We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Couples Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages
31 Cypress Road, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
cherry hill
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Excellent Couples Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

My wife and I loved it so much that we changed our travel arrangements to stay an extra day. This is a place for couples only as you are alone in one of 2 dwellings that are separate. We stayed in the spacoius and completely equpped cottage. The kitchen/living room with a sliding door leading to a private patio. A small path out the front door to the side of the cottage led to a private outdoor hot tub. There is nothing like sitting in the tub with your honey gazing at the moon and stars. Doris left baked goodies at our door every morning. The kitchen had everything, including plastic sandwich bags, aluminum foil, all condiments, everything.

  • Liked — large comfortable and hot tub
  • Disliked — TV's could be bigger
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

Wow, what a wonderful place and so beautifully maintained! Best friends from Monterey recommended the Alberti Cottage. They've stayed there several times.

Carol and I spent three delightful nights to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. The Ferrandos are personable , gracious hosts, and their attention to detail and creature comforts is outstanding. Doris and Greg were super-helpful, never obtrusive . They are all-ways sensitive to their guests needs and desire for privacy. (The hot tub was most welcome after long hikes at Point Reyes National Seashore.)

The accommodations were tasteful, elegant – and the place is so quiet! We walked to the nearby village of Point Reyes Station every day, shopped, checked out the neat restaurants, especially the Cowgirl Creamery, where they serve and sell artisan and farmstead cheeses – wow, such yummy food, even better with a bottle of chilled Chardonnay wine, as we sat in front of the fireplace (the Ferrandos have supplied everything you need including wine glasses, cups, plates, flatware, stove, frig . . . ).

(Doris' delicious baked good by 8:30 each morning were a real treat.)

Gosh, we must have burned up a ton of firewood – no, the place isn’t cold; on the contrary, it’s quite comfortable, and while we didn’t really need a fire, well, we wanted one or two! You will, too!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

I just can't imagine anyone not liking this place. My husband and I stayed the weekend at the Alberti Cottage. It had a full kitchen with updated appliances, that opened to the living room and beyond that to a flagstone balcony (with umbrella table) and ample size bedroom and bathroom with his/her sinks. The cottage was immaculate, had excellent heating and a wood stove for ambiance. We especially loved the hard wood floors in the living room and vaulted knotty pine celings and skylights. We really enjoyed our own private outdoor hot tub as well which was just around the corner down a small brick pathway on the side of the cottage. It was very cold when we went there, so the hot tub was perfect at the end of the day of sight seeing/hiking (although we were supplied with a lantern we couldn't believe how dark it was there! The property also included a built in BBQ area that was also nicely done with flagstone as well. We were tempted to stop at the Johnson Oyster Co. and BBQ some later in the weekend. We really appreciated the full kitchen which included local cheese, crackers, OJ, milk, cream, eggs from their chickens and granola. Wow-so unexpected! Not to mention, home made cookies and a chocolate bar upon entering. Doris made the best baked goods which were left outside our cottage around 8:30am each morning. We didn't mind that the sheets were not changed as this is a non issue for us and prefered to be undisturbed during our stay. The Point Reyes area in general is for "outdoorsy" types or people who appreciate nature in general. We had a good time picking up some local products and stopping off at the Cowgirl Creamery for some local artisan cheeses one night, then the market for wine and smoked salmon. If you are truly looking for a secluded (romantic too) and peacefull get-away this would be the place.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2005

We (two) stayed in the spacious and immaculate Bungalow which featured a wonderfully comfortable bed. The hot tub was delightful. BUT no views out the windows, no daily maid service although clean bed linens and bath towels were offered (hey, it's a holiday! I want someone else to make the bed!). Although there were comfortable enough chairs, none were appropriate for reading (nothing to support legs and feet). The bathroom is very small with shower only.

This is the kind of place that would appeal to some but just was not right for us. For the price, I'd particularly expect daily maid service and a decent reading chair.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2005

We've been going to Ferrando's for many years, but for the last several years we have rented the Alberti Bungalow. It is a perfect size for two people who like to sit and read, or listen to music in front of a fire. The inn keeper, Doris Ferrando, stocks the bungalow with local cheeses, home-made muffins and cookies, eggs from her chickens, cereals, and other goodies for breakfast. If you wanted to you could cook all your meals in, though the other cottage (Alberti Cottage) has a more complete kitchen (We've even cooked full meals for freinds while we stayed there). However, there are many fine restaurants in the Pt Reyes / Inverness / Olema area.

The bungalow comes with maps and menus so you can plan out your day's adventures. After a long hike in the nearby Pt Reyes National Seashore I like to unwind in the hot tub, just outside the bedroom, before dinner. The cottage entrance is off a small patio surrounded by stone walls and trellises with thick vines - a very private feeling.

Pt Reyes, and West Marin in general, is a very laid back place. You can dress casually, even for dinning at some very excelent restaurants, like the Olema Inn. There are lots of activities in the area (goggle ferrando's Hideaway to find their website and see many links to local attactions and pictures of the cottages), We find the our vacations there to be an ideal combination of exercise, site seeing, shopping, and just relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2004

We have stayed at Ferrando's Hideaway in Point Reyes Station, CA several times over the past few years and always find it a wonderful place to go to relax, enjoy the ocean and surrounding area, sleep (!), eat well, etc. Doris always provides delicious breakfast foods for you (fresh eggs just laid by the hens in the yard, freshly baked goods from Doris' kitchen, cheeses from local dairy farms, etc.). The bungalow and cottage are always squeaky clean and comfortable, wood stove for cozy fires, books to read, grill to use on the patios, hot tubs for each place, fresh flowers in season - - things are always consistently good in this marvelous getaway site and we return there over and over again.

Jon and Sharon Opsal, Livermore, CA

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages

Address: 31 Cypress Road, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming cottages with private hot tubs, wood stoves, kitchen, BBQ, TV, internet connection, surrounded by organic vegetable and flower gardens. Perfect for your special moments, honeymoons, anniversaries, etc. European hospitality and ambiance. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages to your Saves list