We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and convenient access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel to your Saves list
Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 W. Temple Ave., Bldg 76, Pomona, CA 91768-2557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Pomona
Silicon Valley, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value and convenient access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Overall I would say Kellogg West is a step below Best Western or Holiday Inn. However, I would stay here again as it is conveniently located next to Cal Poly and the breakfast is much better than the above mentioned motels. Depending on the rate you get, it can be slightly cheaper too. Location is on hilltop on the Cal Poly Pomona campus with pretty views. Easy access to 57 and 10. The hotel is run by the school's Hospitality Management college so you are being their guinea pigs. There were no issues with that, I found the staff very professional.

The rooms are a bit dated and have popcorn ceilings. They are small and have double beds. Toiletries are made in China. Room has a refrigerator. Air conditioning and comfort level of bed was OK. My room only had a shower, no bathtub. There is a pool and a small fitness room but I did not check out either of them. The breakfast buffet is the standout. Comes with eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes, pastries, fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereal. The pastries taste like they come from a real bakery, not that packaged stuff The fruit is fresh, not defrosted fruit from a big Costco package. I stayed two nights and it was the same both days. Note that breakfast closes very early (8:30) on weekdays.

No this is not a full service hotel, but as long as my son is at Cal Poly I will stay here again since it's such a good deal and so convenient.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
3
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Kind of pretty location, but that's the only thing nice I have to say about this hotel. No air conditioning, the TV was all staticky, the phone in the room was dead, the electrical outlet in the room didn't have a cover on it, it was a far walk from the parking to the room, and their internet is restricted and doesn't let you on things like World of Warcraft. We checked out in less than an hour and checked into a radisson that was less money and had AC, plenty of outlets including USB, and unlimited devices on their free unrestricted internet.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

is what this "hotel" feels like. The lobby (located in a separate building) is the only "nice" thing about this place--the accomidations are paltry at best--slamming doors, tiny spaces--tiny beds--holes in sheets and flat pillows. Morning coffee requires a raffle like ticket (which comes with your room key)--no bar, no restaurant, fuzzy t.v. reception, nothing for miles except cattle and college students milling about.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

While providing consultation work at Cal Poly I was booked at the Kellogg West Conference Center. I was very pleased with my time there. While the lodging rooms are dated and in need of some investment, the rooms were clean and comfortable, including the patio and balconies. A nice workout room and pool accompanied the property. I should mention the wonderful views of the rolling hills and the mountains. The conference center was well appointed with all amenities a meeting planner will need to exceed customer expectations. Nice pre-function space and courtyards for unique spaces. Meeting rooms have an updated look and feel with state of the art technology. Wonderful asset for Cal Poly and the local area and is no more than 5-10 minutes from the interstate.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I am currently staying at this hotel and I have to say, I've never stayed in a more unprofessional hotel in my life. The way the hotel is set up is that there is a courtyard in the middle of all the rooms facing in. Voices travel up, people out there being loud with no care about the time of night. Business Travelers be careful before you book this hotel. I am definitely going to tell my company that this was the wrong choice and I will personally never use this conference center for another business meeting again that involves overnight travel.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor possible and if they have any rooms away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here five nights for a business session held here at the conference center. Room was neat and clean. TV reception was fuzzy on a couple of channels, but they were repairing a main cable line on campus. Small fridge is also in the room. Looked like nice pool area, but did not use. Ask for an end unit as you have a great view of the mountains in the distance. They also have a fitness room that I did not use either. Buffet breakfast daily was also included. They also have Free wifi in the rooms and conference area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We came for a wedding going on here. Our room was not the best. Very old and bad lighting. There is a balcony but it is connected to 2 rooms. So when I went to open the curtains there were people I didn't know standing right in I front of my room. Down at their main building was where the rehearsal dinner was which was very charming and the food was great! The actual wedding was up at the old Mansion and it was gorgeous! Only bad thing is its right by the freeway. Besides the room it was great!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel

Address: 3801 W. Temple Ave., Bldg 76, Pomona, CA 91768-2557
Location: United States > California > Pomona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Pomona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kellogg West Conference Center and Lodge, nestled on a tree lined hilltop overlooking cereal magnate Will K. Kellogg's estate has become one of the leading conference centers in all of Southern California. Receiving both state and national recognition, Kellogg West continues improving itself to not only meet, but exceed its guests' expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg West Hotel Pomona
Kellogg West Conference Center And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.