We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel to your Saves list
Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 W. Temple Ave., Bldg 76, Pomona, CA 91768-2557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Pomona
oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here while visiting our Cal Poly University Freshman son. This hotel is so convenient to the school since it is on school grounds. Students in the Hospitality degree program have an opportunity to work here. It is awesome that the school provides this opportunity.
The room was small but clean and perfectly adequate for our stay. Working on business while in the room worked well over the internet connection. The hotel was pretty quiet and didn't seem crowded for the weekend we visited.
Being able to walk to the dorms and soccer fields was the best part of this property. The campus is gorgeous and makes for a beautiful walk in September.
The staff was friendly and tried to help me set up a birthday surprise for my son. We were unsuccessful at arranging it but at least they tried.
My room price was a little higher than some of the competing properties. I was willing to trade price for the location convenience.
One complaint I had is that while trying to make a reservation, I sent an email to the address on the website and it went unanswered. Our son had gotten a hotel coupon while at orientation and I couldn't find it and was wondering if I could still get the coupon price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
3
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deep River, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located adjacent/on the Cal Poly-Pomona campus. The town appears to be brand new, and very nice. The location of the hotel is lovely. The view of the sun rising up over the mountain as you head to breakfast is breathtaking!

It was very quiet, so the next morning I was surprised to see most of the doors had newspapers in front of them.

The room layout was average. There appeared to be a brand new tub/shower, and the bathroom was very clean. The room was dark, but only because I kept the full-glass doors covered with the light-blocking curtains. (They were very effective.) Even though the room itself seemed a bit outdated, the bed covers appeared to be brand new, and the room was very clean.

There was a pool and hot tub that I never saw anyone use. I used the fitness center, which had a tv and a decent selection of equipment. There were towels available and a water fountain. Unfortunately, no sanitizing wipes for the machines.

The highlight of my stay was the breakfast which is included with the room. Awesome!! It included scrambled eggs, home fries, breakfast meats, cut fresh fruit, oatmeal, waffles, cereals, toast, bagels, coffee, juices, and yogurt. And it's served in a very nice cafeteria with another incredible view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is more like a country retreat. The rooms are pretty basic but very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The only reason that I didn't give it excellent is that it is a bit dated. I also wish they had Foxnews as a TV station. The breakfast is a nice fresh hot buffet served in a cafeteria for the conference center. I also enjoyed walking around the property and visiting the Cal Poly farm store.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed one night while visiting the college. We did not see any other guests until the next morning so it was very quiet. Breakfast was well worth it. Staff was very courteous and kind.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My daughter is a Freshman at Cal Poly Pomona, which is a 6 hour car drive from home. Even if we fly to see her, we end up staying at least one night. I've now stayed twice at Kellogg West, which is right on campus, and run completely by the hospitality students. They are very nice and competent. There is a special rate for parents of college students, but you need to ask for it. The rooms are a bit dark, but very private. Breakfast is early in the morning (only until 8:30 on week days and 9:30 on week ends) and things can get a bit cold if you don't make it until the last half hour. Otherwise, you cannot beat the convenience, and it is very safe, has a pool, hot tub and workout room.

Room Tip: since this hotel is on a hill, some rooms have views that are gorgeous at night. you can ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is a weird one. The rooms and grounds are underlit and a bit creepy. The gym is small and had a few broken pieces of equipment. And the staff was really subpar (though, we did travel during winter break and were told the hotel was understaffed at that point). But, if you're in town for cal poly Pomona, the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

As a college property, it's important to remember that the majority of people working here think less as customer service employees and more like college students and staff. They are very friendly and try, but sometimes lack the experience. Also, this a 30+ old property and it shows, very little has been done in the way of building, environment or even room remodel or renovation. But, the rooms and common areas are kept clean, the conference rooms are comfortable and the food served is exceptional.

Room Tip: Best rooms are poolside and hillside 2 fl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel

Address: 3801 W. Temple Ave., Bldg 76, Pomona, CA 91768-2557
Location: United States > California > Pomona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Pomona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kellogg West Conference Center and Lodge, nestled on a tree lined hilltop overlooking cereal magnate Will K. Kellogg's estate has become one of the leading conference centers in all of Southern California. Receiving both state and national recognition, Kellogg West continues improving itself to not only meet, but exceed its guests' expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg West Hotel Pomona
Kellogg West Conference Center And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg West Conference Center & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.