We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Reyes Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Point Reyes Hostel to your Saves list
Point Reyes Hostel
1390 Limantour Dr., off Limantour Rd.,, p.o. box 247, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956-0247   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Good if you want to relax, the service is pretty good, it's not too close to anything but whatever when you go to this kind of trip you know you are gonna drive a lot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hostel is nestled deep into the woods, 5 to 10 miles from the visitors center, 2 miles from the beach and a little over half an hour away from the lighthouse. When I drove in, I was first struck by the flowers growing along this cottage-like building. When I entered, there is a lovely common area and large kitchen where you can cook if you would like. There is also a patio available where you can eat or relax outside. I was in the women's dorm on a Sunday evening. There was a high school group there that cooked a meal together but slept in the family area, so I was alone with two older women. The quiet hours are from 10pm to 7am and you are encouraged to shower and get any other noisy activities out of the way before then. Internet is available for $2 every 30 minutes but I was warned it was slow. Cell/Internet reception is extremely hard to get in the area and so I would strongly recommend getting any internet research done before you arrive. There were two toilets and two showers available in the women's dorm with the potential for possibly 10-12 women to sleep in the bunks. Everything was clean and the bed was plenty comfortable. I got a little warm that night as the only air conditioning I'm aware of was the open window, but it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Attended the 1st Point Reyes Birding Festival this weekend and driving from Modesto I decided to spend the weekend at Pt Reyes. I've always wanted to stay in a hostel at a litehouse so I thought to stay at the Pt Reyes hostel for my first nite. I always try to stay at a different place when visiting Pt Reyes so one nite at the hostel and one nite at a lodge fit well.
I liked the hostel and the friendly atmosphere. Also made me reconnect with living in California and how people travel from all over the world just to visit here.
The Hostel is in Point Reyes Park and is secluded but close to the ocean and wildlife. The accommodations kindof reminded me of boot camp and living w/others in an open environment. If u don't mind spending the nite for a STEAL of around $20 a nite it is perfect. It is clean, has restrooms; yes, one stall w/curtains and one with doors, and it is dormitory style, (but is is a hostel). The woman's dorm is 8 bunks and a close fit, I did check in early to get a bottom bunk!! If u r there to hike, enjoy the beach and need a bed to sleep in maybe a kitchen and friendly people this is GREAAT!! I didn't use the kitchen, but it looked like a good size and the bed was a bunk but it fit my needs for the nite. And yeah, well I really didnt know women snored that loudly but I had a great stay and want to come back with a group of friends to enjoy a wonderful time at Pt. Reyes!
The hostess was very friendly and made everyone feel comfortable w/their stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We spent a night here, the dorms are pretty crowded. My sons reported major snoring in the men's dorm. The wonan's dorm was fine. Friendly older crowd. The kitchen, bathroom and living room were nice and clean. You cannot beat the location. On our short walk to the ocean we saw deer, elk, hawks, pelicans, quail....Not critters we see in Hawaii. So it was pretty special. Only minor drawback, no wireless. would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

I loved this place for its location and atmosphere. Maybe I lucked out but the people staying this place were all very nice as was the girl managing the hostel. It did get pretty crowded since it was a long weekend. This bothered some guests I could tell but it didnt really affect me because I wasnt using the kitchen or anything. Mind you, some people cook full fledged meals so you may have to wait to use the kitchen.

The up side:

- Cheap!!
- Excellent location inside the National Seashore area.
- Great access to trails and surrounding areas, you can spend a lot of time just exploring near the hostel without having to go far
- Hostel has a nice vibe to it with a cozy common area and deck, perfect for meals (there is no alcohol allowed)
- You will likely meet some interesting folks
- Great if you dont care much about luxury and more about adventure and being near natural beauty

The down side:

- Hard to sleep on crowded days. There was a snoring orchestra that essentially ruled out any possibility of sleep for me. They do sell ear plugs at 50 cents a pop
- Only one shower in the men's bathroom.
- Kitchen gets crowded
- No alcohol!
- No co-ed rooms
- No eating joints nearby but that makes sense because we dont want strip malls opening up inside the nature preserve. The nearest place is Pt Reyes Station (8 miles). Easy enough to stock up in the day time. go to Palace Market Deli for a nice sandwich.

  • Liked — location, staff hospitality, vibe
  • Disliked — crowded, hard to sleep in dorm, cramped kitchen
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

This hostel is in a wonderful location inside the National Seashore. The host was very helpful and friendly. The private room is small and you have to go through the kitchen to get to the lounge and through the women's dorms to get to the women's bathroom. However the lounge area is very comfortable. Although the main building was full, everyone fit. We did have to wait our turn in the kitchen since some people cooked pretty elaborate feasts and took up a lot of space. But that wasn't a problem. This is absolutely a hostel and not a hotel. We used our sleeping bags on the beds. We definitely will return, especially after they build more private rooms in the next year or so as planned.

  • Liked — location and friendliness
  • Disliked — a bit crowded
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed here two nights while hiking and biking in the area.
Stayed in men's dorm that sleeps about ten.
Bathroom was pretty clean by hostel standards. Single shower only.
Kitchen was well equipped.
Nice cozy living room.
Excellent access to trails.

There seemed to be a bit of "tension" among the staff that got translated into weird outbursts towards the people staying at the hostel. This happened only occasional and the rest of the time the staff were very nice (hence why it was weird).

  • Liked — access to the park
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Reyes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Reyes Hostel

Address: 1390 Limantour Dr., off Limantour Rd.,, p.o. box 247, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956-0247
Location: United States > California > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded valley of the Point Reyes National Seashore, HI-Point Reyes is surrounded by 140 miles of trails winding through uniquely diverse habitats perfect for hiking, biking, and wildlife watching. The only lodging offered within the park, the hostel provides a fully equipped guest kitchen, cozy common areas with great views, and an outdoor patio and barbecue, along with the chance to experience the wonders of this unspoiled coastal wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Point Reyes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Reyes Hotel Point Reyes Station

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Reyes Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.