lynn's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenny Lynn's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.