We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grateful 3” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Fairplex

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Fairplex to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Fairplex
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 W McKinley Ave, Pomona, CA 91768   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Pomona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grateful 3”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel in a quiet area. Room very nice and clean. Bed was comfortable. We were looking for a place that would accept our small dog and they were wonderful. Many others wanted to charge us and they didn't charge any extra. They even offered us a pet bed, which we already had. We are very clean with our pet so it was nice to not be charged for accidents, etc. that weren't going to happen. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only complaint I had was I ordered Eggs Benedict for breakfast from the restaurant in the Hotel but was not impressed. The bread they serve it on was cold and very dry. Just make it on the muffin that it was originally created on! Otherwise great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Fairplex, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Greetings Connie G,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Being a pet friendly location is something we hold very dear to us as many pets are often viewed as an extension of the family by their owners. At the Sheraton Fairplex and Conference Center we strive to connect with our guests and we feel this is one of the many ways we do so.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to serving you.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    91
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
52
30
17
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Fairplex in August when we took our son to college. We just needed a place to sleep. We were pleasantly surprised with our sweet. There was a large bed in a small bedroom with really comfy bedding. There was a separate living area with mini bar. Both rooms had large tvs which made watching the Olympics easier as we moved from room to room getting dressed. Our bathroom was large, clean and well stocked. The entire room was decorated very tastefully.
The pool area was well used by families. It has privacy due to trees and bushes. We used the outdoor spa to relax after a long drive.
The restaurant was mostly empty. When we asked to order wine, we were directed to a salad bar bin filled with wine bottles to choose which struck us as odd. I had a couple of appetizers including a fruit bowl and received a large amount and variety of fruit.
The bar had a great selection of alcohol and wonderful service. The TV had the Olympics going which pleased us.
Overall, the Sheraton Fairplex is a bit of an oasis in the Pomona desert.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Fairplex, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Greetings Nkwins,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. At the Sheraton Fairplex and Conference Center we strive to provide a memorable and special visit for each and every guest. Although it was just a brief stay over for your family during your sons’ college trip, we are glad to see we made a good impression. We hope you will continue to choose our location when you visit the Pomona area again.

Once more – thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to serving you very soon.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

spacious rooms, nice comfortable beds, sliding doors to living room couch/tv area with microwave , fridge, and free water bottles , large bathroom area with 2 sinks and shower was just ok

the club lounge is really nice, small dinner & large breakfast. if your a gold spg member they may give this to you as upgrade for free.

very nice atmosphere workers there so friendly and make you feel good.

computers in the lobby for you to use. didnt use pool.

about 45 mins from lax great hotel to stay if your traveling thru

in the summer the LA County fair is across the street

Room Tip: all rooms are suites. king bed was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Fairplex, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Greetings Arandgit,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. At the Sheraton Fairplex and Conference Center we strive to provide a comfortable and warm visit for our guests. I am pleased to see that you enjoy the spaciousness and amenities our rooms have to offer.

Our team would like to invite you back so that we may provide another wonderful experience for you. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, HI
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for only one reason: to visit the Los Angeles County Fair in Pomona. What a great way to see the entire fair, being able to take your time and visit everything, with the hotel adjacent to one of the many gates to this, one of the largest county fairs in the world! When you get tired, you just go to the hotel and relax in the spacious hot tub next to the more than spacious pool, have a drink and unwind. Then you're all relaxed and ready to go back to this wondrous place.

Now about the hotel: it's a very large and elegant plant, with nicely designed rooms. My one complaint about the rooms is that they're very dark, and wandering around in the dark trying to find a light was a little trying. The room (really a suite) was very large, and although it only had a view of the parking lot, I'm sure it was better than being on the side with the fair because of noise therefrom. The staff was so-so, and didn't seem to me to be very excited about helping me, one or two of them walking away when I came to the desk. I did arrive very late at night, so that's perhaps an excuse. The bartenders were very nice, though, even serving me after it was closed.

The same can be said with regard to the restaurant staff. They were more than friendly, ready to stand and chat with you if you so desired, and seeming to want to know more about you and serve you well.

I was less than excited, though, about the food at the restaurant. They're trying, I think, to "go green" and have more vegetables and things like that (which I understand they grow on the Fair property), but don't order a steak. If I had to guess, I'd say the meat was boiled, and it wasn't the least flavorful. They do have wonderful ice cream, though, and I made it my business to have as much as possible.

Oh, back to the room for a minute. What kind of hotel does not have room safes nowadays? Well, this is one of them.

Bottom line, I'd say it's a great place to stay when visiting the Fair, just don't expect any real luxury. But then again, is it really important when you're visiting a county fair? I enjoyed my stay here, with the caveats above.

Room Tip: Get a room on the seventh floor, and splurge for a club suite with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Fairplex, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Greetings Whitsiepoo,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with us. Here at the Sheraton Fairplex and Conference Center we aim to give our guests a warm and welcoming experience each and every time. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us during the LA County Fair. It is a very festive and exciting time to join us. As you mentioned, due to our location, you are able to literally walk out of the back door and onto the Fairplex grounds to enjoy great food and games with your loved ones.

As guest feedback extremely valuable, we will take your suggestions into account and further look to improve the surroundings and experience for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay as we look forward to serving you very soon.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second stay at the Sheraton Fairplex in Pomona in the last two years. It is literally right outside one of the gates to the LA County Fair.
The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. We had our plane flight changed and I emailed asking for an earlier check in. No promises were made, but we did indeed get an 11:30am check in, normal time being 3pm. The housekeeping staff were also very efficient and on being requested one day to clean in a specific 2-hour time frame, were waiting to get into the room just as we left. We did not eat at the restaurant this time, finding last year that it was a little expensive and that there are several restaurants within a 10 minute drive, nor did we use the pool. The new gym is nice, much roomier then the old one. Hotel has 3 elevators and valet parking. The one thing we didn't anticipate was that the nights we were there that coincided with the fair operating, we had to pay an $8 self-parking fee, probably because anyone can pay to park at the hotel while attending the fair. We were guaranteed a parking space while the fair was happening and never had a problem finding a convenient spot in the set-aside lot.
The interior of the hotel is somewhat worn in spots (carpeting in the hallways on our floor was definitely older) and our room carpet had quite a few spots, although the carpet itself was clean and had no odor at all. We also like the fact that we could open the windows about 4 inches in the bedroom and living room of the suite. The bathtub/shower and toilet are seperate from the sink and vanity area. There is also a sink in the small "kitchen" area, which consists of a microwave, mini-frig and coffeemaker.
All in all, this hotel is a great place to stay, with freeways close by and is about a 40 minute drive from Disneyland and about an hour from Universal Studios. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor as the first time we stayed our second floor room looked out over the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Fairplex, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Greetings SLHbigfoot,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At the Sheraton Fairplex and Conference Center we strive to provide our guests with a comfortable journey. I am pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your early check-in request. In regards to the parking charges, you are indeed correct. Currently, during the running time of the LA County Fair is the only time of year in which there is a charge for parking in order to preserve our hotel guests’ sufficient space for their vehicles.

Once again, thank you very much for this opportunity to connect with you and we look forward to serving you soon.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Best location and facility to experience the fair at Pomona. Pet friendly, staff friendly, great place to stay. Discounted fair tickets and great packages (when available). Walk to fair and enter at a special gate steps from the hotel. Pool and workout facility, business lounge and pretty decent room service. Even though there is no competing facility this close to the fair, they have taken great care to make you welcome and maintain the premises. Two fat digits up!

Room Tip: Ask for room closest to elevators if you don't have fun walking long hallways. Limited pet frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Fairplex, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Greetings Photomick,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. Fair time is always a wonderful time to stay with us. You may thoroughly enjoy the delights of the LA County Fair and merely walk right out and into your room as you mentioned. I am pleased to see that you experienced the exciting and genuine atmosphere we relentlessly try to create for our guests.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we hope to serve you very soon.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

On site at the Fairplex, for a conference at the Sheraton Center. Lots of space in the suite, comfortable space to work and sleep. Valet parking was a bit pricey but I understand the County Fair drives some of the pricing here during Aug/Sept. Bar/restaurant convenient with friendly staff and good food, lots of choices that were from an onsite garden. Front desk staff efficient and helpful.
Conference center is a plus, great meeting space and efficient staff.
Would stay again if back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Fairplex, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Greetings Ginnynj4133,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At the Sheraton Fairplex and Conference Center we aim to give our guests a comfortable and memorable experience each and every time. I am pleased to see your enjoyed our relaxing rooms and the service provided by our staff. The LA County Fair is always an extremely exciting and convenient time to stay with us at our location. Due to the rear side entrance to the Fairgrounds, guests can literally step outside and walk right into the wonderful atmosphere and delicious food.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to serve you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Fairplex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Fairplex

Address: 601 W McKinley Ave, Pomona, CA 91768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pomona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Pomona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Fairplex 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the 10, 210, and 57 freeways, the Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center is close to the Ontario Airport, and offers easy access to all of the Southern California excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Suites Fairplex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Fairplex Hotel Pomona
Sheraton Hotel Pomona
Sheraton Pomona
Pomona Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Fairplex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.