We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique lodging opportunity ... don't miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Arena Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Arena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Arena Lighthouse
Save
You added Point Arena Lighthouse to your Saves list
45500 Lighthouse Road, Point Arena, CA 95468   |  
Hotel amenities
The Sea Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unique lodging opportunity ... don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Six of us recently stayed in one of the three-bedroom keeper houses (unit #4, furthest from the lighthouse). The place was large with a master bedroom with attached bath and wood stove, and two other bedroom and another full bath in the hallway. Plenty of seating and a large, and fully equipped kitchen, made it easy to make meals and dine in. The kitchen had all supplies we needed, including coffee and sugar. Just bring your food and you are set. All bedding and towels were provided. The homes are older and some of the furnishing and carpet areas show wear, but the incredible location by the lighthouse on a isolated point is amazing. The beds were so comfortable and were a memory foam mattress. I slept like a log! Also adjancent to the Stornetta public lands for hiking and roaming. We saw seals, lots of birds, and frogs during our stay. Your visit includes the musueum and accessing the lighthouse during their regularly scheduled tours. This is a great location for a family getaway and making some great family memories. Depending where you are coming from, Highway 1 can be a bit of a drive to navigate, but take it slow and you will be fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the lighthouse in October. The lighthouse is at the end of the point with the keepers houses not far down the road. Our unit was the farthest from the lighthouse and sleeps six. That unit has a queen bed in two bedrooms, two twin beds in the third, and a very comfy couch in the living room that my son used for his bed. The beds were extremely comfortable. There was a nice big dining table with room for everyone. All you need for the kitchen is your food!

The stay includes a tour of the lighthouse during tour hours. After hours, you can wander down the road and near the cliff sides (bring sturdy shoes and flashlights) and watch the waves and listen to the ocean. The waves are carving the earth in interesting formations. It is eerie in the fog and moonlight. You can warm up by the fireplace.

The town and the restaurants are miles away, so don't wait to long if you want to go out to eat. There isn't much selection in the evening. There is no beachfront at the lighthouse, but you can see a state beach just to the north, a short drive away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Quiet location; remote; not much to do except site seeing cliffs, ocean, and windy roads; property very clean and individual units have all the comforts of home. Outstanding property!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester,sc
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We were apprehensive about "Lighthouse traffic"visiting the point on Fri,Sat,Sun as the road to gift shop/lighthouse tours goes right in front of all units.Not to worry-winter hours are from10-3:30 every day. Sunrises & Sunsets all to registered guests since gate is closed on off hours. Only 6 families rentals available.We stayed in Head Keeper's Quarters#1. A two bedroom,one bath setup with full kitchen and 6 chair dining table with awesome unobstructed views to crashing waves behind unit-these are by far the best view direction. Our unit had the only view of lighthouse from inside a unit @2 twin bedroom.Kitchen utensils,dishes,coffee,salt&pepper,microwave,coffemaker,large refrigerator,vented stove were all in top order. Wood stove was a romantic requirement as the two electric could not "keep up" without the supplement of roaring wood stove. Point Arena provided the best mix of kindling,small logs,split/dried wood,newspapers I have ever seen in a rental unit.The sheltered wood supply lasted us three days of virtual non-stop burning. We almost by-passed this property due to two night minimum on week-ends. With per night @$200 plus $50.cleaninf plus 11% tax=$$494. However a special was in effect through March 31.(later extended through April 15.)Buy 2 nights,get one free. So 3 nights for $494.= @$165. per night.The property is tranquil,quiet,remote,no cell phone service,no internet service(received e-mail from Point Arena @two weeks before our reservations re:a snafu with internet provider. It was in local papers.That being said-The good. Now for some concerns. Our unit had been "cut up" to make three separate accomodations. From the lighthouse view window in twin bedroom you could hear guests as well from the 1 bathroom,could hear guests from hall leading to back door.Could hear 2nd set of guests from dinina and g table. Could see this 2nd set of guests leaving their back door right in front of our dining picture window which did NOT have any curtains or rods. We attached a blanket in front of every night.The check-in office also bordered our unit on two sides. The walls were thin.Heat capacity was marginal. Initial smell and appearance was of "old state parks" from the 60's and 70's.The sofa and sitting chair were covered by inadequate slipcovers. The advertised "dish" tv was not working upon arrival.We arrived@5pm. Not a human being from property on site at all. Once again 10am-3:30 PM.I was able to get "dish"to work after some reconnecting of wires. Remote was held together via large rubber band. Hot water in kitchen sink takes a very long time to get warm/hot as does the bathroom sink. The bath/shower does ok.. This is a unique place. The units deserve some updating and better upkeep.Uniqueness and location can only carry a po

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We started staying at the lighthouse when looking for a retreat for three couples. We couldn't believe how lucky we were to get such a great place for only $75 each couple each night. The homes are spacious and comfortable, the views are outstanding and the privacy is unparalleled. The adjoining BLM land provides miles and miles of hiking and exploring opportunities, as well as tide pooling and seal watching at the lighthouse. We come back every year, sometimes twice a year because it is a great place to visit. In the summer we ride our motorcycles, and in the winter we bring the dog in the car. A few years ago, our friend got married at the gazebo, and the whole wedding party rented all the keeper's homes. Such a memorable and fun time!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

At Point Arena Lighthouse you have the opportunity to stay in one of the circa 1960 (built by the Coastguard) lightkeeper houses. This is a perfect way to relive history and let your imagination run away with you! Three of the homes have three bedrooms and two baths, a full kitchen, dining area and living room with wood burning stove. One of the homes is two bedrooms with one bath, and there is an assistant lightkeepers apartment with one bedroom and bath. These are not luxury accomidations, but they are clean, well stocked and well kept. All linens and kitchen needs are supplied, but there is no daily maid service. All of that being out of the way, these homes are on the point of Point Arena, with ocean views all around. There is magnificent whale watching and seals on the rocks surrounding the point. When you stay at the lighthouse, you can climb the 143 steps to the top as many times as you want, no charge. There is plenty of space to fly kites, ride bikes and just sit back, relax and watch the sunset. Beaches are a close drive away, the town of Point Arena is quaint and Mendicino is about an hours drive away. The grocery store in Manchester is about a 10 minute drive away and open till 7. The entire time I am there all I can imagine is what life was like living and working as a lightkeeper. A true piece of history that you can enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We wanted to find a place to stay for our family of 5. We have 3 kids under the age of 13 and were having a difficult time finding lodging in the Mendocino area for our large family. One of our kids found the Pointe Arena Lighthouse lodging while researching sights to see while in the area.
Wow!!! What a steal of a deal! We rented a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, with full kitchen and 2 fireplaces at an incredible price of $200.00 a night! The house was clean, warm and conveniently located to Mendocino, Little River and Fort Bragg. The beds were way more comfortable than any bed I have ever slept in on vacation. Each bed had Tempurpedic mattresses...ahhhh. The house was surrounded by beautiful ocean views from every window in the house. The kids were able to read up and explore the lighthouse and were thrilled to read the history about it. It was so different than your average hotel. Nice trails to hike, a gazebo for lunch plus ver y quietly located from all the hustle and bustle. With that said, you do have to factor in the fact that this lodging is as close to the ocean you can get so the outsides are a little salt weathered and have a scent of ocean to them. Anyone who has ever stayed on the beach will be familiar with this but overall I give this place a BIG thumbs up!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Arena Lighthouse

Address: 45500 Lighthouse Road, Point Arena, CA 95468
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Point Arena Lighthouse Hotel Point Arena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Arena Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.