We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U S Navy Seabee Museum

U S Navy Seabee Museum
1001 Addor St., Port Hueneme, CA 93043
805 982-6497
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Salinas, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Educational and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I enjoyed my visit. The museum featured historical displays, artifacts, and arts and crafts made by servicemen. There are also exhibits pertaining to what is happening right now in different places around the world. Although some people have less interest in military history, the museum captures American history and is a good place to visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice and newer museum of Seabee history. It seems that a portion of it is under development but overall we enjoyed the tour after our Son graduated as a new Seabee! Don't miss the gift shop.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“U S Navy Seabee Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great place to teach the little one the history of our Seabee's, Lots to see and with all the old Navy uniforms takes me back when I was in the Navy back in the early 60's

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Family history prompted me to visit this museum and I wasn't disappointed. It is located outside the base so there is no need for a pass or sponsor and it is free.
The museum is nicely done with educational films, displays, pictures of the Seabee life and contributions to our country. It looks as if they are in the process of expanding the museum and will have more displays to offer in the future.
They have a nice gift shop that offers many items at very reasonable prices.
Worth the visit and history lesson.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Port Hueneme & U.S. Navy Seabee Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

With a fabulous beach and hotels nearby, the U.S. Navy Seabee Museum is a can't miss attraction. Learn about a courageous and under-sung branch of the U.S. Armed Forces and see some terrific displays. Then continue down Ventura Rd, where it terminates at expansive Hueneme Beach and Pier. This is also host site for the Alaska Airline Flight 261 Memorial.

This is fun for the all ages

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U S Navy Seabee Museum also viewed

 

Been to U S Navy Seabee Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U S Navy Seabee Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.