We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet and romantic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Master's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharf Master's Inn to your Saves list
The Wharf Master's Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Placerville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very quiet and romantic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed there for three nights. Very nice and clean room, comfortable and very well appointed. The continental breakfast is more than adequate. The views are beautiful. Love hearing the ocean at night. Vicky and Gene are very gracious and friendly hosts. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    69
    23
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
123
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed last weekend here and loved it, the beds are queen sized and really comfy. The rooms are large and spacious, Showers are small but plenty of warm water, Bath tubs are large and the jets work great. The free breakfast is comparable to a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express. Point Arena in the winter can be a little slow but the restaurant near the Inn has a good selection. 4 miles up the road in Manchester is a great grocery store. The view from our room was great we could see the fishing boats coming to and from the pier, lots of Sea Lions playing in the water, birds, etc.. Parking can be a pain if the Inn is full, The people were really nice, before making a reservation call and ask if they have any travel deals through any websites

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I went on a Travelzoo voucher. Got a free bottle of wine, food voucher for the chowder house, just in walking distance( that was nice). And a voucher for the casino( which I gave back cause I don't gamble). But the rooms were nice. Went to the lighthouse. Very cool. History very interesting. Beautiful views. Maids very accommodating. Were right there when you needed called for help. Managers very nice people. Great trip. Stayed 2 days

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The staff was great, the room was very clean, the view was spectacular and it was very secluded. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching the sunrise and sunset. It was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We drove up the coast and it was very beautiful. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

OK, so the breakfast isn't gourmet, and the internet doesn't work in the rooms, but everything else does...The jet-tub for 2, the comfortable 4-poster bed, the view, the gas fire-place, the TV.
I'm not a wine drinker, but my husband loved the free bottle we were provided as part of the room deal. I also enjoyed sitting on one of our Adirondack chairs on the porch, watching the ocean.

I might add, that the only reason we tried this place, was because we got a Group-on deal, and I'm glad we went. When I'm ready to "un-plug" again, I'd probably return.

The restaurant below the property (upstairs) was very good, as was the service.

It's a nice 1 mile walk into the quiet town.

If you must stay connected, and cannot live without your computer and phone, this is probably not the place for you. If you just want to un-plug and relax, you won't be disappointed.

Oh! And they are pet-friendly :-)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights using a Groupon voucher. It seeemed like all the other guests were doing the same as it was off-season. The hotel really made our trip, as it is in a town nicknamed "Pointless Arena" by locals, and you can see why.
We did horseback riding on the beach with Ross Ranch, it was awesome. $60 per person for a private 2 hour ride along a deserted state park beach. Our guides were fantastic, the horses matched perfectly to our needs.

Room Tip: The 'Partial' Ocean Views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Staying at the Wharf Master's is a treat. Each room I have stayed in was appointed with beautiful, antique furnishings, a warm cozy simulated fireplace heater, a comfy bed and the best part is the huge, jetted bath tub. The lack of cell phone signal and low strength wifi give me the rare opportunity to drop out and unplug. I love staying on the upper level where I can leave the balcony door open and enjoy the view of the ocean and sounds of the waves all night long. The staff is friendly and will treat you like family! I stay here several times a year for work and I always feel like I'm spoiling myself.
Do yourself a favor, pick up some dark chocolate and buy a bottle of yummy local wine at the office and enjoy a holiday of tranquil relaxation at the Wharf Master's Inn.
Note:
If you are a tech addict or need to receive phone calls after 7 or 8pm, this is not the place for you. Outgoing landline calls are possible from the room and the office has wifi signal.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharf Master's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Master's Inn

Address: 785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wharf Master's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California’s magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi.electric fireplace, one queen size feather bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California’s premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wharf Master's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Master`s Hotel Point Arena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Master's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.