We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thai without the spice??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Kitchen
951 West Henderson Avenue, Porterville, CA 93257
(559) 783-1640
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 83 restaurants in Porterville
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“thai without the spice??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

this is a average little thai place in our little town
the food is good - could use more spiciness
when asked how hot I would like my dish I told the waitress from one to five I would like five it was mild
they do have a good tom yum here though

out here in the hinterlands they get by but if they were in LA or the SF bay area they wouldnt be around that long

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springville, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Favorite !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We eat here often. It is one of my favorite restrauants in Porterville.
Very tasty food, good portions, and excecllent friendly service. Don't understand the menu? The waitress graciously explains it all to you. Choose your own lever of spiceyness!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thai food for locals and visitors.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have eaten here three times this year. The last two times I had the Garlic Chicken & Brocolli with a side of brown rice. The chicken was firm (no fat) and tender: the brocolli was firm and perfectly steamed; the brown rice was very tasty.

I had to get a takeout box due to the generous portions served. For under ten dollars it was a bargain. Microwaved the next day it was delicious.

Some of my family members eat here often and highly recommend Thai Kitchen.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This place is our favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband love this place. The food is great, the staff is wonderful and the cooks are fast and amazing! I know ppl font know wat thai food is.. But.its not so.different than chinese food. But better!! Price is great. Dont be afraid to ask the waitress wat they recommend. Or the serving size.She told me to try the Lamb.. And i was like ummm okay?? Never had t before. And omg!!! It was great!
We noticed that some trays like stir fry rice and such r made for more than one person. So ask for the serving size.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food in Porterville, CA. Near Sequoia Nat'l Park.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

After only one visit, I must recommend this Thai restaurant.
It is in an smallish town (Porterville), along the way between L.A. and Sequoia National Park.

Fresh food, lots of choices on their broad menu.

Not a diner-ambiance. More of a standard California "family" highway restaurant morphing into Thai.

Hope they succeed -- based on our single experience in Sept '08 , they certainly deserve to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Kitchen also viewed

 
Porterville, CA

Been to Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;