We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Lighthouse 115 feet high...climb to top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum

Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum
45500 Lighthouse Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
707-882-2777
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, Museums
Activities: Whale watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's worth the flight up 146 steps to see the Fresnel lens, which makes a small kerosene flame visible from twenty miles offshore.
Gualala, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lighthouse 115 feet high...climb to top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Open 10 a.m. till 3:30 p.m......except in summer open 10 a.m. till 4:30 p.m.....last tour usually leaves 15 minutes prior to closing time. Climb to the top for jaw dropping views from this 1908 lighthouse. Docents give a great tour of the lighthouse and the museum. Shhhhh.....if the weather cooperates, you get to go outside....up at the top!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    46
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Views from the top of the Lighthouse are incredible! Even spotted whales!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Visited the Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum for the first time. Will definitely be coming back. While enjoying the incredible views from the top of the Lighthouse, we spotted whales spouting down below and then spy hopping. Later when we were down on the ground we saw a whale breaching and several spouting. The museum was interesting. I especially enjoyed the continuously running video that featured interviews of people describing life in the area at various times such as how it felt when the 1906 earthquake hit. The staff/docents were very friendly and knowledgeable. There are even 4 light keepers houses that are for rent.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lonely lighthouse on disappearing land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We loved going up to the top of the lighthouse. What a view! We also wandered the grounds and watched the pelicans fly by. It is mostly sunny in October, and it wasn't too windy then. Be sure to stop on the road to check out the coast line. There are interesting rock formations for photo ops.

We also marveled at the fresnel lens in the museum. The gift shop is rather limited, but there are enough souvenir items at the shop and even more in town,

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent view of Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains along Hwy 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Nice little museum about the history of the Point Arena Light house. You can also climb the lighthouse for a fee and have a tour by a museum volunteer .In the winter the waves are pretty impressive, so bring your video or normal camera! The lighthouse is at the most west point of continental USA and closest to Hawaii.
From there ATT used to have the underwater telephone lines going to Hawaii. If you are passing by you should take the little detour on Lighthouse road to have a look!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mts of western NC
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
158 attraction reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Visit here to be Forever Young”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

A delightful visit here with magnificent photo opportunities. Unfortunately they just closed the gate for direct 'up close' access as it was around 5:00 p.m. when we arrived. We have visited in the past so really no disappointment in getting even closer as the views are still excellent from a few hundred feet away. One of our favorite movies was Forever Young and you could feel and sense the end of the movie as you looked out over the vista. Just a wonderful spot that etches into your memory. Don't miss this one.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum also viewed

Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 
Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.