We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wharfmaster....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Master's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharf Master's Inn to your Saves list
The Wharf Master's Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wharfmaster....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2004

I thought the fluffy bed was just delicous to sleep in. The shower was a bit small, but hey, you don't live in there. I hope we actually get to use the fireplace on our next trip, which is soon.

Down the hill is a restaurant and I have eaten there for years. The food is still reasonable and bring your appetite. After dinner, we took a leisurly stroll on the wharf and soaked in some of the richness of the ocean.

I only have one or two suggestions; the restaurant owner should locate his dumpsters somewhere else besides right outside of the suites. The sound of glass bottles hitting the recycle bins at sunset sort of messed with the ambience of drinking champagne on our deck. Second, the gentleman we checked in with was extremely pleasant and had a great personality. My husband however, had to deal with a female in the office and as someone else stated was a bit curt and unfriendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    69
    23
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
123
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2004

Where do I begin? Let's see...an overpriced off-season room with an upright coffin-sized shower, tacky faux firewood logs, poor television reception, window shades woefully inadequate for blocking glaring street lighting, inoperative jacuzzi, a continental breakfast easily surpassed by any Holiday InnExpress, dangerously wobbly exterior hillside stairways, laissez faire attitude of management...and the list goes on...and on...and on...and on...neither I nor any of my multitude of foreign relatives, friends, and acquaintances will EVER stay in this place again! One positive note, however, is the lighthouse. It is worth a little time to see the displays and just to feel the atmosphere around it (and it is where Mel Gibson filmed a movie!). But, do yourself and your loved one a very BIG favor and find one of the seemingly endless B&B establishments that dot the coastal route north and south of this disaster place called Wharf Masters!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antelope, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2004

My husband and I stayed here in February 2004, and although the weather was a little rough, it was a very nice and romantic place to stay. I loved the jacuzzi tub and the bubble bath provided. The fireplace was also nice. Very clean with a very comfy feather bed. Friendly staff - loved it there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Californ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2003

Was very impressed with the room & the grounds. Absolutely gorgeous grounds!Was not impressed with the attitude of the "hostess" though. She seemed very impatient, curt & rude during our whole visit. There is no point going into details BUT our thoughts are, if you are that unhappy dealing with guests & their needs, maybe you should find another line of work! We probably won't go back.....

  • Stayed October 2003
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2003

We stayed in two rooms at the Wharfmaster's Inn during the summer of 2003. The rooms had luxurious furnishings with amazing views of the ocean. The inn was in a quiet area with beautiful grounds. The rooms were large, and the continental breakfast was very good. There was only one disadvantage: one of our rooms had a jacuzzi but not a shower.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2003

During the off-season, this fabulous inn offers two nights for the price of one. My boyfriend and I loved our stay, especially our woodburning fireplace with fresh logs replenished each mornings, the FLUFFIEST feather bed I've ever seen, and the HUGE jacuzzi with bubble bath oil that created the most ridiculous, indulgent and bubbliest best bath ever. We had a private balcony overlooking the ocean, a balcony big enough for us to do yoga on. There are two small cons with this Inn. First, the continental breakfast is pretty lame; do yourself a favor and indulge in one of the amazing local restaurants or go to a swanky B & B in Mendocino, many of which open their gourmet, organic breakfasts to non-guests for regular restaurant prices. Second, the town is a little rundown and not as much to do as neighboring Mendocino; we enjoyed the beautiful twisty coastline Highway 1 drive back and forth between Point Arena and Mendocino each day, or Point Arena and Gualala. Anyway, I wouldn't necessarily recommend this Inn for full price, but for one night, get one night free, nothing compares. We felt so indulgent drinking champagne and eating Mendocino Chocolate Company truffles in our jacuzzi while a fire burned!

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharf Master's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Master's Inn

Address: 785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wharf Master's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California’s magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi.electric fireplace, one queen size feather bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California’s premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wharf Master's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Master`s Hotel Point Arena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Master's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.